Pool Record for Ohio’s Dawson in Dual Win at Denison

The NCAA Division III Runner-Up Denison women hosted Division I foe Ohio University, winning five individual events and both relays.  It wasn’t enough to match the Bobcats’ power though as they took nine individual event wins, led by a pool record from junior Laura Dawson.  Ohio defeated Denison 161-139.

Full results are at this link.

Denison got out to an early lead, on wins from their 200 medley squad of Carolyn Kane, Marissa Bednarek, Ashley Yearwood and Mary Van Leuven (1:44.88) and a dominating ten second win from Taylor Johns in the 1000 free (10:22.49.)  

Ohio took the next two wins, with Laura Dawson crushing the field by three seconds in the 200 free with 1:51.30, and teammate Addy Ferguson touching at 56.77 for the 100 back.

The 100 breaststroke was a 1-2 finish for Denison as Marissa Bednarek and Marisa Pulaski owned the event in 1:04.47 and 1:05.81 respectively.  That duo also took the top spots for the 200 breast later in the meet with a 2:20.07 from Bednarek and 2:21.98 from Pulaski.  Denison also picked up a win by Campbell Costley in the 500 free with her 5:04.93 performance.

Halli Garza was nearly a double winner for Denison, as she won the 400 IM with a 4:31.92 near the end of the meet, but was out-touched earlier by Ohio’s Elena Patz in the 200 fly, 2:04.12 to 2:04.15.  

Ohio had three double event winners.  Laura Dawson, who won the 200 free earlier in the meet, also took down the Trumbull Aquatics Center Record in the 200 back with 2:01.85.  Corrin Van Lanen won both of the sprint freestyle events with 23.45 in the 50 and 51.62 in the 100.  Both diving events were won by Haleigh Bartlett with 308.48 in the 1-meter and 345.83 in the 3-meter.  Ohio also had the winning time for the 100 fly from Carrie Dukes who finished in 56.64.

The Denison squad of Kane, Van Leuven, Yearwood and Kate Wright was able to close the meet with a win for the 200 freestyle relay in 1:34.54.

Leave a Reply

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments