Germany Announces 2015-2016 National Team

by Daniela Kapser 2

October 04th, 2015 Europe, International, News

This week, the German Swimming Federation (DSV) declared on their website ( the names of the swimmers for the different German squads.

In the A-squad are (with birth years):
On the women’s side, they announced only four pool swimmers: Franziska Hentke (1989), Sarah Köhler (1994), Jenny Mensing (1986), Alexandra Wenk (1995) and for the open water swimmers: Isabelle Härle (1988).
On the men’s side, the team has more members: Paul Biedermann (1986), Steffen Deibler (1987), Hendrik Feldwehr (1986), Christoph Fildebrandt (1989), Jan-Philip Glania (1988), Jacob Heidtmann (1994), Marco Koch (1990), Clemens Rapp (1989), Florian Vogel (1994).

Some long time national A-Team members are now found in the B-squad, like Dorothea Brandt or Christian Diener, who was the silver medalist in the 200 m backstroke at the 32nd European Championships 2014 – but this competition isn’t a criteria for the 2015/2016 season.

The reason is that the DOSB (German Olympic Sports Federation) has changed the nomination criteria for the German swimmers to make the A squad, which is Germany’s most prestigious and selective team.

The full announcement comes from the German Swimming Federation’s website in September. A quick translation:

“The DOSB (German Olympic Sports Federation) has changed its A-squad criteria for the appointment of the DSV national squad (A-squad). These changes will be incorporated in the appointment criteria of the DSV immediately. The A-Team criteria are defined solely and exclusively by the DOSB (German Olympic Sports Federation).”

There are different squads in Germany:

  • A-squad, the best German swimmers who compete on world class level – the DOSB (German Olympic Sports Federation) defines the criteria for the A-squad.
  • B-squad, athletes who have a recognizable and traceable performance development and may ascend into the A-squad in the medium term.
  • C-squad, the squad for the next generation, the athletes with the highest medium to long-term success perspective to international elite sport and promising participants in international competition highlights at youth level.

The major changes concern only the A squad. Belonging to a squad always covers a period of about a year, then the teams will be renamed based on two qualification periods. For the 2015-2016 squads, these periods are from November 24, 2014 to April 12, 2015 and from June 2, 2015 to August 6, 2015. The A-squad has well-defined criteria, which have now been changed: Swimmers must reach a place of 1-8 at World Championships or Olympic Games in an individual event or a relay (this also applies for the athletes who swim in prelims) OR in years without World Championships/Olympics, German swimmers must finish on the podium in a single or relay event.

For the 2014/2015 season, swimmers reached the A-squad with place 1-10 at World Championships or Olympic games or a 1-6 place finish at European Championships.

Belonging to the A squad of course brings more financial support in addition to opportunities to participate in training camps or in international competitions. With the new criteria, for example Dorothea Brandt loses her A-squad status because she finished 10th in the 50 m freestyle in Kazan and Christian Diener 9th in the 200 m backstroke. Swimmers like Hendrik Feldwehr jumped into the A squad with their perfomances in Russia at World Championships because he participated in Kazan in a final – Feldwehr in the 100 m breaststroke.

Here you can find the complete roster:

In This Story

Leave a Reply

2 Comment threads
0 Thread replies
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
2 Comment authors
newest oldest most voted

Well the men’s a team is the best they could get really, but the women’s team is bad.

Martin Bilski

The fixtures are set for the playoffs to get into the 2016 European Championship in France. The match-ups between the eight teams vying for the four final spots all look pretty even. The highlight is a Nordic “derby.” For the first time since 1984, the Netherlands have failed to qualify for the European Championships. After being defeated by the Czech Republic at home, the football-mad nation’s humiliation was complete.