NBC Releases U.S. Olympic Trials TV Broadcast Schedule

The first finals session of the 2016 U.S. Olympic Trials – Swimming begins this Sunday night with the men’s and women’s 400 IM finals and the men’s 400 free finals.

The Trials begin with the first prelims session in less than five short days, and NBC will be broadcasting all sessions of prelims and finals between NBC and NBC Sports. The full schedule, which was originally posted on nbcsports.com, is laid out below with times in Eastern Time.

Day Time (ET) Network Key Events
Sunday, June 26 6 p.m. NBCSN Qualifying Heats (tape)
8 p.m. NBC M/W 400 IM; M 400 FR
Monday, June 27 6:30 p.m. NBCSN Qualifying Heats (tape)
8 p.m. NBC W 100 FL, 400 FR; M 100 BR
Tuesday, June 28 7 p.m. NBCSN Qualifying Heats (tape)
8 p.m. NBC M/W 100 BK; W 100 BR; M 200 FR
Wednesday, June 29 7 p.m. NBCSN Qualifying Heats (tape)
8 p.m. NBC W 200 FR, 200 IM; M 200 FL
Thursday, June 30 6:30 p.m. NBCSN Qualifying Heats (tape)
8 p.m. NBC M 100 FR, 200 BR; W 200 FL
Friday, July 1 6 p.m. NBCSN Qualifying Heats (tape)
8 p.m. NBC W 100 FR, 200 BR; M 200 BK, 200 IM
Saturday, July 2 5 p.m. NBCSN Qualifying Heats (tape)
8 p.m. NBC W 200 BK, 800 FR; M 50 FR, 100 FL
Sunday, July 3 7 p.m. NBC W 50 FR, M 1500 FR

Prelims will be taped and then broadcasted directly before the finals. All of the finals sessions will be shown at 8pm ET. Live streams of both the prelims and finals each day will also be available, with more information on that here.

The Trials will be contested in Omaha, Nebraska, which is located in the Central Time zone. Wondering when to head to the live stream (or to NBC for finals if you have access in other time zones)? Check out the time differences below:

Time Zone Prelims (live) Finals (+15 mins for NBC TV start)
Pacific  8AM  4:45PM
Mountain  9AM  5:45PM
Central  10AM  6:45PM
Eastern  11AM  7:45PM
Rio de Janeiro (BRT)  12PM  8:45PM
London (BST)  4PM  12:45AM
Paris/Rome/Madrid (CEST)  5PM  1:45AM
Moscow/Nairobi (MSK)  6PM  2:45AM
Beijing (CST)  11PM  7:45AM
Tokyo (JST)  12AM  8:45AM
Sydney (AEST)  1AM  9:45AM

81
Leave a Reply

Subscribe
Notify of
81 Comments
oldest
newest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
More Parties at FSU please
5 years ago

Can it be streamed from other countries

JAMPER
Reply to  More Parties at FSU please
5 years ago

good ‘;;’;

Marley09
5 years ago

I just want to give a quiet, respectful golf clap to NBC for not tap-delaying their coverage to the west coast.

Ellie
Reply to  Marley09
5 years ago

I live on the West Coast and just checked my local TV listings. In my area, NBC is tape-delaying finals and broadcasting them at 8pm each night.

Marley09
Reply to  Ellie
5 years ago

oh. i take back my golf clap then. replace with a boo, hiss.

E GAMBLE
Reply to  Ellie
5 years ago

East coast privileges. This will probably be the only time that I’m glad I live in Florida. That stinks!!

Sally
Reply to  Ellie
5 years ago

Thanks for this info.

tm71
Reply to  Ellie
5 years ago

It will be live on the nbc extra website, for the first half of the meet i will be in the east cost and I will watch it on tv but the second half back home in the west coast so I will watch it on the nbc extra live and replay it on tv three hours later

Coach Mike 1952
Reply to  tm71
5 years ago

How to get Sports Extra?

KTHW
5 years ago

Any way to stream prelims on the USA swimming website?

Tim
5 years ago

Ugh, looks like the only live stream of prelims is via NBCSN…which cord cutters don’t have. Grr!

Irish Ringer
Reply to  Tim
5 years ago

I wish we could cut the cord, but CableOne limits your download each month so it ends up costing roughly the same, so I’m locked and loaded with the Dish 200 package in preparation for trials and Olympics ????

Ellie
Reply to  Tim
5 years ago

NBC is making this REALLY hard for cord-cutters. Or, more accurately, Comcast is making NBC make this really hard for the cord-cutters.

Joe Bagodonuts
Reply to  Tim
5 years ago

The very definition of a 1st world problem.

Irish Ringer
Reply to  Joe Bagodonuts
5 years ago

Says JOE BAGODOUGHTS while using 1st world luxuries to voice his opinion 🙂

Randall
Reply to  Tim
5 years ago

Can always watch it at my place !

Randall
Reply to  Randall
5 years ago

I Love Swimming, Diving, Equestrian, Gymnastics, Track and Field and Biking. I feel bad that the situation is not that great in Rio. I hope they bring the house down with the Opening Ceremony.

Steve Nolan
5 years ago

Set my DVR for all this stuff the other day. Mucho excited.

Dave
5 years ago

I will be in Guatemala next week. Is there any way to watch the stream from there?

tm71
Reply to  Dave
5 years ago

If u have cable here in the us then u can see nbc lived extra with your us IP address

Mike
5 years ago

Out of topic. But, will it be streamed in USA swimming website?

bobo gigi
Reply to  Mike
5 years ago

Not out of topic at all!
I remember in 2008 all prelims were broadcasted live on the USA swimming webcast!
I don’t remember about 2012.

Looks like it will not be the case this time unfortunately.
That’s not cool.

Lane Four
5 years ago

Watching live on NBCSports.com/live will be like Christmas when the Track and Field trials start and BOTH swimming and track are aired on the same webcast. Happy days are here again!

bobo gigi
Reply to  Lane Four
5 years ago

My nights will be very short. 😆

bobo gigi
Reply to  bobo gigi
5 years ago

But if I’m tired I can watch finals’ sessions at a “normal” time. French TV sports channel SFR sport 2 has bought the TV rights of US olympic trials in swimming, track and field and gymnastics and they will show finals’ sessions recorded.
But it’s tough to not read the results before watching the races recorded on TV. 🙂

Swamfan
Reply to  bobo gigi
5 years ago

How did this get 24 down votes already? Why do you all hate on Bobo so much??

tm71
Reply to  bobo gigi
5 years ago

Easy Avoid swim swam at all costs until after u have watched the finals

Irish Ringer
Reply to  Lane Four
5 years ago

Make sure you root for Justin Gatlin the comeback kid 😉

Rafael
Reply to  Irish Ringer
5 years ago

Justin “More doped than Efimova but covered by IATF and USATF” Gatlin?

Irish Ringer
Reply to  Rafael
5 years ago

Yes, that’s the guy in talking about. He’s primed for gold this year.

About Karl Ortegon

Karl Ortegon

Karl Ortegon studied sociology at Wesleyan University in Middletown, CT, graduating in May of 2018. He began swimming on a club team in first grade and swam four years for Wesleyan.

Read More »