FINA World Cup Prize Money Breakdown: $100,000 to the male and female winners

FINA World Cup Schedule

August 27-28Doha (QAT)
August 31 -September 1Dubai (UAE)
September 29-30Hong Kong (HKG)
October 4-5Moscow (RUS)
October 24-25Beijing (CHN)
October 28-29Tokyo (JPN)
November 1-2Singapore (SIN)

Prize Money

· Individual Event Prize: Athletes on the podium will receive respectively US$1’500 (Gold), US$1’000 (Silver) and US$500 (Bronze).

· Cluster Prize: The first 6 ranked men and first 6 ranked women of each cluster will receive prize money (1st US$50’000; 2nd US$35’000; 3rd US$30’000; 4th US$20’000; 5th US$15’000; 6th US$10’000). This year’s clusters are as follows:

1. Doha/Dubai
2. Hong Kong/Moscow
3. Beijing/Tokyo/Singapore

· Overall Prize: Swimmers that have accumulated the most points during the World Cup will be awarded US$360’000 divided as follows: 1st US$100’000; 2nd US$80’000; 3rd US$30’000 (for each gender).

· World Record Bonus: US$10’000 will be awarded as a bonus to those that break a world record during the World Cup.

Fun Facts

· Women: Katinka Hosszu, known as the Iron Lady, won the highest amount of points in last year’s edition of the Swimming World Cup (840), far ahead of silver medallist Alia Atkinson (JAM) who totalled 288 points and Mireia Belmonte (ESP) with 280 points (bronze). Katinka Hosszu was the overall winner in both the 2012 and 2013 editfions.

· Men: Chad Le Clos (RSA) was last year’s overall Swimming World Cup winner topping off with 574 points followed by Vladimir Morozov (RUS) with 414 points and Robert Hurley (AUS) with 285. Although 7th in the 2012 edition, Le Clos won 1st place in 2011.

· The 2013 FINA Swimming World Cup was the first time Mixed Relays were introduced.

About the World Cup

Launched in 1989, the Swimming World Cup is a world-class event bringing together some of the best swimmers to compete in a series of 2-day meets from August until October. Across 7 or 8 locations, the World Cup is grouped into clusters (Middle East, Europe and Asia).

Press Conference: 11:00 – 12:00 August 26th at Hamad Aquatic Centre in the presence of QSA President, Khaleel Al-Jabir, QSA Secretary General, Ali Al-Jabir, FINA Executive Director, Cornel Marculescu and athletes Oussama Mellouli (MAR) and Katinka Hosszu (HUN) (both TBC).

Swimming News courtesy of FINA.

In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of

1 Comment
oldest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
9 years ago

Let the King win the money on the battlefield. Otherwise the surfs will complain. 🙂

About Gold Medal Mel Stewart

Gold Medal Mel Stewart

MEL STEWART Jr., aka Gold Medal Mel, won three Olympic medals at the 1992 Olympic Games. Mel's best event was the 200 butterfly. He is a former World, American, and NCAA Record holder in the 200 butterfly. As a writer/producer and sports columnist, Mel has contributed to Yahoo Sports, Universal Sports, …

Read More »