Five World Records Fall on the First Night of IPC World Championships

The first day at the 2013 IPC World Championships in Montreal, Canada was an eventful one. In the preliminaries the crowd saw three new world records set as Konstantin Lisenkov of Russia lowered his own world record in the men’s 100 backstroke S8, Mexican Nely Miranda Herrera set a new mark in the women’s 50 freestyle S4 and Olga Sviderska of the Ukraine obliterated the women’s 200 freestyle S3 world record lowering it by 28.41 seconds.

At night the world records kept on falling.  Belarusian Ihar Boki demolished his own world record of 2:06.30 in the men’s 200 IM SM13, which he set in London, winning the event in a time of 2:03.79.

That was followed up by Lisenkov once again breaking his 100 backstroke S8 world record improving the mark by more then a second on the day:

World Record 2010 – 1:04.67

World Record prelims – 1:04.12

World Record finals – 1:03.32

Josef Craig of Great Britain had a battle on his hands with Andrey Gladkov of Russia for the men’s 400 freestyle S7. Craig was able to get past the Russian for the win setting a new world record of 4:39.14. Craig had set the previous record of 4:42.81 at the Paralympic Games in London.

Paralympic gold medalist Sophie Pascoe of New Zealand won the women’s 100 freestyle S10 in a world record time of 1:00.15. Pascoe broke Canadian Summer Mortimer’s 2010 record of 1:01.39.

The final world record of the evening was set in the final event as Jessica-Jane Applegate of Great Britain broke her own 200 freestyle S14 record of 2:12.63 by winning the event in a time of 2:09.88.

Both Herrera and Sviderska were able to win their events in the evening, but were unable to swim faster than the times they posted in the prelims.

Another big story on day one was the dominance of the Ukrainian athletes, taking home six gold

That included three Paralympic gold medalists; Maksym Veraksa, Hennadii Boiko and Dmytro Zalevskyy.

Veraksa won the men’s 100 freestyle S12 in a time of 51.80, Hennadii Boiko took the men’s 50 backstroke S1 recording a time of 1:13.05 and Zalevskyy collected the gold in the men’s 100 backstroke S11 posting a time of 1:08.75.

Eskender Mustafaiev  won the men’s 50 freestyle S4 in a time of 37.96 and Dmytro Vynhohradets won the men’s 200 freestyle S3 posting a 3:36.82

Sviderska won the women’s 200 freestyle S3 recording a time of 3:52.93 ahead of former world record holder Patricia Valle of Mexico.

Other winners included:

Women’s 400 freestyle S7 – Courtney Jordan – United States – 5:19.60

Men’s 400 freestyle S6 – Darragh Mcdonald – Ireland – 5:19.23

Women’s 400 freestyle S6 – Ellie Simmonds – Great Britain – 5:24.02

Women’s 200 IM SM13 – Rebecca Anne Meyers – United States – 2:30.04

Women’s 100 freestyle S12 – Darya Stukalova – Russia – 59.71

Men’s 50 butterfly S5 – Roy Perkins – United States – 34.55

Women’s 50 butterfly S5 – Sarah Louise Rung – Norway – 43.74

Men’s 100 freestyle S9 – Matthew Cowdrey – Australia – 55.33

Women’s 100 freestyle S9 – Stephanie Millward – Great Britain – 1:04.41

Women’s 100 backstroke S11 – Mary Fisher – New Zealand – 1:20.31

Men’s 100 freestyle S10 – Andre Brasil – Brazil – 51.57

Men’s 200 freestyle S14 – Daniel Fox – Australia – 1:58.45

Full results can be found here

Leave a Reply

Notify of
newest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
7 years ago

Would someone on the SwimSwam staff please explain why you cover every corner of the sport, but ignore Masters? Why is this your policy?

7 years ago

GO FOXXY !!!!!!!!

About Jeff Grace

Jeff Grace

Jeff is a 500 hour registered yoga teacher who holds diplomas in Coaching (Douglas College) and High Performance Coaching (National Coaching Institute - Calgary). He has a background of over 20 years in the coaching profession, where he has used a unique and proven teaching methodology to help many achieve their …

Read More »