2019 TYR Derby Pro Meet: 50 Free Shoot-Out Live Recap


  • April 26, 2019
  • 6:30pm ET
  • Louisville, KY
  • 50 free shoot-out style
  • LCM
  • Results on Meet Mobile under ‘TYR Derby Pro Swim Meet’
  • Meet page

Tonight’s TYR Derby Pro meet will feature eight women and eight men racing shoot-out style.


Eight women and eight men will square off in a 50 free long course. The field will get smaller through three rounds until a winner is crowned. Here’s a full breakdown of the rounds:

  1. PRELIMS – eight men and eight women will race a 50 free, with the slowest two getting eliminated.
  2. SEMIFINALS – six men and six women will race a 50 free, with the slowest two getting eliminated.
  3. FINALS – four men and four women will race a 50 free for the TYR Derby titles on the men’s and women’s sides




  1. Margo Geer – 25.14
  2. Mallory Comerford – 25.18
  3. Isabella Arcila/Kendyl Stewart – 25.40
  4. Madison Kennedy – 25.51
  5. Amy Bilquist – 25.54
  6. Lia Neal – 25.66
  7. Farida Osman – 25.69

Margo Geer and Mallory Comerford were first and second to the wall in the first round, respectively. Both went 25-low, with Geer at 25.14 and Comerford at 25.18.

Isabella Arcila and Kendyl Stewart tied at 25.40 for 2nd, with Stewart hitting a lifetime best. Her previous best was a 25.58 from the Speedo Grand Challenge in May of 2016.

Eliminated were Lia Neal and Farida Osman.



  1. Bruno Fratus – 22.25
  2. Michael Chadwick – 22.40
  3. Ryan Held – 22.48
  4. Ali Khalafalla – 22.49
  5. Dylan Carter – 22.50
  6. Shinri Shiouri – 22.63
  7. Zach Apple – 22.81
  8. Roland Schoeman – 22.88

2018-19 world leader and Brazil national Bruno Fratus led the way with a 22.25, with Americans Michael Chadwick and Ryan Held not far behind in 22.4s along with Egypt national Ali Khalafalla.

Zach Apple and Roland Schoeman have been eliminated.



  1. Margo Geer – 25.06
  2. Amy Bilquist/Mallory Comerford – 25.16
  3. Madison Kennedy – 25.36
  4. Kendyl Stewart – 25.53
  5. Isabella Arcila – 25.84

Geer was first to the wall again, dipping closer to 24-second territory.

Comerford and Bilquist tied at 25.16, both dropping from the first round, though Bilquist dropped almost four full tenths. Kennedy squeaks into the final, making it an All-American final.

For Bilquist, it’ll be interesting to see how close she can get to her 25.03 lifetime best from 2015 when she was still in high school — she has since finished her NCAA career with Cal. This may be an indication of a long course breakout for her after an excellent NCAA career and huge improvements in yards since high school.



  1. Bruno Fratus – 22.03
  2. Shinri Shioura – 22.36
  3. Ryan Held – 22.40
  4. Michael Chadwick/Ali Khalafalla – 22.44
  5. Dylan Carter – 23.04

Fratus again made it through in first by a considerable margin, making him the heavy favorite going into the final.

Japan’s Shioura was 22.36, clipping Held, who was right on what he was in the first round.

Chadwick and Khalafalla wound up tying for 5th in 22.44. There will be no swim-off here, though, as that would be like giving the two men a super-semi-final round and put the winner at a considerable disadvantage in the final. Instead, all top five will race for four cash prizes.



  1. Margo Geer – 25.20
  2. Madison Kennedy – 25.38
  3. Amy Bilquist – 25.51
  4. Mallory Comerford – 25.52

Geer was the most consistent racer, winning all three rounds. She was 25.20 in the final, as all four women had their slowest swims in the final. Geer bags the $4,000 grand prize.

Kennedy only gained two hundredths from her semi swim, though, and she snuck ahead of Bilquist and Comerford for 2nd. Kennedy takes home $3,000, Bilquist $2,000 in her first meet post-college, and Comerford takes $1,000.



  1. Bruno Fratus – 22.16
  2. Michael Chadwick – 22.41
  3. Ali Khalafalla – 22.49
  4. Shinri Shioura – 22.52
  5. Ryan Held – 22.55

Fratus, like Geer, was consistent through the three rounds. He won the grand prize of $4,000 with a time of 22.16 in the final.

Michael Chadwick was 22.41 to take 2nd, with Khalafalla (22.49), Shioura (22.52), and Held (22.55) bunched up. Held, unfortunately, won’t win any prize money.

In This Story

Leave a Reply

3 Comment threads
9 Thread replies
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
7 Comment authors
newest oldest most voted
Coach Mike 1952

Any streaming like last year?

Unfortunately no, but we will have race videos up this weekend.


Props to Roland for breaking 23! Who is the oldest to break that barrier?

It’s hard to say with absolute certainty, but it’s probably him. Ervin was 22.6 at Summer Nats last summer at 37. Lezak did it at 36.


Nicholas probably???


Nicholas went 22,91 last week

Coleman Hodges


Which is ridiculous.


Fly and free sub 23 last week fly actually faster

Confirmed – he was 22.91 in the 50 free at Maria Lenk last week. Which would make Roland the 2nd-oldest that we can find. https://www.cbda.org.br/natacao/resultadoPorProva/prova/942713/fase/f


Look up Mark Foster from GBR. He was 38/39 going 22’s


Very promising for Bilquist. Since her excellent Olympic trials, women’s backstroke in the US has become very crowded at the 59 border and beyond. Hope she is focusing on 100 free— lots of potential.

About Karl Ortegon

Karl Ortegon

Karl Ortegon studied sociology at Wesleyan University in Middletown, CT, graduating in May of 2018. He began swimming on a club team in first grade and swam four years for Wesleyan.

Read More »

Want to take your swimfandom to the next level?

Subscribe to SwimSwam Magazine!