Japan’s Record Holder Yui Ohashi Disqualified In Women’s 200 IM


Japanese National Record holder Yui Ohashi was a promising medal contender in the women’s 200m IM final tonight, that is until the 23-year-old Olympian was disqualified in the race.

Ohashi entered tonight’s final as the 4th seed, carrying a time of 2:09.58 from yesterday’s semi-final. Owning a personal best of 2:07.91, Ohashi finished with the silver in this race behind Hungarian dynamo Katinka Hosszu, the women who held the top seed once again heading into tonight’s medal competition.

But, Ohashi saw her medal hopes fade as she touched the wall at the end, only to learn she had been disqualified. According to Asian media, Ohashi was called for performing 2 dolphin kicks during the breaststroke pull-out. The athlete was visibly upset on the side of the pool, but she still has the 400m IM later in the meet, an event in which she also owns the Japanese National Record.

She finished 4th in the longer IM at the 2017 edition of the World Championships, but currently owns the fastest time in the world this season with the 4:32.00 established last November. She’ll be fighting off the likes of Hosszu and Spain’s Mireia Belmonte, although the latter has already missed out on advancement in 3 of her 3 events contested thus far.

Of note, Ohashi’s teammate Rika Omoto finished 5th in tonight’s 200m IM final, clocking a time of 2:09,32, although she’s been as fast as 2:08.64 this season.

In This Story

Leave a Reply

4 Comment threads
8 Thread replies
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
8 Comment authors
newest oldest most voted

Ok this is a joke. Fina either use replay technology to crack down on multiple dolphin kicks or allow it. We have the technology to enforce this rule fairly across the board, yet we choose to use human judgement which often gives cheaters the benefit of the doubt to do the difficulty of seeing beneath water. Like Ohashi deserves this DQ, but I’m willing to bet she was not the only one guilty of this infaction. Some of the most laughable moments in this sport have come due to the lack of/sporadic enforcement of this rule. Think London 2012 when they cut to the under water footage on the 10p breast start and everyone does 2 kicks, or in 2014… Read more »

This is kind of my complaint too (same for the NCAAs and the 200 breast with Siobhan Haughey). It’s not who’s doing it, who’s not doing it, but it’s how sporadically it seems to be enforced.

Coach Mike 1952

Look to see the race video!


There wouldn’t be a full heat of breaststroke semis…


To clarify, she was 4th before the Dq? Thanks


Looking at video, it looks like she was 5th?!? Unless Margalis had a bad touch


Any note on what her time would’ve been before the DQ?

About Retta Race

Retta Race

After 16 years at a Fortune 1000 financial company, long-time swimmer Retta Race decided to change lanes and pursue her sporting passion. She currently is Coach for the Northern KY Swordfish Masters, a team she started up in December 2013, while also offering private coaching. Retta is also an MBA …

Read More »