Texas Men Add Third Diver On Day 2 of Zone D

Though we’re not DiveDove, we do dabble in diving coverage, and as diving can have a major impact on the NCAA Swimming & Diving Championships, we cover NCAA Zone Diving – mainly through the lens of how national diving qualifiers could impact the team points battles later this month.


  • Zones A, B, D, E: Monday, March 5 – Wednesday, March 7
  • Zone C: Thursday, March 8 – Saturday, March 10
  • Host schools:
    • Zone A: Rutgers University
    • Zone B: University of Tennessee
    • Zone C: Ohio State University
    • Zone D: University of Minnesota
    • Zone E: Northern Arizona University
  • NCAA selection primer

The Texas men will have at least a trio of NCAA divers, adding Jacob Cornish to their NCAA eligible roster after day 2.

Zone D results

Cornish was 7th on 1-meter to join the eligibility list, though he hasn’t yet earned reimbursement. It was a great night for the Longhorns, with Grayson Campbell winning after finishing second on 3-meter last night. Because of his double and that of 3-meter champ Juan Hernandez (who was second for LSU tonight), Jordan Windle also gets a reimbursement slot.

For the women, Minnesota’s Sarah Bacon won 3-meter with Arkansas’ Brooke Schultz second. Both were already into the meet from 1-meter, but now earn reimbursement. The Texas women also have three divers into the meet: Samantha Bromberg, Meghan O’Brien and Alison Gibson.


Athletes in bold have earned NCAA reimbursement.

Priority Finisher Women Men
1 3-meter Champ Sarah Bacon, MINN Juan Hernandez, LSU
2 1-meter Champ Elizabeth Cui, LSU Grayson Campbell, TX
3 Platform Champ
4 3-meter 2nd Brooke Schultz, ARF Grayson Campbell, TX
5 1-meter 2nd Samantha Bromberg, TX Juan Hernandez, LSU
6 Platform 2nd
7 3-meter 3rd Elizabeth Cui, LSU Tyler Henschel, A&M
8 1-meter 3rd Sarah Bacon, MINN Sam Thornton, A&M
9 Platform 3rd
10 3-meter 4th Meghan O’Brien, TX Jordan Windle, TX
11 1-meter 4th Brooke Schultz, ARF Jordan Windle, TX
12 Platform 4th
13 3-meter 5th Samantha Bromberg, TX Kyle Goodwin, MIZZ
14 1-meter 5th Meghan O’Brien, TX Nick Yang, MINN
15 Platform 5th
16 3-meter 6th Alison Gibson, TX Kurtis Matthews, A&M
17 1-meter 6th Alison Gibson, TX Kurtis Matthews, A&M
18 Platform 6th
19 3-meter 7th Kristen Hayden, MINN Sam Thornton, A&M
20 1-meter 7th Madeline McKernan, MIZZ Jacob Cornish, TX
21 Platform 7th
22 3-meter 8th Kendra Kieser, MIZZ Nick Yang, MINN
23 1-meter 8th Sofia Rauzi, TX Bryce Klein, SMU
24 Platform 8th
25 3-meter 9th Maha Amer, ARF
26 1-meter 9th Jayah Matthews, IA Tyler Henschel, A&M
27 Platform 9th
28 3-meter 10th
29 1-meter 10th Kristen Hayden, MINN
30 Platform 10th
31 3-meter 11th
32 1-meter 11th Kendra Kieser, MIZZ


There are five zone meets spread across the country that allow divers to qualify for the NCAA Championships. Based on performances at the previous NCAAs each zone earns a set number of qualifying spots.

Take a look at the qualifying spots for each zone and each event:


1m 3m Platform
Zone A 6 6 5
Zone B 7 7 9
Zone C 8 10 10
Zone D 11 9 9
Zone E 9 9 8


1m 3m Platform
Zone A 6 5 5
Zone B 6 6 7
Zone C 10 10 11
Zone D 9 8 6
Zone E 5 7 7

A priority chart determines who gets the reimbursement spots. The first priority spot is taken by the winner of each event beginning with the 3-meter champ, followed by the 1-meter champ and then the platform champ. If an athlete wins two events, they will still only take up one slot which means the NCAA will keep adding rows to this chart until the zone meet reimbursement quota is met.

According to the rules set in 2015 that allowed more divers into the meet, any diver who lands in the qualifying spots for their zone earns a spot to compete in the NCAA Championships. If the diver earns eligibility in one event, they can automatically compete in any of the other two events at NCAAs as long as they finished in the top 12 in their zone in that event.

The NCAA made a distinction between “eligible” and “reimbursed” athletes. Divers qualifying outside of the reimbursement spots will not have their travel, lodging, or meet expenses covered by the NCAA.  Instead the individual school must decide if they’re willing to pay the bill themselves to give that diver an opportunity to participate in the NCAA Championships.

Women Men
Zone A 4 4
Zone B 6 7
Zone C 10 10
Zone D 12 9
Zone E 9 5

Leave a Reply

Notify of
newest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
j pine
3 years ago

I think with their divers, Jordan Windle in particular, Texas just edges it for the 4-peat this year. Still looking forward to the fight though!

Reply to  j pine
3 years ago

Yeah, it kills the other top programs when they dont have any divers make it to the big show…

Reply to  j pine
3 years ago

What about Indiana?

About Jared Anderson

Jared Anderson

Jared Anderson swam for nearly twenty years. Then, Jared Anderson stopped swimming and started writing about swimming. He's not sick of swimming yet. Swimming might be sick of him, though. Jared was a YMCA and high school swimmer in northern Minnesota, and spent his college years swimming breaststroke and occasionally pretending …

Read More »