Dynamo Shatters New 15-18 NAG Set by 2nd-Place Nitro at US Junior Nationals


Nitro Swimming appeared to have the boys 200 medley relay title secured with a 15-18 national age group (NAG) record out of the top-seeded heat, but Dynamo Swim Club came out of nowhere in a late heat to pull off the upset at US Junior Nationals on Monday. 


  • 15-18 NAG: 1:42.46, Mason Manta Rays (2019)

Top 8 finishers:

  1. Dynamo: 1:41.93
  2. Nitro: 1:42.36
  3. Rose Bowl: 1:42.46
  4. Aquajets: 1:42.58
  5. Spartan Aquatic: 1:43.04
  6. InSpire Swim Team: 1:43.22
  7. SwimMac: 1:43.38
  8. Elmbrook Swim Club: 1:43.48

Dynamo’s time of 1:41.93 lowered Nitro’s NAG record of 1:42.36 that stood for just 20 minutes. Rising Purdue sophomore Idris Muhammad set the tone with a personal-best 25.58 backstroke split, Auburn commit Britton Spann swam 29.16 on the breaststroke leg, Arizona State commit Owen McDonald followed with a blazing 24.24 butterfly leg, and Leo Roden finished Dynamo’s record off with a 22.95 freestyle anchor. 

Muhammad’s backstroke split was the fastest opener of the meet, smashing his previous best by more than a second and a half. McDonald’s butterfly split was second only to Cavalier Aquatics star Thomas Heilman (24.00). Jeremy Kelly rocketed to a 22.60 freestyle anchor to lead Nitro.  

Three of the four fastest 15-18 NAG times in the event’s history were clocked during Monday’s final as bronze medalist Rose Bowl Aquatics tied Mason Manta Rays’ previous record of 1:42.46. Daniel Li posted an impressive 28.05 breaststroke split for Rose Bowl after tying for third place earlier in the session. 

After Nitro shaved a tenth of a second off that mark, Dynamo took nearly half a second (.43) off the recently established record.

Coming into the day, the Mason Manta Ray quartet of Carson Foster (26.63), Jake Foster (28.41)Carl Bloebaum (24.90) and Adam Chaney (22.52) held the mark at 1:42.46, set at the 2019 Tim Meyer Senior State Championships in Granville, Ohio.

Splits Comparison

Mason Manta Rays, 2019 Nitro, 2022 Dynamo, 2022
Carson Foster, 26.63 Logan Walker, 26.23 Idris Muhammad, 25.58
Jake Foster, 28.41 Thomas Wu, 28.84 Britton Spann, 29.16
Carl Bloebaum, 24.90 George Flanders, 24.69 Owen McDonald, 24.24
Adam Chaney, 22.52 Jeremy Kelly, 22.60 Leo Roden, 22.95
1:42.46 1:42.36 1:41.93

In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of

oldest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
super classy swim
1 year ago


1 year ago

Congratulations, Dynamo.

John Hueth
1 year ago

Who were the people on the Mason Manta Rays NAG relay and what were their splits?

About Riley Overend

Riley is an associate editor interested in the stories taking place outside of the pool just as much as the drama between the lane lines. A 2019 graduate of Boston College, he arrived at SwimSwam in April of 2022 after three years as a sports reporter and sports editor at newspapers …

Read More »