Mid-Major Mini Capsules: Champions and Award Winners from Week 3

Over the past weekend, the conference championships of the men’s ACC, Big 12 men’s and women’s meets, men’s Big Ten and the women’s Pac-12 meets took place.

While we wrote daily recaps for each of these meets, below are mini capsules highlighting team champions and award winners from each of the mid-major conferences this week.

Ivy League – Men’s

Courtesy: Ivy League

Harvard captured its fourth-straight Ivy League title. The Crimson have now won 27 all-time Ivy League championships including five over the past seven years.

Raunak Khosla, Princeton sophomore, took home individual titles in the 200 IM (1:43.01), 400 IM (3:41.75), and the 200 fly (1:42.43).

Albert Gwo of Columbia won both the 50 Free (19.37) and 100 Free (43.08).

Harvard freshman Cole Kuster had an outstanding first conference championship meet. He won the 500 Free (4:18.87) and 1000 Free (8:57.24, contested at this meet), while placing second in the mile (15:10.38).

Christian Devol, diver for Yale won both the 1M and 3M diving disciplines to take home diver of the meet.

Big East – Women’s

Courtesy: Villanova University











  • Most Outstanding Women’s Swimmer: Millicent Routledge (Villanova)
  • Most Outstanding Women’s Diver: Riley Fujioka (Georgetown)
  • Women’s Coach Staff of the Year: Rick Simpson and Villanova
  • Women’s Diving Coach of the Year: Marc Van Dyken (Georgetown)
  • Team Champions: Villanova

Big East – Men’s

Courtesy: Xavier University

  • Most Outstanding Men’s Swimmer: Drew Carbone (Georgetown)
  • Men’s Coach Staff of the Year: Brent MacDonald and Xavier
  • Most Outstanding Men’s Diver: Michael Perra (Villanova)
  • Men’s Diving Coach of the Year: Todd Michael (Villanova)
  • Team Champions: Xavier

The Villanova women and Xavier men won once again this year’s Big East championships.

Villanova sophomore Millicent Routledge won most outstanding swimmer on the women’s side as she won the 50 Free (22.79), 100 Free (49.78), and 200 Free (1:47.05).

Georgetown junior Drew Carbone won men’s most outstanding swimmer as he won the 200 IM (1:46.10), 100 Back (47.18) and the 200 Back. His 200 Back time of 1:42.11 was a new Big East record.

Michael Perra won the 1M and 3M diving events on his way to winning Most Outstanding Men’s Diver.

Riley Fujioka won the 1M and 3M diving events on her way to winning Most Outstanding Women’s Diver.


Courtesy: Conference-USA

  • Swimmers of the Meet: Stephanie Hussey (FIU) &  Marta Cano Minarro (Rice)
  • Swimming Coach of the Year: Randy Horner (FIU)
  • Diver of the Meet: Mandy Song (FIU)
  • Diving Coach of the Year: Nick Yang (FIU)
  • Team Champions: Florida International

FIU captured its sixth consecutive Conference USA Women’s Swimming and Diving Championship over the weekend. The sixth championship now leads for the most in conference swimming history.

Stephanie Hussey and Marta Cano Minarro were co-swimmers of the meet. Hussey took titles in the 400 IM (4:16.30) and the 200 Fly (1:58.15), and second in the 500 Free (4:49.78). Minarro won the 200 IM (1:59.92) and 200 Free (1:46.84), and took third in the 200 Fly (1:58.54).

Mandy Song was diver of the meet by winning the 1M and 3M diving events.

FIU was able to score huge points by winning every relay event and sweeping both diving events.

MAC – Women’s

Courtesy: MAC

  • Women’s Swimming Coach of the Year: Andy Bashor (Buffalo)
  • Women’s Diving Coach of the Year: Buck Smith (Eastern Michigan)
  • Most Outstanding Swimmer: Sarah Watson (Akron)
  • Most Outstanding Diver: Talisa Lemke (BGSU)
  • Most Outstanding Senior: Talisa Lemke (BGSU)
  • Freshman Swimmers of the Year: Weronika Gorecka (Akron) & Emma Fortman (Ohio)
  • Freshman Diver of the Year: Tori Franz (Buffalo)
  • Team Champions: Akron

The Akron women’s team captured their seventh-straight MAC Women’s Swimming and Diving title.

Sarah Watson, Akron sophomore, defended her titles in the 200 IM (1:57.65) and 100 Free (48.91) helping her win Most Outstanding Swimmer.

Her teammate Weronika Gorecka shared the award Freshman Swimmer of the Year with Emma Fortman of Ohio. Fortman was third in the 200 Free (1:47.81) and Gorecka was third in the 200 Back (1:55.82).

Talisa Lemke swept the diving events while taking home the accolades of Most Outstanding Diver and Most Outstanding Senior.

WAC – Women’s

Courtesy: Northern Arizona University

  • Women’s Swimmer of the Year: Autumn D’Arcy (CSU Bakersfield)
  • Women’s Diver of the Year: Sara Lameiro Castellanos (Grand Canyon)
  • Women’s Freshman of the Year: Mikayla Popham (CSU Bakersfield)
  • Women’s Swimming Coach of the Year: Andy Johns (Northern Arizona)
  • Women’s Diving Coach of the Year: Nikki Huffman (Northern Arizona)
  • Team Champions: Northern Arizona

WAC – Men’s

Courtesy: Air Force Academy

  • Men’s Swimmer of the Year: Zach Nelson (Air Force)
  • Men’s Diver of the Year: Pietro Hufnagel Toscani (Grand Canyon)
  • Men’s Freshman of the Year: Wen Zhang (Air Force)
  • Men’s Swimming Coach of the Year: Rob Clayton (Air Force)
  • Men’s Diving Coach of the Year: Hunter Shafer (Grand Canyon)
  • Team Champions: Air Force

Overcoming a water main break that pushed scheduling around at WAC conference championship meet, the Northern Arizona women and Air Force men prevailed.

Northern Arizona women captured their seventh straight title with the help from Jennifer Cheetham and Elisa Rodriguez.

Junior diver Cheetham won the gold in the 1M event and silver in both 3M and 10M events.

Junior swimmer Rodriguez won both the sprints of the 50 Free (22.81) and 100 Free (49.24).

CSU-Bakersfield had the highest point scorer in Autumn D’Arcy winning the 200 IM (2:01.94), 100 Fly (52.61) and 200 Fly (1:58.56).

On the men’s side Air Force won their third title in five years with great contributions from Zachary Nelson and Matthew Lattin. Nelson won the 100 Breast (52.46), 200 Breast (1:54.83) and 200 IM (1:46.69). Lattin won gold in the 100 fly (46.92) and placing second in the 50 Free (19.86) and 100 Free (43.43).

Grand Canyon’s Pietro Hufnagel Toscani won the 1M and 3M diving events, UNLV’s Jessie Cawley won the 10M event.

Note: because of the chaos by water main break, the WAC decided to do their awards by online ballot this week. Award winners will be announced on Thursday.


Courtesy: ECAC

Navy won both team titles for both the men’s and women’s swimming and diving at the 2020 ECAC Swimming and Diving Championships.

Ilia Rattsev of UMBC won Men’s Swimmer of the Meet with his win and record breaking performance in the 100 Free (44.00). He also took the title in the 50 Free (19.85) and broke the record as well.

Anna Metzler of New Hampshire won the same award for the Women’s side off her lone record breaking swim in the 400 IM (4:07.20).







Leave a Reply

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments