Greensboro Will Host 2023 ACC Swimming & Diving Championships

The ACC Conference announced the host sites for all of its 2022-2023 conference championship events on Thursday. That includes the men’s and women’s swimming & diving championships.

The meet will be combined for the second straight year and will run from February 14-18, 2023 at the Greensboro Aquatic Center in Greensboro, North Carolina.

The 2021 ACC Championships were hosted by Georgia Tech as the site of the NCAA Championships. The Greensboro Aquatic Center has hosted most of the ACC Championship meets since it opened in August of 2011. Of the last 11 conference championship meets, Greensboro has hosted 8 and Atlanta has hosted 3.

Recent ACC Championship hosts:

  • 2022 – Atlanta, Georgia
  • 2021 – Greensboro, North Carolina
  • 2020 – Greensboro, North Carolina
  • 2019 – Greensboro, North Carolina
  • 2018 – Greensboro, North Carolina
  • 2018 – Greensboro, North Carolina
  • 2017 – Atlanta, Georgia
  • 2016 – Greensboro, North Carolina
  • 2015 – Atlanta, Georgia
  • 2014 – Greensboro, North Carolina
  • 2013 – Greensboro, North Carolina
  • 2012 – Christiansburg, Va.
  • 2011 – Atlanta, Georgia
  • 2010 – Chapel Hill, North Carolina
  • 2009 – College Park, Maryland

While the GAC isn’t on a college campus, the city of Greensboro is home to the ACC conference headquarters (though the conference is is exploring leaving the city).

The facility, which cost $19 million on original build and has expanded substantially since, is one of the largest competitive aquatics centers in the United States.

The facility opened new pool in 2019 at an addition $8.3 million cost. In total, that brings the facility to four pools: a 25-year warm-up/cool-down pool, a 50-meter competition pool, a 25 yard diving well, and a 50 meter stretch practice pool.

The pool has 1,848 off-deck spectator seats with an additional 652 bleacher seats.

The Virginia women are the three-time defending ACC Champions and have won 13 out of the last 15 conference titles dating back to the Mark Bernardino era.

The NC State men won the 2022 title, which was their 7th title in 8 seasons.

While recent history has seen separate, four-day championships for men and women, the ACC in February 2022 combined the championships into one five-day meet.

Leave a Reply

Notify of

oldest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
3 months ago


8 months ago

No problem. Virginia has the address.

Phelp’s dog
8 months ago

I did not see this coming

8 months ago

Love the Dino reference! Pretty certain this is the preference for most teams – all coaches are with all athletes and Men’s divers get to be with the Men’s team. Men’s NCAA qualifiers get an extra week to recover, too. WIN WIN WIN

Swim Fanatic 6
8 months ago


About Braden Keith

Braden Keith

Braden Keith is the Editor-in-Chief and a co-founder/co-owner of He first got his feet wet by building The Swimmers' Circle beginning in January 2010, and now comes to SwimSwam to use that experience and help build a new leader in the sport of swimming. Aside from his life on the InterWet, …

Read More »