USA Names 2018 Jr. Pan Pacs Team Captains


USA Swimming has announced the team captains for the 2018 Junior Pan Pacific Swimming Championships that begin on Thursday in Suva, Fiji.

The squad has 5 captains, 3 females and 2 males, the same ratio as they had in 2016.

2018 U.S. Team Captains, Jr. Pan Pacific Swimming Championships

Ivey, Kibler, Nordmann, and Roy are each swimming in their 2nd, and last, Jr. Pan Pacific Championship meet, while Bacon, who is entering her junior year of high school, will be age-eligible for the 2020 meet. The 4 returning swimmers combined for 6 gold, 3 silver, and 3 bronze medals at the 2016 meet, led by 4 golds and a bronze from Ivey.

2016 Results

  • Bacon – did not swim
  • Ivey – 4 golds, 1 bronze
  • Kibler – 1 gold, 1 silver, 1 bronze
  • Nordmann – 1 gold, 2 silvers
  • Roy – 1 bronze

The USA has won 4 straight Jr. Pan Pac team titles, with a 170-point margin over Australia in 2016. Based on seeds, they should easily take a 5th this weekend in Fiji.


In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of
newest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Justin Wright
2 years ago

My boy Daniel Roy repping the little guys over seas for team USA!

Murphy is my dad
Reply to  Justin Wright
2 years ago

Under 6 foot let me hear ya!

Bon Jovi
Reply to  Murphy is my dad
2 years ago


2 years ago

I think USA have 10 more swimmers than Australia , 5 female and 5 male

bobo gigi
2 years ago

You can see pretty good swimmers at junior pan pacs. 2005. Nathan Adrian (4th in the 50 free in 23.76 and 10th in the 100 free in 51.67 at 16), Scott Spann, Dave Walters, Bronte Barratt, Alicia Coutts, Stephanie Rice, Junya Koga, Andrew Lauterstein or Ryan Cochrane. 2007. Allison Schmitt, Cammile Adams, Alyssa Anderson, Robert Hurley, Ryo Tateishi, Meagen Nay, Emily Seebohm, Belinda Hocking, Rie Kaneto or Natsumi Hoshi. 2009. Lia Neal, Dagny Knutson, Cammile Adams, Haley Anderson, Elizabeth Pelton, Rachel Bootsma, Laura Sogar, Tim Phillips, Andrew Gemmell, Akihiro Yamaguchi, Tommaso D’Orsogna, Ryan Napoleon, Ned McKendry, Thomas Fraser-Holmes, Shiho Sakai, Ellen Fullerton, Blair Evans, Brittany Elmslie, Tessa Wallace or Samantha Marshall. NZ won the men’s medley relay that year! 2010.… Read more »

Jon Nap
Reply to  bobo gigi
2 years ago

That’s actually really interesting to see the wheel turn like that. For the most part, each section of swimmers has taken the next step on the international stage! Thanks Bobo

Jim C
Reply to  Jon Nap
2 years ago

I wonder what would happen if people actually read Bobo’s posts before voting him down?

About Braden Keith

Braden Keith

Braden Keith is the Editor-in-Chief and a co-founder of He first got his feet wet by building The Swimmers' Circle beginning in January 2010, and now comes to SwimSwam to use that experience and help build a new leader in the sport of swimming. Aside from his life on the InterWet, …

Read More »