Ohio State Men Win First-Ever Big Ten Title in 200 Medley Relay in a New Record

2022 Big Ten Men’s Swimming & Diving Championships

In the first event of the 2022 Big Ten men’s championships, Ohio State’s Hunter Armstrong, Hudson McDaniel, Alex Quach, and Semuede Andreis took the title in a time of 1:22.13, which broke both Michigan’s meet record of 1:22.35 from 2021 and their conference record of 1:22.27 from NCAAs in 2013.

Ohio State, 2022 Big Tens (New conference, meet record) Michigan, 2013 NCAAs (Former conference record) Michigan, 2021 Big Tens (Former meet record)
50 back Hunter Armstrong– 20.45 Miguel Ortiz- 20.83 Wyatt Davis- 21.07
50 breast Hudson McDaniel– 23.04 Bruno Ortiz- 23.07 Willian Chan- 22.67
50 fly Alex Quach– 19.92 Sean Fletcher- 19.92 River Wright- 19.88
50 free Semuede Andreis– 18.72 Zack Turk- 18.45 Luis Gustavo Borges-18.73
Total time 1:22.13 1:22.27 1:22.36

In comparison to Michigan’s old conference record, the breast and fly splits are virtually similar, with Michigan’s Zach Turk actually being around three-tenths faster on freestyle than Andreis. It was Armstrong’s 20.45 on backstroke that was able to help edge out the old record time, as he was fourth-tenths faster than Miguel Ortiz’s 20.83, resulting in a net gain of around a tenth of a second when comparing the splits of the old and new record times.

This is also Ohio State’s first-ever Big Ten title in the 200 medley relay – an event that was added to the schedule in 1991.

Number of Big Ten Titles in Men’s 200 Medley Relay, All-Time:

  • Michigan – 12
  • Minnesota – 9
  • Indiana – 7
  • Northwestern – 2
  • Penn State – 1
  • Ohio State – 1

Armstrong, a 2020 Tokyo Olympian in the 100 back, also became the sixth-fastest performer in the 50 back.

Top Relay Splits In The Men’s 50 Yard Backstroke:

    1. Ryan Murphy, Berkeley- 20.20 (2016)
    2. Zane Waddell, Alabama- 20.22 (2019)
    3. Adam Chaney, Florida- 20.32 (2022)
    4. Junya Koga, Club Wolverine- 20.35 (2014)
    5. Connor Oslin, Alabama- 20.39 (2017)
    6. Hunter Armstrong, Ohio State- 20.45 (2022)

Indiana came in second with a 1:22.51, and had Bruno Blaskovic, who swam the fastest anchor leg of the field in a 18.51 after missing most of last season with a back injury. Michigan was just over half a second off of their meet record from last year, finishing third in a 1:22.90.

All top three teams, plus fourth-place Northwestern that finished in a 1:23,54, were under the pool record of 1:24.12 set by Michigan in 2016.

In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of

oldest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
super classy swim
1 year ago

yas magic man

1 year ago

Faster than Texas! Go Ohio! Great to see an Australian in there too 😊

1 year ago

So what’s up with Michigan not swimming Wyatt Davis on the back. And Patrick Callan didn’t swim the 800 free relay. Are they holding back for NCAAs?

Reply to  Oldmanswimmer
1 year ago

Patrick led off the 800 relay.

Reply to  Jackman
1 year ago

It was Kevin Callan who led off the relay.

Reply to  Oldmanswimmer
1 year ago

Patrick’s first name is Kevin but he goes by his middle name

Reply to  Oldmanswimmer
1 year ago

Heard Davis back in carmel In. Curious

Reply to  Oldmanswimmer
1 year ago

News just broke today that Wyatt Davis left the program to go home and handle some mental things. No speculation about why, but swimswam just reported it. I think for the semester, and would be back in the fall.

About Yanyan Li

Yanyan Li

Although Yanyan wasn't the greatest competitive swimmer, she learned more about the sport of swimming by being her high school swim team's manager for four years. She eventually ventured into the realm of writing and joined SwimSwam in January 2022, where she hopes to contribute to and learn more about …

Read More »