ISL Play-In Match Moved Up to 13:00 Local Time

The International Swimming League has moved the start time of Match 11, the “play in match,” to 13:00 (1:00 PM) Central European Time on Wednesday and Thursday.

That’s 7:00AM US Eastern Time, 4:00 AM U.S. Pacific Time, 9:00 PM in Australia, and 8:00 PM in Tokyo.

Most of the matches have begun in the evening in local Naples time, between 6 and 8 o’clock PM (18:00 and 20:00). While the Play-In match was originally listed for a similar time slot, the ISL has quietly updated its schedule.

The change is primarily driven by a Europa League soccer match for Napoli against Spartak Moscow on Thursday evening at 6:45. The soccer stadium is very close to the Felipe Scandone pool where ISL is being hosted.

ISL Play-In Match (Match #11):

  • Wednesday, September 28 – 13:00 Central European Time
  • Thursday, September 29 – 13:00 Central European Time

With the host team not participating, that timing has become less important for the local audience.

So far in the 2021 ISL season, meets have been largely attended by friends and family, with the exception of Aqua Centurions matches, where more fans have come to get a glimpse of the last races of superstar Federica Pellegrini racing on home soil. Aqua Centurions won Match #10, which put them into 6th position at the end of the ISL regular season and avoids this play-in match.

Skysports, the local broadcaster and the producing broadcast partner for Season 3 of the ISL, has only been airing Aqua Centurions matches live. The rest have been on tape delay.

Without the pressure of the local fanbase, this earlier time slot allows the ISL to better position the Play-In match for audiences in Australia and especially the Tokyo Frog Kings’ home market. The regular season matches have taken place in the wee hours of the day in Tokyo, where most of the population there is asleep.

In the US, CBS Sports Network doesn’t currently list either day of the match as being televised.

4
Leave a Reply

Subscribe
Notify of
4 Comments
oldest
newest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Hswimmer
29 days ago

September 28 is today, it’s Tuesday.

CY~
29 days ago

Bein sports still says it’s at 8pm local… Argh hope it gets updated on time else would have paid to watch nothing

Troyy
29 days ago

Well I guess we have one match in the whole season watchable at a reasonable hour for those of us in East Asia and Oceania even if it is the weakest.

Joel
Reply to  Troyy
29 days ago

So you think Kayo will have it live?

About Braden Keith

Braden Keith

Braden Keith is the Editor-in-Chief and a co-founder/co-owner of SwimSwam.com. He first got his feet wet by building The Swimmers' Circle beginning in January 2010, and now comes to SwimSwam to use that experience and help build a new leader in the sport of swimming. Aside from his life on the InterWet, …

Read More »