How And When To Watch The 2022 Australian Swimming Championships

2022 AUSTRALIAN SWIMMING CHAMPIONSHIPS

The 2022 Australian Swimming Championships kicks off this week from Oaklands Park, South Australia, with the high-stakes meet giving swimmers a shot a qualification for the 2022 World Championships and Commonwealth Games.

Swimming Australia had originally planned to host two separate qualification meets; one in April and one in between Worlds and Commonwealth Games, but altered that plan in February to combine both meets into one.

In 2021, Swimming Australia and Amazon struck a two-year deal, which allows national-level meets to be streamed worldwide on Prime Video. Last year, Australian Olympic Trials streamed on Prime and the same is true for this year’s qualification meet. Users around the world will be able to stream all 10 sessions of the meet using Amazon’s streaming service.

The announcing team for the broadcast will be made up of a myriad of past Australian swimmers including Olympic gold medalists Grant Hackett, Giaan Rooney, and Nicole Livingstone, Paralympic gold medalist Annabelle Williams, Matt White, and Jon Harker. Special guests will include Olympians Meagan Nay and Brittany Elmslie.

All five prelims sessions will get started at 9 AM local time, which is 7:30 PM Eastern the night before. Here’s a breakdown of what time prelims and finals will take place in various timezones:

Prelims (9 AM Local)

  • Pacific Time – 4:30 PM*
  • Mountain Time – 5:30 PM*
  • Central Time – 6:30 PM*
  • Eastern Time – 7:30 PM*
  • Western African/European Summer Time – 12:30 AM
  • Central African/European Summer Time – 1:30 AM
  • Eastern African/European Summer Time – 2:30 AM
  • China Standard Time – 7:30 AM
  • Japan Standard Time – 8:30 AM
  • Australian Eastern Time – 9:30 AM

* The night before

Finals (7 PM Local)

  • Pacific Time – 2:30 AM
  • Mountain Time – 3:30 AM
  • Central Time – 4:30 AM
  • Eastern Time – 5:30 AM
  • Western African/Western European Summer Time – 10:30 AM
  • Central African/Western European Summer Time – 11:30 AM
  • Eastern African/Western European Summer Time – 12:30 PM
  • China Standard Time – 5:30 PM
  • Japan Standard Time – 6:30 PM
  • Australian Eastern Time – 7:30 PM

7
Leave a Reply

Subscribe
Notify of
7 Comments
newest
oldest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Trish Halliday
1 month ago

Where can I watch live

Smith-King-Huske-Curzan
1 month ago

Way too early in the morning for me.

Awsi Dooger
1 month ago

Dream schedule for Pacific Time

Troyy
Reply to  Awsi Dooger
1 month ago

Bit of a hint of what Brisbane 2032 will be like if IOC doesn’t force morning finals.

Swimswamswum
Reply to  Troyy
1 month ago

They will.

They have to obey their overlord NBC.

commonwombat
Reply to  Troyy
1 month ago

To be more accurate, NBC strong-arm IOC into morning finals.

KatyJ
Reply to  commonwombat
1 month ago

Isn’t being in a different part of the world part of the delight
Time USA stopped bullying the rest of the world to what suits them.