2015 World University Games Links and Preview

by Robert Gibbs 10

July 03rd, 2015 News

Swim teams have been in South Korea for several days, with Twitter and Instagram showing us the enthusiastic welcome the hosts provided to arriving teams.  The swimming portion of the Games kicks off the morning of July 4th, which will actually be Friday evening for our American readers and the middle of the night for most of our European audience.

Two years ago, Russia pulled out all the stops in order to dominate at home.  They were successful, winning 17 gold medals in the swimming events alone, and 29 medals total.  The USA came in second in both categories, with six gold, and 24 total medals.

This year Gwangju, South Korea, will serve as the host for the competition.  There was a brief scare about a month ago when South Korea faced an outbreak of Middle East Respiratory Syndrome (MERS), but fears have abated as there seems to be no public health risk, and the games will go on scheduled.

For many swimmers, this will be their first non-junior international meet, but there there will plenty of big names in attendance.  Japan is sending Akihiro Yamaguchi, who broke the world record in the 200 breast almost three years, but whom we haven’t heard much from since.  Yamamoto Kohei will also be returning to defend his gold in the 800 free from 2013.

The Russian team is not quite as star-studded as it was two years ago, but will include NCAA Division II superstar Anton Lobanov and Junior World Record holder Rozaliya Nasretdinova.

Jack Conger will be representing the US once again, but he will not be defending his title in the 200 back.  Instead, he will be swimming the 50/100 back and the 100 free.  Other big names for the US include Olympians Rachel Bootsma and Shannon Vreeland, rising star Andrew Seliskar, and the former American record holder in the 100 yard freestyle, Abbey Weitzeil.

The start lists came out this morning, and at first glance, a couple races stick out.  The men’s 200 breast will feature the aforementioned Yamaguchi, but also Kazakistan’s Dimitry Balandin, who was an honorable mention in our 2014 Swammy Awards for male breakout swimmer of the year, and comes in with the top time.  Josh Prenot of the United States and Craig Benson of Great Britain are the other two men with a seed time under 2:10.

On the women’s side, if the heat sheets are any indication, the 200 fly will be one of the tightest events.  China’s Yilin Zhou comes in with the top seed at 2:08.00, but Hali Flickinger of the USA is seeded second with a 2:08.33 and Italy’s Alessia Polieri has the third seed with a 2:08.62.

How to watch

The official FISU feed: http://www.livefisu.tv

In the United States: ESPN3.com

Other Links and Info

All of our event coverage: http://swimswam.com/event/2015-world-university-games/

Follow: @swimswamlive on Twitter for live updates

Link to the schedule.

Start lists are here.

Each day prelims will begin at 8:30am local time, and the evening session will start at 7:00pm local time.  South Korea’s time zone is UTC +9.

Sydney, Australia (UTC +10): 9:30am/8:00pm

Singapore (UTC +8): 7:30am/6:00pm

Mainland Europe (UTC +2): 1:30am/12:00pm

London, United Kingdom (UTC +1): 12:30am/11:00am

Eastern Time Zone, United States (UTC -4): 7:30pm/6:00am

Central Time Zone, United States (UTC -5): 6:30pm/5:00am

Mountain Time Zone, United States (UTC -6): 5:30pm/4:00am

Pacific Time Zone, United States (UTC -7): 4:30pm/3:00am

In This Story

10
Leave a Reply

4 Comment threads
6 Thread replies
0 Followers
 
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
6 Comment authors
newest oldest most voted
Deraj

Pretty sure Pelton is not an Olympian. Maybe you meant Bootsma.

Pvk

Seliskar 1:54.33 200 fly
Conger 53.30/48.27
Vissering 1:00.51
Prenot 2:07.99 1:57.50/4:11.19
Litherland 400 IM 4:12.90
Pebley 53.34/1:55.91
Josa 51.90
Whitaker 1:55.56 (2 fly) 1:58.03 (2 IM)
Stubblefield 22.34/49.00
Some predictions

bobo gigi

Finals at Noon for me? Cool. I thought Conger would swim the 100 fly. I’m disappointed. Now I want to see him swim a monster 100 free. Time for Seliskar to swim under 1.55. Yes. He can do it. And I expect something good from Vissering. He’s in my top 4 contenders for the next olympic trials. A big PB close to the minute barrier would be great. These are the 3 US guys I will watch the most at that meet. On the women’s side, I would be happy to see Miss Bootsma swim her best 100 back since the 2012 olympic trials. What to expect from Abbey Weitzeil? The big meet for her is the world championships. On… Read more »

bobo gigi

noon
Sorry PVK. It was not a reply.

ERVINFORTHEWIN

I also wish great things from Conger on the 100 free – The Us needs new guys for next years 400 free relay – so i would say , good choice from Conger to test his 100 free ; i am sure he is thinking about a spot on that relay . Otherwise , he would have chosen the 100 fly . Seliskar and Weitzeil will be performing very well , let’s see this week-end how it goes for them .
I would put Conger also around 48.2 in the 100 free and 53.7 on the 100 back .

Pvk

Bobo- Vissering already went 1:01.00 at NCSA’s. I think he’ll at least shave off .5 at WUGs

Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!