2012 Tiburon Sprint Classic Photo Vault

Matt Biondi and Tom Jager, the start in Pleasantville Effect. Both are former world record holders in the long course meters 50 freestyle and NCAA Champions (Photo Credit: Mike Lewis)

Arianna Vanderpool-Wallace, the winner of the women’s sprint division in Tiburon. She’s an NCAA Champion from Auburn and a 2012 Olympic Games finalist in the 50 free. (Photo Credit: Mike Lewis)

Anthony Ervin, Josh Schneider, Jimmy Feigen, Tom Sheilds, and event founder Bob Placak (Photo Credit: Mike Lewis)

George Bovell, Trinidad and Tobago, warmup start before the Tiburon Sprint. George swam a 19.39 in the heats, a new Tiburon Sprint Classic record. (Photo Credit: Mike Lewis)

Fred Bousquet and Matt Biondi (Photo Credit: Mike Lewis)

Tom Shields, the future of sprint butterfly in the USA, an underwater dophlin kick specialist, an NCAA Champion and 2012 Olympic Trials finalist (Photo Credit: Mike Lewis)

Tom Jager, a 10-time USA Swimming National Team captain and 7-time Olympic Medalist (Photo Credit: Mike Lewis)

Dana Vollmer, 3-time 2012 Olympic Gold Medalist and 100 meters butterfly world record holder (Photo Credit; Mike Lewis)

Jimmy Feigen, 2012 Olympic Games silver medalist, NCAA Champion, Texas Longhorns Swimming star, future sprint king (Photo Credit: Mike Lewis)

Rowdy Gaines, 3-time Olympic Gold Medalist, masters swimming world record holder, and a man who does not age with time. (Photo Credit: Mike Lewis)

Fred Bousquet works his core strength (Photo Credit: Mike Lewis)

Anthony Ervin, 2000 Olympic Games gold medalist, 2012 Olympic Games Finalist (Photo Credit: Mike Lewis)

Rowdy Gaines and Anthony Ervin (Photo Credit: Mike Lewis)

Emily Silver, 2008 Olympic Games silver medalist (Photo Credit: Mike Lewis)

Matt Biondi (Cal Bears) and Tom Jager (UCLA Bruin), the founders of the made-for-tv sprint format (Photo Credit: Mike Lewis)

Arianna Vanderpool – Wallace, all smiles before she tops the women’s division at the Tiburon Sprint Classic (Photo Credit: Mike Lewis)

Full race coverage of the 2012 Tiburon Sprint Classic is here. 

Many thanks to event founder and host, Robert C. Placak of Robert C. Placak and Associates Insurance Services.

Mike Lewis owns all rights to the photos in this photo gallery. To license an image, go here, to olavistaphotography.com. Mike Lewis is an artist, photographer and an open water specialist. Mike also contributes to swimswam.com. 

In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of
newest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
8 years ago

Mike, great photos! Is there any way you can send over your pictures to me? I’m sure Bob Placak would love to see them all! [email protected]

Reply to  Anthony Blair
8 years ago

Thanks Anthony – you (and Bob) can see all the photos here: http://www.olavistaphotography.com/p727288537

8 years ago

Jager’s start still just like his famous poster! Awesome!

7 years ago

Awesome Pic’s. Its a very cool event that is done for swimming….nice work to Bob (who was cool enough to come and race me and my buddies at practice when we were just US swimmers

About Gold Medal Mel Stewart

Gold Medal Mel Stewart

MEL STEWART Jr., aka Gold Medal Mel, won three Olympic medals at the 1992 Olympic Games. Mel's best event was the 200 butterfly. He is a former World, American, and NCAA Record holder in the 200 butterfly. As a writer/producer and sports columnist, Mel has contributed to Yahoo Sports, Universal Sports, …

Read More »