All the Links You Need to Follow the 2013 World University Games Swimming

The 2013 World University Games kick off on Wednesday, July 10th in Kazan, Russia, as the top university students in the world will square off for a chance at international medals.

This meet is a pivotal jumping-off point for swimmers seeking to make the next step onto the World stage. Examples are abundant of World University Games champions from 2011 who moved immediately into even brighter lights: Americans Jimmy Feigen and Matt McLean moved onto the Olympic team in 2012 on relays, and both will race individually at Worlds this year. 2011 Universiade champion Michael Klueh is also swimming at Worlds for the US this year, and Australia’s David McKeon is a big favorite for at least a silver medal in the men’s 400 free.

On the women’s side, Aleksandra Herasimenia took a World University Games title in 2011 and turned it into a World Championship shortly after. Herasimenia will be back again and should be a dominant force. Another perfect example is American Maya Dirado, who after winning the 400 IM at the 2011 World University Games is now the American Champion in the same event and one of the big new names on the American roster for Barcelona.

As always, all of our SwimSwam coverage can be followed on the category page here: http://swimswam.com/news/world-university-games/

Start Lists

Event-by-event entry and start lists can be seen here: http://kazan2013.ru/hide/en/-240/Comp/DetailedScheduleByDate?sportCode=SW
Official results will be seen at the same place as above.

Watch Live

The official FISU Television: http://www.livefisu.tv/
In the United States: ESPN3.com

Schedule

Prelims will begin at 9AM local time and finals will begin at 7PM local time. Around the world that is:

Prelims

Location Local time Time zone UTC offset
Kazan (Russia) Monday, July 8, 2013 at 9:00:00 AM MSK UTC+4 hours
Los Angeles (U.S.A. – California) Sunday, July 7, 2013 at 10:00:00 PM PDT UTC-7 hours
New York (U.S.A. – New York) Monday, July 8, 2013 at 1:00:00 AM EDT UTC-4 hours
London (United Kingdom – England) Monday, July 8, 2013 at 6:00:00 AM BST UTC+1 hour
Sydney (Australia – New South Wales) Monday, July 8, 2013 at 3:00:00 PM AEST UTC+10 hours
Rio de Janeiro (Brazil – Rio de Janeiro) Monday, July 8, 2013 at 2:00:00 AM BRT UTC-3 hours
Johannesburg (South Africa) Monday, July 8, 2013 at 7:00:00 AM SAST UTC+2 hours
Beijing (China) Monday, July 8, 2013 at 1:00:00 PM CST UTC+8 hours
Berlin (Germany – Berlin) Monday, July 8, 2013 at 7:00:00 AM CEST UTC+2 hours
Corresponding UTC (GMT) Monday, July 8, 2013 at 05:00:00    

Finals

Location Local time Time zone UTC offset
Kazan (Russia) Monday, July 8, 2013 at 7:00:00 PM MSK UTC+4 hours
Los Angeles (U.S.A. – California) Monday, July 8, 2013 at 8:00:00 AM PDT UTC-7 hours
New York (U.S.A. – New York) Monday, July 8, 2013 at 11:00:00 AM EDT UTC-4 hours
London (United Kingdom – England) Monday, July 8, 2013 at 4:00:00 PM BST UTC+1 hour
Sydney (Australia – New South Wales) Tuesday, July 9, 2013 at 1:00:00 AM AEST UTC+10 hours
Rio de Janeiro (Brazil – Rio de Janeiro) Monday, July 8, 2013 at 12:00:00 Noon BRT UTC-3 hours
Johannesburg (South Africa) Monday, July 8, 2013 at 5:00:00 PM SAST UTC+2 hours
Beijing (China) Monday, July 8, 2013 at 11:00:00 PM CST UTC+8 hours
Berlin (Germany – Berlin) Monday, July 8, 2013 at 5:00:00 PM CEST UTC+2 hours
Corresponding UTC (GMT) Monday, July 8, 2013 at 15:00:00    

 

17
Leave a Reply

Subscribe
Notify of
17 Comments
oldest
newest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
C Martin
8 years ago

I’m assuming the games start on Weds. the 10th of July and not August?

Lane Four
8 years ago

I am hoping that the swims will find their way to Youtube. Trying to figure out the time differences is crazy.

petriasfan
8 years ago

Had a quick look at the start lists, it appears as so that Australia and the USA are not fielding any relay teams. Hmmm. I hope it is just an error, as I am extremely interested in seeing how fast Megan Romano can swim on a long course relay. She does have a 53.70 to her credit from the previous Universiade in Shenzhen.

Reply to  petriasfan
8 years ago

there will be relays

petriasfan
Reply to  Matt Byrd
8 years ago

I know there will be relays, but the States and Australia are yet to enter their intentions to swim relays.

aswimfan
8 years ago

I’m glad my eurosport channel in my country is broadcasting Universiade round the clock.

bobo gigi
Reply to  aswimfan
8 years ago

In which country are you? I have understood it was in Asia but Asia is big.

aswimfan
Reply to  bobo gigi
8 years ago

Indonesia. I thought you knew, I already mentioned it during the Olympics last year.

bobo gigi
Reply to  aswimfan
8 years ago

Ok. I didn’t know it. I wasn’t on swimswam during the olympic games last year.

Sondre
Reply to  aswimfan
8 years ago

Eurosport is showing some of the swimming in my country too… I’m from Norway

Lane Four
8 years ago

ASWIMFAN, you are extremely lucky! Good for you!

bobo gigi
8 years ago

What are doing Miss Romano and Miss Chenault in Russia a few days before Barcelona? Not dangerous? Hopefully it will work and will bring them a big boost of confidence if they win 2 or 3 gold medals. They are very important pieces of the American freestyle relays in Barcelona.

aswimfan
Reply to  bobo gigi
8 years ago

I guess they want to practice racing, which is especially important for sprinters.

Swimming competition in Barcelona starts 29th July, so still three weeks away, while swimming in Kazan starts tomorrow. There’s enough time, especially if Romano and Chenault goes directly to US camp right after Kazan, which makes sense.

CoachGB
Reply to  bobo gigi
8 years ago

Again I repeat that swimming in the states is different. Check out how some have come up in their age group days and how often they swam meets. Check Missies schedule last winter .I think many of the top swimmers don’t worry about limitations.and enjoy competing.

Logan
8 years ago

Wait, where is the results link?

CANswimmer
7 years ago

Can we get one of these for the World champs starting on sunday?

About Braden Keith

Braden Keith

Braden Keith is the Editor-in-Chief and a co-founder of SwimSwam.com. He first got his feet wet by building The Swimmers' Circle beginning in January 2010, and now comes to SwimSwam to use that experience and help build a new leader in the sport of swimming. Aside from his life on the InterWet, …

Read More »