37 Division I Swimmers Named Academic All-District Selections

The College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) announced its 2017-18 Google Cloud Academic All-District At-Large teams last week and 20 Division I men’s swimmers and 17 women’s swimmers were among those honored.

Honorees are eligible for Academic All-America honors, which will be announced in June.

The All-District teams are divided into eight geographic regions across the United States and Canada and in four divisions (NCAA Division I, Division II, Division III and the College Division). The College Division includes all NAIA, Canadian and two-year schools.

At-large teams include all sports outside of the eight sports with their own Academic All-America programs (men’s and women’s soccer, women’s volleyball, football, men’s and women’s basketball, baseball and softball.) The awards recognize the top student-athletes nationally for their combined performances on the field of play and in the classroom.

Headlining the group are 2016 Olympians Katie Ledecky, who is swimming collegiately at Stanford, and Caeleb Dressel, who is now competing at Florida.

N.C. State men’s swimmer Anton Ipsen and Auburn’s Peter Holoda also competed in Rio, representing Denmark and Hungary respectively. Ipsen is the defending NCAA Champion in the 1650 free.

The full list of men’s at-large honorees is here, while the women’s listing can be found here.

Men’s Swimming Division I

District I (CT, MA, ME, NH, NY, RI, VT)

District II (DC, DE, KY, MD, NJ, NJ, PA, WV)

  • Zach Piedt, Navy

District 3 (NC, TN, VA)

District 4 (AL, FL, GA, PR, SC)

District 5 (IL, IN, MI, OH)

District 6 (AR, IA, LA, MN, MO, MS, ND, SD, WI)

  • Mitchell Petras, LSU

District 8 (AK, AZ, CA, HI, NV, OR, UT, WA, Canada)

Women’s At-Large Honorees

District 1

District 2

District 3

District 4

District 5

District 6

District 7

District 8

In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of

oldest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
4 years ago

May the odds be ever in their favor

4 years ago

Dean Farris is his own district…

Reply to  Hmmm....
4 years ago

. . . and it’s District 1.

Reply to  Hmmm....
4 years ago

Of course he is, he is THE Dean Farris, the one and only to ever slay all of our existences.