All the Links You Need for the 2020 Tokyo Summer Olympic Games

2020 Tokyo Summer Olympic Games

After five years of waiting, the Tokyo Summer Olympic Games are finally upon us. We have compiled all the links you will need to keep up with the 8 day extravaganza that is Olympic swimming in Tokyo.

Links

There will be 15 sessions spanning 8 days of competition. Uniquely, finals will be contested in the morning and prelims at night.

We also broke down the biggest races of each day of competition on the SwimSwam podcast:

Finals will begin at 10:30 am local time in Tokyo and prelims start at 7 pm local time. To see what time sessions start in your area, view our timezone conversion chart here.

POOL SWIMMING SCHEDULE

*Finals in bold

SATURDAY, JULY 24 SUNDAY, JULY 25 MONDAY, JULY 26 TUESDAY, JULY 27 WEDNESDAY, JULY 28 THURSDAY, JULY 29 FRIDAY, JULY 30 SATURDAY, JULY 31 SUNDAY, AUGUST 1
Semi & finals (beginning 10:30AM local time) (none) 400 IM M
100 Fly W
400 Free M
400 IM W
100 Breast M
4×100 Free W
100 Fly W
200 Free M
100 Breast W
100 Breast M
400 Free W
100 Back M
100 Back W
4×100 Free M
200 Free W
200 Free M
100 Back W
100 Back M
100 Breast W
200 Fly M
200 IM W
100 Free M
200 Free W
200 Fly M
200 Fly W
200 Breast M
200 IM W
1500 Free W
4×200 Free M
800 Free M
200 Breast M
100 Free W
200 Back M
200 Fly W
100 Free M
200 Breast W
200 IM M
4×200 Free W
100 Fly M
100 Free W
200 Back M
200 Breast W
200 IM M
200 Back W
100 Fly M
200 Back W
800 Free W
50 Free M
50 Free W
4×100 Medley MX
50 Free M
50 Free W
1500 Free M
4×100 Medley W
4×100 Medley M
Heats
(beginning 7PM local time)
400 IM M
100 Fly W
400 Free M
400 IM W
100 Breast M
4×100 Free W
100 Back W
200 Free M
100 Breast W
100 Back M
400 Free W
4×100 Free M
200 Free W
200 Fly M
200 IM W
1500 Free W
100 Free M
200 Fly W
200 Breast M
4×200 Free M
800 Free M
100 Free W
200 Back M
200 Breast W
200 IM M
4×200 Free W
800 Free W
100 Fly M
200 Back W
4×100 Medley MX
50 Free M
50 Free W
1500 Free M
4×100 Medley W
4×100 Medley M
(none) (none)

SESSION START TIMES – DAY 1

*To see what time sessions start in your area, view our timezone chart here.

CITY ZONE PRELIMS SEMIS & FINALS
Tokyo GMT+9 7:00 PM on Saturday, July 24 10:30 AM on Sunday, July 25
Honolulu, Papeete GMT-10 12:00 AM on Saturday, July 24 3:30 PM on Saturday, July 24
Los Angeles, Seattle, Vancouver GMT-7 3:00 AM on Saturday, July 24 6:30 PM on Saturday, July 24
Calgary, Denver, Edmonton, San Salvador GMT-6 4:00 AM on Saturday, July 24 7:30 PM on Saturday, July 24
Bogota, Chicago, Dallas, Kingston, Lima, Mexico City GMT-5 5:00 AM on Saturday, July 24 8:30 PM on Saturday, July 24
Atlanta, Asuncion, Caracas, La Paz, New York, Toronto GMT-4 6:00 AM on Saturday, July 24 9:30 PM on Saturday, July 24
Buenos Aires, Rio de Janeiro, Montevideo GMT-3 7:00 AM on Saturday, July 24 10:30 PM on Saturday, July 24
Abidjan, Dakar, Reykjavik, Timbuktu GMT+0 10:00 AM on Saturday, July 24 1:30 AM on Sunday, July 25
Algiers, Dublin, Edinburgh, Kinshasa, Lagos, Lisbon, London, Tunis GMT+1 11:00 AM on Saturday, July 24 2:30 AM on Sunday, July 25
Berlin, Brussels, Budapest, Cairo, Copenhagen, Johannesburg, Kigali, Oslo, Paris, Sarajevo, Warsaw, Zagreb, Zurich GMT+2 12:00 noon on Saturday, July 24 3:30 AM on Sunday, July 25
Addis Ababa, Athens, Bagdad, Bucharest, Damascus, Dar es Salaam, Helsinki, Istanbul, Kyiv, Mogadishu, Moscow, Riga, Riyadh, GMT+3 1:00 PM on Saturday, July 24 4:30 AM on Sunday, July 25
Baku, Dubai, Samara, Tbilisi GMT+4 2:00 PM on Saturday, July 24 5:30 AM on Sunday, July 25
Bangkok, Jakarta, Phnom Penh, Vientiane GMT+7 5:00 PM on Saturday, July 24 8:30 AM on Sunday, July 25
Beijing, Hong Kong, Kuala Lumpur, Singapore, Taipei GMT+8 6:00 PM on Saturday, July 24 9:30 AM on Sunday, July 25
Canberra, Sydney, Melbourne, Vladivostok GMT+10 8:00 PM on Saturday, July 24 11:30 AM on Sunday, July 25
Auckland, Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky, Wellington GMT+12 10:00 PM on Saturday, July 24 1:30 PM on Sunday, July 25

 

 

18
Leave a Reply

Subscribe
Notify of
18 Comments
oldest
newest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
M Gopi R
1 month ago

Thank you

Texas Tap Water
1 month ago

I’m watching the opening ceremony at CBC.ca

Just point your VPN to Canada, and its wonderful.

I expect the same for their swimming coverage, as they have done so in the past Olympics and Worlds.

ooo
Reply to  Texas Tap Water
1 month ago

Remembering the 200 IM when they said that Lochte was ahead at the 150

Texas Tap Water
Reply to  ooo
1 month ago

Meh, one mistake. A million times better than vomit-inducing NBC’s Rowdy Gaines plus a zillions ads.

Bobo Gigi
Reply to  Texas Tap Water
1 month ago

If even some Americans don’t watch olympics on NBC….
Why so little love for that wonderful network? I don’t get it.
NBC pays so much money to bring you olympics in your home.
On NBC you have commercials only each 6 minutes! Distance races in swimming or track are cut only 1 or 2 times! And you can watch Simone Biles on half of the commercials!
And thanks to NBC we have now swimming finals in the morning! We also have now shot put, long jump, hurdles and men’s triple jump finals starting in the morning or around noon. And even basketball finals start in the morning!
I’m pretty sure male long jumpers are so… Read more »

CanSwim13
Reply to  Bobo Gigi
1 month ago

This post sponsored by NBC Olympics

Aqqq
Reply to  CanSwim13
1 month ago

It’s satire, sir

boknows34
Reply to  CanSwim13
1 month ago

Bobo’s post was dripping in sarcasm

Last edited 1 month ago by boknows34
He said what?
Reply to  boknows34
1 month ago

And something else.

Comet
Reply to  Bobo Gigi
1 month ago

You might be right on some aspects about nbc and it’s mocking bird sorry meant peacock (Too many ads and canned coverage) but u are totally wrong about the morning track and field finals. World athletics (aka IAAF) started this in Rio where it was practically the same time zone as the east coast in the us. They included some distance races for African audiences and some field events for the European audiences.

Irish Ringer
Reply to  Bobo Gigi
1 month ago

The reality is this group will always complain about something. Rarely will you see global approval of something so to me it’s just noise.

IM FAN
1 month ago

So the prelims are at 6 am ET? I was hoping to watch them but I’m not sure I can handle that grind. Oh well. I feel kinda quilty about that 9:30 PM ET finals spot though I guess without spectactators it’s not quite as egregious.

john26
Reply to  IM FAN
1 month ago

get youtubetv, record and stay off swimswam until you watch it 🙂

Irish Ringer
Reply to  john26
1 month ago

The option on YouTube.TV to select what Olympic sporting events (i.e. swimming, track & field, gymnastics) was great. Now to see if it only records those events or just the block of time where they show up.

He said what?
Reply to  IM FAN
1 month ago

How about us West Coasters. 3AM!

Yoo
Reply to  He said what?
1 month ago

Finals are at 2AM in the UK

boknows34
Reply to  Yoo
1 month ago

And would/should have been 11am normally. :((

StuartC
1 month ago

This article/links for Olympics should be pinned on swimswam column on the right of web page. In a couple days it will disappear among hundreds of posts.