Dr. Julio C. Maglione To Be Re-elected As FINA President

A reception is being hosted to celebrate the re-election of FINA President, Dr. Julio C. Maglione. Maglione has served as a member of the FINA Bureau from 1984-1988, FINA Vice President from 1988-1992, Honorary Treasurer from 1992 to 2009, and has served as FINA President since 2009. He has also been a member of the International Olympic Committee since 1996. Dr. Maglione is running for President unopposed.

Throughout his career, Dr. Maglione has earned several awards and distinctions including:

“FINA Gold Pin; ANOC Order of Merit (1994); IOC Centennial Trophy (1994); NOC gold insignia; Royal Order of Merit in Sport of the Spanish Minister of Education and Science (1996); Legion of Honour of the French Republic (1998); Order of the Chinese Olympic Committee (1999); Order “Bernardo O’Higgins”, Chile (2000); distinction of the International Pierre de Coubertin Committee (2001); Honorary Citizen of Montevideo (2007).” (Source: Fina.org)

As a swimmer in the late 1940’s and early 1950’s, Maglione was a national record holder for several years in butterfly and breaststroke events in his country.

The reception will take place at the Club Restaurant Patio at the Palau St. Jordi Aquatics Complex. The Palau St. Jordi Aquatics Complex  is the host cite for the 2013 World Championships.

Leave a Reply

About Tony Carroll

Tony Carroll

The writer formerly known as "Troy Gennaro", better known as Tony Carroll, has been working with SwimSwam since April of 2013. Tony grew up in northern Indiana and started swimming in 2003 when his dad forced him to join the local swim team. Reluctantly, he joined on the condition that …

Read More »

Want to take your swimfandom to the next level?

Subscribe to SwimSwam Magazine!