Brugnoni Breaks 100 Back Record As Statesmen Lead NSISC; Argo Women Out Ahead

by SwimSwam 0

February 22nd, 2020 College, NCAA Division II


  • Dates: Wednesday-Saturday, February 19-22nd
  • Location: Ronnie Mayers Aquatic Center, Cleveland, Mississippi
  • Defending Champions:Delta State men (2x) Lindenwood women (3x)
  • Championship Central
  • Live Results

Courtesy: Delta State Athletics

CLEVELAND, Miss. — The Delta State University men’s swimming and diving team posted a near 300-point day and hold a commanding lead over Henderson State University after day three of the New South Intercollegiate Swim Conference Championships

Giulio Brugnoni helped lead the charge for the Statesmen, breaking his own NSISC and pool record in the 100 backstroke (46.23) on Friday at the Ronald G. Mayers Aquatic Center.


EVENT: NSISC Championships
DATE/TIME: Friday, Feb. 21 | 5 p.m.
LOCATION: Ronald G. Mayers Aquatics Center
LADY STATESMEN: 806  points, 2nd place
STATESMEN: 922 points, 1st place


  • The Lady Statesmen got out to a fast start as Victoria Brady swam a 5:00.06 to capture first in the 500 freestyle. Delta State also took second (Peyton Osborne – 5:00.95), third (Bella Kelly – 5:03.39), fourth (Sommer Rhodes – 5:06.30) and seventh place (Mackenzie McGuire – 5:08.22) in the event to post 80 points to begin night three.
  • Michael Maly followed suite with a strong swim in the men’s 500 freestyle, capturing a new NSISC record in the event. Maly swam a 4:26.68, besting Nathan Sawicki’s 4:27.31 set in 2019, to take home first place. Ben Kelly finished third for DSU in 4:35.51.
  • Lucia Martelli continued DSU’s fast start with a gold in the 100 backstroke with a time of 55.76. The Lady Statesmen also took second place with a 55.79 from Madelyn Byrd.
  • Giulio Brugnoni rewrote the record books in the 100 backstroke, breaking his own pool and NSISC records. Brugnoni dropped a 46.23, while teammate Emanuel Fava brought home second with a time of 47.87.
  • In the 100 breaststroke, Chelsea Borrowdale swam a 1:02.54 to take silver and Maddy Lavoie finished third for DSU (1:03.67).
  • On the men’s side, the Statesmen swept the medals in the 100 breaststroke. Daniel Gayuk won the conference title with a 53.92, Matey Rezashki’s 54.30 was good for a runner-up finish, and Savio Ragonesi finished in third place with a 54.98.
  • The Statesmen and Lady Statesmen swept the 200 Butterfly titles, as Celeste Turner swam a 2:01.35 and Carson Traylor swam a 1:48.39.
  • DSU also finished second (Nathan Garick – 1:51.14), third (Alex Miller – 1:51.21) and fourth (Josh Armond – 1:53.03) behind Traylor.
  • Delta State’s 800 Freestyle Relay team won the final event of the night on the women’s side, racing to a 7:35.42. On the men’s side, the Statesmen finished as the NSISC runner-up with a time of 6:42.89.


  • On the women’s one-meter diving board, Gillian Pratt’s 395.45 was good for third place. Maddie Prusinowski finished 5th (340.25) and Megan Black placed 6th (313.60).


1. University of West Florida – 907
2. Delta State University – 806
3. Ouachita Baptist University – 286
4. University of Texas of the Permian Basin – 253
5. University of Montevallo – 238
6. Henderson State – 215


1. Delta State University – 922
2. Henderson State University – 608
3. University of Texas of the Permian Basin – 457
4. Ouachita Baptist University – 262.5
5. University of Montevallo – 196.5


The Statesmen continue with the fourth and final day of the NSISC Championships tomorrow. The prelims begin at 10 a.m., with the finals starting at 4 p.m.

Courtesy: West Florida Athletics

CLEVELAND, Miss. – Both Kelsey DeJesus and Morgan Ayers had first-place finishes to help the Argos build their lead to 101 points over second-place Delta State. After the third night of competition, UWF is in first-place with 907 points. Delta State ended the day with 806 points. The rest of the field remained the same with Ouachita Baptist (286 points), Texas-Permian (253 points), Montevallo (238 points) and Henderson State (215 points) rounding out the field, respectively.

The meet began with the 500 Freestyle and the Argos had two swimmers place in the A-Final: Lauren Jonsson and Caitlin Tierney. Jonsson placed fifth with a finals time of 5:07.78 and Tierney finished right behind her in sixth-place (5:07.99).

Aubrey Miller (57.39) and Anna Jaworski (59.01) finished fourth and eighth, respectively in the 100 Backstroke A-Final.

In the 100 Yard Breaststroke AyersLisa Cottage-RamnickManon MilczynskiHannah O’Toole and Stefanie Markwardt placed inside the top 10. Ayers picked up her first individual first-place finish of the NSISC Championships with a finals time of 1:02.06. Cottage-Ramnick came in fourth-place by posting a time of 1:03.98, Milczynski finished in fifth-place by recording a time of 1:05.16. O’Toole placed sixth (1:05.86) and Markwardt came in seventh (1:06.92).

Five Argos also finished in the top seven for the 200 Butterfly: Olivia HadawayKatelyn Balent, O’Toole, Gena Mendez and Ardinn Grabenhorst. Hadaway led the group of Argos with a 2:04.78 finish. Balent recorded a time of 2:06.47 placing her third in the race. O’Toole finished in fourth with a finals time of 2:06.86, Mendez posted a time of 2:07.54 earning her fifth-place, and Grabenhorst came in sixth (2:08.04).

UWF took the top two spots in the 1M Dive Championship Final with DeJesus placing first (441.70 points) and Daniela Reyes following right behind her finishing in second (412.35 points). DeJesus won both diving events at the NSISC Championships. Carson Bronnenberg finished fourth in the event by posting a score of 355.85 points.

The Argos ended day three with a second-place finish (7:40.95) in the 800 Free Relay by TierneyYael Danieli, Jaworski and Ayers.

The final day of the meet will take place on Saturday, with a prelim session beginning at 10am and finals starting at 4pm in the Ronnie Mayers Aquatics Center. The schedule for Saturday includes the 1,650 Free, 100 Free, 200 Backstroke, 200 Breaststroke, and the 400 Free Relay.

Leave a Reply

Want to take your swimfandom to the next level?

Subscribe to SwimSwam Magazine!