2017 Arena Pro Swim Series – Austin: Day 1 Prelims Live Recap

2017 Pro Swim Series – Austin

Day 1 of the Pro Swim Series in Austin gets underway this morning, the first meet of the 2017 Pro Swim circuit. This morning will feature the 100 free, 200 breast, 100 fly, and 400 free to kickstart the three day meet. Big names this morning include Ryan HeldJosh PrenotDaiya SetoMelanie Margalis and Amanda Weir.

Women’s 100 Freestyle

  1. Amanda Weir, SwimAtlanta, 55.36
  2. Michelle Williams, HPC-Ontario,  55.64
  3. Alexia Zevnik, NC State, 55.81
  4. Kayla Sanchez, HPC-Ontario, 55.93
  5. Rebecca Smith, HPC-Ontario, 56.21
  6. Taylor Ruck, Scottsdale, 56.34
  7. Kathryn Greenslade, Great Britain, 56.36
  8. Beryl Gastaldello, Texas A&M, 56.40

Canadian women dominated the women’s 100 freestyle, taking spots 2nd through 6th. Amanda Weir of Swim Atlanta took the top spot in 55.36, followed by Michelle WilliamsAlexia Zevnik and Kayla Sanchez. Olympic relay medalist Taylor Ruck qualified 6th, and Texas A&M’s Beryl Gastaldello rounded out the top 8 in 56.40. Claire Rasmus leads the way in the B-final at 56.49.

Men’s 100 Freestyle

  1. Ryan Held, NC State, 49.45
  2. Shinri Shioura, Japan, 49.83
  3. Yuri Kisil, UBC Thunderbirds, 50.24
  4. Daniel Krueger, McFarland Spartans, 50.34
  5. Markus Thormeyer, UBC Thunderbirds, 50.38
  6. Michael Andrew, Race Pace Club, 50.63
  7. Jacob Pebley, California Aquatics, 50.69
  8. Soeren Dahl, NC State, 50.81

2016 Olympic gold medalist in the 400 free relay Ryan Held of NC State led the way in the men’s prelims, clocking 49.45 for the top spot. Short Course World Championship silver medalist Shinri Shioura was the only other man under 50 seconds in 49.83. Canadian Yuri Kisil took 3rd in 50.24, and Michael Andrew (50.63) and Jacob Pebley (50.69) also made it through to the A final. NC State’s Soeren Dahl rounded out the top 8 in 50.81.

Women’s 200 Breaststroke

  1. Sydney Pickrem, Texas A&M, 2:28.07
  2. Breeja Larson, New York Athletic Club, 2:28.73
  3. Melanie Margalis, Saint Petersburg, 2:28.91
  4. Katie Matts, Great Britain, 2:29.32
  5. Emma Day, Great Britain, 2:29.67
  6. Ashley McGregor, Texas A&M, 2:29.79
  7. Esther Gonzalez, Texas A&M, 2:29.91
  8. Erika Seltenreich-Hodgson, UBC, 2:30.10

The women’s 200 breast field was dominated by Texas A&M, with three current members and one alumni occupying four of the top eight spots. Current Aggie Sydney Pickrem led the field in a time of 2:28.07, followed by the former Texas A&M star Breeja Larson, currently representing the New York Athletic Club, in 2:28.73. Olympian Melanie Margalis was 3rd fastest in 2:28.91, and Great Britain’s Katie Matts and Emma Day occupy 4th and 5th. UBC’s Erika Seltenreich-Hodgson rounded out the top 8 in 2:30.10.

Men’s 200 Breaststroke

  1. Nicolas Fink, Athens Bulldogs, 2:15.26
  2. Josh Prenot, California Aquatics, 2:16.70
  3. Andrew Wilson, Emory, 2:16.97
  4. Nick Zito, West, 2:17.01
  5. James Dergousoff, Chena, 2:17.44
  6. Patrik Schwarzenbach, NC State, 2:17.88
  7. Richard Funk, HPC-Ontario, 2:18.01
  8. Jake Foster, Mason Manta Rays, 2:19.09

In one of the more stacked events, three heavy hitters led the way in the men’s 200 breast prelims. Nicolas FinkJosh Prenot, and Andrew Wilson, all three of whom were in the final of this event at the US Olympic Trials, led the way. Fink put up the top time in 2:15.26, followed by Prenot (2:16.70) and Wilson (2:16.97). Prenot was the only one of the three to qualify for the Olympics, winning the silver in this event.

Nick Zito clocked 2:17.01 to head into tonight’s final in 4th, and James Dergousoff was 5th in 2:17.44. 16 year-old Jake Foster secured the 8th spot in the final in a time of 2:19.09.

Women’s 100 Fly

  1. Eva Merrell, Aquazot, 59.34
  2. Sarah Gibson, Texas A&M, 59.38
  3. Rebecca Smith, HPC-Ontario, 59.66
  4. Hannah Saiz, Schroeder YMCA, 1:00.67
  5. Taylor Pike, Razorback, 1:01.16
  6. Beryl Gastaldello, Texas A&M, 1:01.23
  7. Isabella Gati, Nation’s Capital, 1:01.45
  8. Krista Duffield, NC State, 1:01.46

16 year-old Eva Merrell of Aquazot Swim Club took the top spot the women’s 100 fly in a time of 59.34,followed by Sarah Gibson of Texas A&M and Rebecca Smith of the High Performance Centre – Ontario who also cracked a minute in 59.38 and 59.66 respectviely. Hannah Saiz claimed 4th in 1:00.67, and Gibson’s A&M teammate Beryl Gastaldello qualified 6th in 1:01.23 just behind Taylor PikeKrista Duffield of NC State took the 8th spot in 1:01.46, just beating out Magnolia’s Lillie Nordmann (1:01.50) for the last spot in the A final.

Men’s 100 Fly

  1. Michael Andrew, Race Pace Club, 53.60
  2. Daiya Seto, Japan, 54.07
  3. Marcos Lavado, Azura Florida, 54.28
  4. Soeren Dahl, NC State, 54.44
  5. Ryan Held, NC State, 54.67
  6. Jack LeVant, North Texas, 54.69
  7. Daniel Kim, Mission Viejo, 55.11
  8. Yuki Kobori, Japan, 55.16

Michael Andrew and Daiya Seto, both fresh off IM titles at the Short Course World Championships last month, took the top two spots in the 100 fly this morning in times of 53.60 and 54.07. Marcos Lavado of Azura put up the third best time in 54.28, and NC State duo Soeren Dahl and Ryan Held were 4th and 5th. Japan’s Yuki Kobori rounded out the top 8 in 55.16, well clear of 9th place Rob Hill (56.30).

Women’s 400 Free

  1. Holly Hibbott, Great Britain, 4:11.50
  2. Mary-Sophie Harvey, Neptune, 4:11.72
  3. Ashley Twichell, NCAC, 4:11.96
  4. Melanie Margalis, Saint Petersburg, 4:12.74
  5. Hannah Moore, NC State, 4:12.87
  6. Morgan Tankersley, Greater Tampa, 4:15.96
  7. Olivia Anderson, Etobicoke, 4:16.03
  8. Kristel Kobrich, Chile, 4:16.75

Great Britain’s Holly Hibbott posted the top time out of the fastest heat in the women’s 400 free, clocking 4:11.50. Mary-Sophie Harvey of Neptune was close behind for the 2nd seed in 4:11.72, and Ashley Twichell also snuck under 4:12 in 4:11.96 for 3rd. Melanie Margalis completed a solid double this morning qualifying 4th in 4:12.74, and Chile’s Kristel Kobrich rounded out the A finalists in 4:16.75. Sycerika McMahon (4:17.20) and sprint specialist Amanda Weir (4:17.32) lead the way for the B-final (scratches pending).

Men’s 400 Free

  1. Anton Ipsen, NC State, 3:52.93
  2. Adam Linker, NC State, 3:53.43
  3. Naito Ehara, Japan, 3:54.13
  4. Jeremy Bagshaw, Island, 3:56.42
  5. Trey Freeman, Baylor Swim Club, 3:57.55
  6. Tsubasa Amai, Japan, 3:57.76
  7. Chris Yeager, Nitro, 3:57.99
  8. Lane Stone, Nation’s Capital, 3:58.06

The formidable distance duo of Anton Ipsen and Adam Linker of NC State topped the men’s 400 free prelims, posting times of 3:52.93 and 3:53.43 respectively. Linker came back from over a three second deficit at the halfway point to out-touch Japan’s Naito Ehara in the fastest heat. Ehara qualified 3rd in 3:54.13, with Island Swimming’s Jeremy Bagshaw 4th in 3:56.42. 16-year-old Trey Freeman heads into finals 5th at 3:57.55, and 17-year-old Lane Stone goes into finals 8th. The University of Calgary’s Tristan Cote (3:58.45) leads the B-final field.



In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of
newest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Coach Mike 1952
3 years ago

No Penny O!

Reply to  Coach Mike 1952
3 years ago

Bummer. I wonder where she is?

Reply to  Alli
3 years ago

Probably school.

3 years ago

First Pro Swim…..feels like the first step up Mount Everest….so far to climb to 2020…..

Coach Mike 1952
Reply to  Gold Medal Mel Stewart
3 years ago

Indeed a very long climb starting…

bobo gigi
3 years ago

Interesting men’s 100 free final tonight.

About James Sutherland

James Sutherland

James swam five years at Laurentian University in Sudbury, Ontario, specializing in the 200 free, back and IM. He finished up his collegiate swimming career in 2018, graduating with a bachelor's degree in economics. In 2019 he completed his graduate degree in sports journalism. Prior to going to Laurentian, James swam …

Read More »