2017 M. NCAAs: Florida’s Szaranek, Texas’ Licon Tie For 200 IM Victory


After a thrilling tie in the women’s 200 free at last week’s NCAA meet, we saw another tie for 1st place in today’s Men’s NCAA Championships, as Texas’ Will Licon and Florida’s Mark Szaranek tied for the 200 IM victory in 1:40.67. That was a little off Licon’s best of 1:40.04 from last season, but moved Szaranek up to #9 on the all-time top 10 performers list.

It was an extremely close race that came down to the touch. Cal’s Ryan Murphy led through the first 150 yard of the race, but Licon and Szaranek were able to run him down, taking the win by 6 hundredths as Murphy finished 3rd in 1:40.73.

All-Time Top 10 Performers:

Place Swimmer Time
1 David Nolan 1:39.38
2 Will Licon 1:40.04
3 Ryan Lochte 1:40.08
4 Josh Prenot 1:40.14
5 Ryan Murphy 1:40.27
6 Bradley Ally 1:40.49
7 Michael Phelps 1:40.58 (T-7)
8 Marcin Cieslak 1:40.58 (T-7)
9 Mark Szaranek 1:40.67
10 Andreas Vazaios 1:40.77

All-Time Top 10 Performances:

Place Swimmer Time
1 David Nolan 1:39.38
2 Will Licon 1:40.04
3 David Nolan 1:40.07
4 Ryan Lochte 1:40.08
5 Will Licon 1:40.09
6 Josh Prenot 1:40.14
7 Ryan Murphy 1:40.27
8 Bradley Ally 1:40.49
9 Will Licon 1:40.50
10 Ryan Lochte 1:40.55

In This Story

Leave a Reply

2 Comment threads
1 Thread replies
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
3 Comment authors
newest oldest most voted
NYC Unicorn

From Worst to first after the first hundred. Closing Clutch


He almost made same mistake as in the Trials – late push.

E Gamble

What a great swim Mark Szaranek. Way to get it done. ??

About Lauren Neidigh

Lauren Neidigh

Lauren Neidigh is a former NCAA swimmer at the University of Arizona and the University of Florida. While her college swimming career left a bit to be desired, her Snapchat chin selfies and hot takes on Twitter do not disappoint. She is now coaching for Loggerhead Aquatics in her hometown …

Read More »

Want to take your swimfandom to the next level?

Subscribe to SwimSwam Magazine!