2020 Tokyo Olympic Games: What Time Do Swimming Events Start in My Time Zone?

2020 Tokyo Summer Olympic Games

We are in the final countdown to the 2020 Summer Olympic Games in Tokyo, Japan. The pool swimming events begin this weekend with prelims in the evening -at 7:00 PM Tokyo time- and semi-finals and finals at 10:30 AM the next morning.

Below is the information you need to set your alarm so as not to miss any of the 15 sessions.

Pool Swimming Schedule

(Finals in bold)

Saturday, July 24 Sunday, July 25 Monday, July 26 Tuesday, July 27 Wednesday, July 28 Thursday, July 29 Friday, July 30 Saturday, July 31 Sunday, August 1
Semi & finals (beginning 10:30AM local time) (none) 400 IM M
100 Fly W
400 Free M
400 IM W
100 Breast M
4×100 Free W
100 Fly W
200 Free M
100 Breast W
100 Breast M
400 Free W
100 Back M
100 Back W
4×100 Free M
200 Free W
200 Free M
100 Back W
100 Back M
100 Breast W
200 Fly M
200 IM W
100 Free M
200 Free W
200 Fly M
200 Fly W
200 Breast M
200 IM W
1500 Free W
4×200 Free M
800 Free M
200 Breast M
100 Free W
200 Back M
200 Fly W
100 Free M
200 Breast W
200 IM M
4×200 Free W
100 Fly M
100 Free W
200 Back M
200 Breast W
200 IM M
200 Back W
100 Fly M
200 Back W
800 Free W
50 Free M
50 Free W
4×100 Medley MX
50 Free M
50 Free W
1500 Free M
4×100 Medley W
4×100 Medley M
Heats
(beginning 7PM local time)
400 IM M
100 Fly W
400 Free M
400 IM W
100 Breast M
4×100 Free W
100 Back W
200 Free M
100 Breast W
100 Back M
400 Free W
4×100 Free M
200 Free W
200 Fly M
200 IM W
1500 Free W
100 Free M
200 Fly W
200 Breast M
4×200 Free M
800 Free M
100 Free W
200 Back M
200 Breast W
200 IM M
4×200 Free W
800 Free W
100 Fly M
200 Back W
4×100 Medley MX
50 Free M
50 Free W
1500 Free M
4×100 Medley W
4×100 Medley M
(none) (none)

Session Start Times – Day 1

City Zone PRELIMS SEMIS & FINALS
Tokyo GMT+9 7:00 PM on Saturday, July 24 10:30 AM on Sunday, July 25
Honolulu, Papeete GMT-10 12:00 AM on Saturday, July 24 3:30 PM on Saturday, July 24
Los Angeles, Seattle, Vancouver GMT-7 3:00 AM on Saturday, July 24 6:30 PM on Saturday, July 24
Calgary, Denver, Edmonton, San Salvador GMT-6 4:00 AM on Saturday, July 24 7:30 PM on Saturday, July 24
Bogota, Chicago, Dallas, Kingston, Lima, Mexico City GMT-5 5:00 AM on Saturday, July 24 8:30 PM on Saturday, July 24
Atlanta, Asuncion, Caracas, La Paz, New York, Toronto GMT-4 6:00 AM on Saturday, July 24 9:30 PM on Saturday, July 24
Buenos Aires, Rio de Janeiro, Montevideo GMT-3 7:00 AM on Saturday, July 24 10:30 PM on Saturday, July 24
Abidjan, Dakar, Reykjavik, Timbuktu GMT+0 10:00 AM on Saturday, July 24 1:30 AM on Sunday, July 25
Algiers, Dublin, Edinburgh, Kinshasa, Lagos, Lisbon, London, Tunis GMT+1 11:00 AM on Saturday, July 24 2:30 AM on Sunday, July 25
Berlin, Brussels, Budapest, Cairo, Copenhagen, Johannesburg, Kigali, Oslo, Paris, Sarajevo, Warsaw, Zagreb, Zurich GMT+2 12:00 noon on Saturday, July 24 3:30 AM on Sunday, July 25
Addis Ababa, Athens, Bagdad, Bucharest, Damascus, Dar es Salaam, Helsinki, Istanbul, Kyiv, Mogadishu, Moscow, Riga, Riyadh, GMT+3 1:00 PM on Saturday, July 24 4:30 AM on Sunday, July 25
Baku, Dubai, Samara, Tbilisi GMT+4 2:00 PM on Saturday, July 24 5:30 AM on Sunday, July 25
Bangkok, Jakarta, Phnom Penh, Vientiane GMT+7 5:00 PM on Saturday, July 24 8:30 AM on Sunday, July 25
Beijing, Hong Kong, Kuala Lumpur, Singapore, Taipei GMT+8 6:00 PM on Saturday, July 24 9:30 AM on Sunday, July 25
Canberra, Sydney, Melbourne, Vladivostok GMT+10 8:00 PM on Saturday, July 24 11:30 AM on Sunday, July 25
Auckland, Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky, Wellington GMT+12 10:00 PM on Saturday, July 24 1:30 PM on Sunday, July 25

 

Here’s a visual look at each session by time zone:

Scroll right for more time zones. Scroll down for later days in the Olympic schedule. Major cities are listed for each time zone.

Medal finals are listed with (F). Semifinals are listed with (SF). Events are labeled for men’s (M), women’s (W), and mixed (MX) events.

“Day 1” refers to the traditional swimming structure of a prelims session followed by a finals session – though those two sessions may not share the same exact date, depending on your time zone.

You can view the full schedule in a separate tab here.

55
Leave a Reply

Subscribe
Notify of
55 Comments
oldest
newest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
swammer2009
7 days ago

Thanks for the coverage, SwimSwam team! Ya’ll are crushing it!

boknows34
7 days ago

2.30am to 4am for finals, then bed and up again for heats at 11am. Sorted

bobthebuilderrocks
7 days ago

4:30 AM to watch finals for me… What a crappy time to be on vacation.

Sly
7 days ago

I love you muricans but f**k NBC.
Cheers from Europe.

Coach
Reply to  Sly
7 days ago

The American swimmers agree with you.

Greg
Reply to  Sly
7 days ago

I find it ridiculous that despite rearranging the schedule for nbc, finals still start an absurdly late 930 PM on the US east coast, and continue until well past midnight most sessions. And then prelims start at 6 AM. Maybe some people are fine staying up super late but like a lot of people across the world I’ll be recording everything and watching during hours I’m actually awake. I wish they hadn’t messed with the schedule at all.

Admin
Reply to  Greg
7 days ago

I had the same thought. It’s almost like the worst of all worlds.

Samesame
Reply to  Braden Keith
7 days ago

Typical NBC. I lost all faith when I heard they didn’t even show Rio finals live in half of your country.

Col. Trautman
Reply to  Greg
7 days ago

Morning people – “Rise and grind!” Early bird gets the worm!”

‘Absurd’ hour of 9:30pm rolls around – I can’t handle it, it’s too late, this is a travesty!

Buck up buttercup, this is the Olympics! If you want to reap the rewards, better get tougher.

DMSWIM
Reply to  Greg
7 days ago

Yes, I have actually be awake during work next week. I can’t be staying up past 11 every night! I will have to watch highlights the next day unfortunately.

Swimming supporter
7 days ago

Thanks – this makes it clear! Can’t Waaaaaaaaaaaaaaait!

JCO
7 days ago

For US viewers, will everything be broadcast live on NBC? Hoping that prelims will be live on tv and I won’t need to find a separate stream online.

maverick1993
Reply to  JCO
7 days ago

I checked yesterday and the prelims are on USA (owned by NBC but a different channel) and then finals on NBC if i remember correctly.

Admin
Reply to  maverick1993
7 days ago

We’ll have a post up soon about where to watch.

Guest
Reply to  Braden Keith
7 days ago

Surely Vladivostok is not one hour ahead of Tokyo.

boknows34
Reply to  Guest
7 days ago

Vladivostok is indeed one hour ahead of Tokyo. It is currently 11.10am in Vladivostok and 10.10am in Tokyo as I write this.

Steve Nolan
7 days ago

I’ve broken my brain so many times over the last couple weeks trying to figure out when things are going to be on. “OK the schedule says this final is Wednesday morning in Tokyo, so I can watch that Wednesday night. Wait, no, Thursday night? Crap it might be Tuesday night.”

I’m very smart.

Steve Nolan
Reply to  Steve Nolan
7 days ago

I also just copied that whole inset spreadsheet into my own Google Sheet and deleted all the non-Japan / US Eastern columns, woot. That is insanely useful.

Samesame
Reply to  Steve Nolan
7 days ago

No offence but Americans just didn’t seem to be good at working out time changes. Australians are used to it. We’ve been getting up in the middle of the night for years to watch sport.

Mattlantis
Reply to  Samesame
6 days ago

No offense taken, especially living on the east coast we hardly ever have to convert times. Its honestly hard for me to remember and figure out what the time is on the west coast, let alone Europe, Asia, or Australia.

boknows34
Reply to  Steve Nolan
7 days ago

Paris will hopefully just ignore NBC in 2024, just as London did 9 years ago.

KatyJ
Reply to  boknows34
7 days ago

Frankly races should be in the time appropriate to the country of the Olympics.
Bullying because of money is not a good loom

Togger
Reply to  boknows34
7 days ago

Not really possible to have them on US prime time without it being a complete farce, 7.30PM Eastern is 1.30AM CET.

Gogo bibi
7 days ago

Finals at 3AM in Europe , that’s a total disrespect from NBC

Bobthebuilderrocks
Reply to  Gogo bibi
7 days ago

Completely agree with you, how are we supposed to cheer when everyone else in the house is asleep?

Gogo bibi
Reply to  Bobthebuilderrocks
7 days ago

We can’t cheer anyways because of covid, let’s just clap

Bobthebuilderrocks
Reply to  Gogo bibi
7 days ago

Shoot I forgot about that too!

About Anne Lepesant

Anne Lepesant

Anne Lepesant is the mother of four daughters, all of whom swam in college. With an undergraduate degree from Princeton (where she was an all-Ivy tennis player) and an MBA from INSEAD, she worked for many years in the financial industry, both in France and the U.S. Anne is currently …

Read More »