Mitch Larkin breaks down his 2016 SC Worlds – Video

2016 Short World Championships as reported by Lauren Neidigh


2014 World Champion: Mitch Larkin (AUS), 49.57
World Record: Matt Grevers (USA), 48.92, 2015
Championship Record: Stanislav Donets (RUS), 48.95, 2010
GOLD: Mitch Larkin (AUS), 49.65
SILVER: Andrei Shabasov (RUS), 46.69
BRONZE: Jiayu Xu (CHN), 50.02
Junya Koga of Japan blasted some outside smoke from lane 8 for the first 50, but Russia’s Andrei Shabashov emerged in the lead out of the final turn. Neither one could hold on, however, as the defending champion, Mitch Larkin of Australia, came on like a freight train the final length to pick up the win. China’s Jiayu Xu touched 3rd, while


2014 World Champion: Radoslaw Kawecki, 1:47.38
World Record: Mitch Larkin (AUS), 1:45.63, 2015
Championship Record: Ryan Lochte (USA), 1:46.68, 2010

GOLD: Radoslaw Kawecki (POL), 1:47.63
SILVER: Jacob Pebley (USA), 1:48.98
BRONZE: Masaki Kaneko (JPN), 1:49.18

Poland’s Radoslaw Kawecki successfully defended his 200 back title, breaking away from the field with a 27.26 on the 3rd 50 to secure his gold. Behind him, Team USA’s Jacob Pebley made a big drop from his prelims time to take silver. Australia’s Mitch Larkin (1:49.25) had a slight edge on Japan’s Masaki Kaneko until the final 50, but Kaneko made a late surge to take bronze ahead of Larkin by 7 hundredths.

In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

About Gold Medal Mel Stewart

Gold Medal Mel Stewart

MEL STEWART Jr., aka Gold Medal Mel, won three Olympic medals at the 1992 Olympic Games. Mel's best event was the 200 butterfly. He is a former World, American, and NCAA Record holder in the 200 butterfly. As a writer/producer and sports columnist, Mel has contributed to Yahoo Sports, Universal Sports, …

Read More »