Maria Cocco Nears MEX Record, Splits 1:01/1:09 200 Fly To Close Brazil Trophy


The 2020 Brazil Trophy wrapped up tonight with Minas pulling off an impressive win which ended 1,000 points ahead of the second-place finisher, Corinthians.

One of the biggest swims og the night came from Mexico’s Maria Jose Cocco who swam a 2:10.90, unconventionally splitting a 1:01 / 1:09. That swim was just 0.75 seconds off Mexico’s national record in the event held by Rite Medrano from back in 2012.

2020 Brazil Trophy Final Team Scores

  1. Minas: 2,788.50
  2. Corinthians: 1,075
  3. Curibitano: 583
  4. CR Flamengo: 580
  5. Paneiras: 381

Women’s 1500 Freestyle Final

Viviane Jungblut started off the session with a 1500 freestyle victory with a 16:31.63. Her PB in the event is a 16:22.48 Brazilian record from the 2017 Summer Universiade in Taipei, Taiwan. She was fast a bit faster than her swim last year at the 2019 World Championships where she hit a 16:36.25 in the event to earn 20th.

Following Jungblut in the final, Beatriz Dizotti swam a 16:43.46 for silver, and Betina Lorscheitter followed with a 16:54.35 for bronze.

The fastest swim of the night, however, came from Argentina’s Delfina Pignatiello who swam a 16:20.78, 29 seconds slower than her personal best time of 15:51.68. Pignatiello is swimming for Argentina’s contingent at this meet and for that reason was not eligible to hit to the podium, reserved for swimmer repping Brazil-based teams.

Men’s 1500 Freestyle Final

As with the women’s event, the Brazilian record holder in the 1500 freestyle took gold for the men. Guilherme Costa posted a 15:21.10 to win the event for Minas. The swim was 26 seconds over his 2019 NR of 14:55.49. Costa raced the event last year at 2019 World’s for Brazil, finishing in 25th with a 15:20.73.

Diogo Villarinho rounded out the top three in the event, swimming a 15:22.68 and 15:29.73, respectively for silver and bronze.

Women’s 100 Backstroke Final

First in the 100 backstroke tonight was Natalia de Luccas who took gold with a 1:02.27. That’s de Luccas’ third individual medal of the meet, having picked up a gold in the 200 back with a 2:17.00 and a 100 freestyle bronze in 57.03.

Following an impressive 2:16.87 200 IM win earlier in the meet, Minas’ Fernanda Gomes was silver in the backstroke tonight, hitting a 1:04.12. Erika Reibeiro Gonçalves rounded out the podium for Corinthians, swimming a 1:04.46.

Men’s 100 Backstroke Final

On the men’s side, 200 backstroke winner Leonardo José Guedes repeated as victor, swimming a 55.28 in the 100 final as the only sub-56 swim in the field. That’s just under a second off his previous best of 54.47 which he set over a decade ago in May of 2009. Guedes was followed by Pedro Motte who picked up silver in a 56.47 and Vitor Guaraldo in a 56.72 for bronze.

Women’s 200 Butterfly Final

Minas won yet another gold medal here as Beatriz swam her way to victory with a 2:18.89. Also from Minas, Ana Cecilia Carvalho, came in with a 2:20.62 for silver. Paineiras swimmer Gabriela Albuquerque was ahead of both Minas swimmer in the opening 50 but ultimately fell to theird, ending with a 2:21.41.

Not eligible to reach the podium, Mexican swimmer Maria Jose Cocco swam the fastest 200 fly of the night with her 2:10.90. Cocco was just 0.75 seconds off of Rite Medrano’s 2012 Mexican record in the event of 2:10.15. With the swim, Cocco shaves a bit more time off her best time from this morning of 2:11.34. The swim from Cocco was rather unconvential for the event as she opened it up with a blistering 1:01.68 100 split, coming back in a 1:09.22.

Men’s 200 Butterfly Final

Kaue da Silva Carvalho took him first gold medal at the meet with his 1:58.05, improving upon his previous best time of 1:59.64 from 2016. Carvalho’s win from Minas beat out CR Flamengo swimmer Luiz Altamir Lopes Melo’s 1:58.84 for silver and Gustavo Francisco Saldo’s 1:59.44 bronze medal finish for Curitibano.

In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments