Four-Time Olympic Water Polo Star Brenda Villa Named To UANA Executive Committee

Brenda Villa, the most decorated athlete in international women’s water polo history, has been named to the Executive Committee of the Union Americana De Nacion (UANA) through the 2019 Pan American Games. As a member of the highest authority for aquatic sports within the Americas, Villa and the Executive Committee are responsible for the organization of the Pan American Games in addition to a host of age group and masters events held every year. Villa’s term will begin at the conclusion of the 2015 Pan American Games in Toronto, Canada.

“I’m honored and grateful for the opportunity to help grow the aquatic family in the Americas as a representative of UANA,” said Villa.

“Having studied political science and with her fluency in three languages, we are confident Brenda will be a superb representative for UANA. Her credentials in our sport are unparalleled, and it is healthy to have her generation taking part in our hemispheric leadership. We couldn’t be more delighted that she is willing to serve and give back to our sport.” said Christopher Ramsey, USA Water Polo Chief Executive Officer.

Villa was named “FINA Female Water Polo Player of the Decade” for the 2000s for her efforts and triumphs across multiple international championship events. Brenda is a four-time Olympic medalist (Sydney 2000 – silver; Athens 2004 – bronze; Beijing 2008 – silver; and, London 2012 – gold) and World Champion (2003, 2007, 2009). She started swimming at age 6 with Commerce Aquatics in Commerce, California, and began playing water polo at age 8. Brenda was a member of the USA Women’s national team for 16 years, and she was an accomplished scorer and passer. As an undergraduate at Stanford University, she won the 2002 Peter J. Cutino Award as the top female college water polo player. After her water polo career ended, Brenda co-founded a non-profit organization, Project 2020, which strives to give access to aquatic sports to youth that would otherwise not have such access.

About UANA
Established in 1948 in London, England during the 1948 Olympic Games, UANA exists for the purpose of unifying the aquatic activities in the Americas into a single regional and international organization. UANA is a not-for profit organization. UANA is recognized as a “continental” body by FINA (Federation Internationale de Natation) under that organizations Constitution Clause 14.1.

UANA membership for governance purposes comprises four (4) zones:

Zone 1 – South America
Zone 2 – Central America
Zone 3 – United States of America
Zone 4 – Canada

Every four (4) years, on the occasion of the Pan American Games the members of the zones meet and elect an Executive Committee to conduct the affairs of UANA for the forthcoming four (4) years period. At present, forty-one (41) national aquatic sports governing bodies are members of UANA by virtue of their membership in FINA and association with one of the four (4) zones of UANA.

About USA Water Polo
USA Water Polo, Inc. is the national governing body for water polo in America, overseeing our United States Olympic program as well as 20 different championship events annually, such as Junior Olympics and Masters National Championships. With more than 40,000 members, USAWP is also the sanctioning authority for more than 500 Member Clubs and more than 400 tournaments nationwide. USAWP is committed to the development of the sport throughout the US. It fosters grass-roots expansion of the sport, providing a national system of affiliated clubs, certified coaches and officials.

Leave a Reply

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

About Gold Medal Mel Stewart

Gold Medal Mel Stewart

MEL STEWART Jr., aka Gold Medal Mel, won three Olympic medals at the 1992 Olympic Games. Mel's best event was the 200 butterfly. He is a former World, American, and NCAA Record holder in the 200 butterfly. As a writer/producer and sports columnist, Mel has contributed to Yahoo Sports, Universal Sports, …

Read More »