Teri McKeever Named 2019 CSCAA Division I Women’s Coach of the Year

Braden Keith
by Braden Keith 41

March 23rd, 2019 News

While the Cal Golden Bears came up short in their upset bid of arch-rivals Stanford, their efforts were enough to earn head coach Teri McKeever the CSCAA Women’s Division I Swimming Coach of the Year.

This is McKeever’s 5th award, having previously won in 2009, 2011, 2012, and 2015. On each of those prior occasions, Cal came away with the team title. This year, they were runners-up, finishing 37.5 points behind the two-time defending champions from Stanford.

The last time that this award was won by a coach of a non-team-champion was in 2014, when Stanford’s head coach Greg Meehan won the award in spite of his team finishing 2nd to Georgia.

The Cal Golden Bears won 4 events and put up a fight for the team title in spite of losing World Record holder Kathleen Baker from last year’s team, who turned pro with 1 year of eligibility remaining. This is Cal’s 3rd-straight runner-up finish.

Mckeever is one of two women to ever win this award. Dorsey Tierney-Walker shared the award with David Marsh in 2007 when the two were co-head coaches.

Cal’s 2019 Event Wins:

Women’s Swimming Coach-of-the-Year, All-Time

  • 2018 Greg Meehan, Stanford
  • 2017 Greg Meehan, Stanford
  • 2016 Jack Bauerle, Georgia
  • 2015 Teri McKeever, California
  • 2014 Greg Meehan, Stanford
  • 2013 Jack Bauerle, Georgia
  • 2012 Teri McKeever, California
  • 2011 Teri McKeever, California
  • 2010 Gregg Troy, Florida
  • 2009 Teri McKeever, California
  • 2008 Frank Busch, Arizona
  • 2007 David Marsh and Dorsey Tierney-Walker, Auburn
  • 2006 Jack Bauerle, Georgia
  • 2005 Jack Bauerle, Georgia
  • 2004 Gregg Troy, Florida
  • 2003 David Marsh, Auburn
  • 2002 David Marsh, Auburn
  • 2001 David Marsh, Auburn
  • 2000 Jack Bauerle, Georgia
  • 1999 Jack Bauerle, Georgia
  • 1998 Jack Bauerle, Georgia
  • 1997
  • 1996 Steve Collins, Southern Methodist
  • 1995 Jim Richardson, Michigan
  • 1994
  • 1993 Jim Richardson, Michigan
  • 1992 Richard Quick, Stanford
  • 1991 Steve Collins, Southern Methodist
  • 1990
  • 1989 Richard Quick, Stanford
  • 1987
  • 1986 Richard Quick, Stanford
  • 1985 Richard Quick, Stanford
  • 1984 Richard Quick, Stanford
  • 1983
  • 1982

In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of
newest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Bearly Breathing
2 years ago

What’s up with 1994, 1990, 1987, etc?

Reply to  Bearly Breathing
2 years ago

Those were awarded to Dean Farris. Before he was even born.

Karen Humphreys
Reply to  Bearly Breathing
2 years ago

Cal’s Coach, Karen Moe Thornton was the first woman to win the award in 1987.

Reply to  Karen Humphreys
2 years ago

^correct! But more impressive is the autograph she (^) gave me as a young Aquabear! I still have it!!!

My research shows the following edits to the list:

1982 & 88 = Randy Reese
1986 = Bailey Weathers
1990 & 97 = Mark Schubert
2004 = not Troy (he won the men’s that year). I’m guessing Busch.

Add in Karen in 1987 and that leaves 1983 and 1994 to solve.

Reply to  Karen Humphreys
2 years ago

Yeah – this article needs to be corrected!!!

2 years ago

This is well deserved and great to see. Some coaches recruit talent. Others develop talent. It is tough to succeed on both fronts. Congrats to Teri on an outstanding season.

2 years ago

Wait a minute, according to half the readers out here, Teri is a terrible coach. What gives?

Bearly Breathing
Reply to  Swim4
2 years ago

Half the readers owe Teri a big apology.

Ol' Longhorn
Reply to  Bearly Breathing
2 years ago

To be fair to those readers, she did personally break McLaughlin’s neck and personally break Missy’s back. She ruined McLaughlin so much that she could only break 50 in the 100 fly, and Missy so much that no one can touch her 200 free SCY record. Then there’s that whole woman-as-coach thing.

Reply to  Ol' Longhorn
2 years ago

Yes, Teri undoubtedly deserves full credit for Missy’s 1:39. The fact that Missy was already a World Championship gold medalist in the LCM 200 free before she ever arrived at Cal is just a coincidence, as is the fact that Missy chose to be coached by someone else at her first opportunity.

Reply to  Braden Keith
2 years ago

To the point of “Bearly Breathing,” the hate comments often get a solid amount of upvotes.

Reply to  Braden Keith
2 years ago

except for Dean Farris, of course…

Reply to  Swim4
2 years ago

The hate on McKeever was just fake outrage. I admit being skeptical about what was going on when people were questioning her on here but then I sat in the stands and watched her coach two years in a row at the speedo grand challenge and it was obvious the comments were made by clueless internet keyboard warriors like myself lol

About Braden Keith

Braden Keith

Braden Keith is the Editor-in-Chief and a co-founder of SwimSwam.com. He first got his feet wet by building The Swimmers' Circle beginning in January 2010, and now comes to SwimSwam to use that experience and help build a new leader in the sport of swimming. Aside from his life on the InterWet, …

Read More »