Purdue Invite Day 3 Prelims Set Up Tight Finals Matchups

2021 Purdue Invite

  • November 18-20, 2021 
  • Morgan J. Burke Aquatic Center, Lafayette, Indiana
  • Short Course Yards 
  • Results 


19.46 50 free 22.32
42.88 100 free 48.76
1:34.04 200 free 1:46.25
4:16.75 500 free 4:44.77
15:01.33 1650 free 16:25.47
46.29 100 fly 52.7
1:43.47 200 fly 1:57.42
46.37 100 back 53.01
1:41.81 200 back 1:55.05
52.4 100 breast 1:00.12
1:54.28 200 breast 2:10.37
1:44.15 200 IM 1:57.62
3:45.67 400 IM 4:13.19

Heading into Saturday night finals, Louisville — the reigning ACC men’s champions and ACC third-place women’s team — have No. 1 seeds in four out of eight events, all with NCAA B-cuts.

In a couple races, though, the first and second seeds were so close we could easily see a reversal of the two in finals. 

For example, Purdue sophomore Coleman Modglin swam a 1:57.31 200 breaststroke to defeat Northwestern’s Connor Morikawa, who swam 1:57.92. Morikawa, however, was ahead up through the final turn, splitting 1:26.68 to Modglin’s 1:27.51. Modglin was able to take the lead, however, by swimming a 29.80 last 50, compared to Morikawa’s 31.24.

Louisville’s Gabi Albiero also had a close swim in the 200 butterfly, defeating teammate Alena Kraus by .07 to take the top spot with a time of 1:56.84. Though Albiero technically led the whole time, Kraus was never more than a couple of tenths behind her.

Among Louisville’s other top seeds is Arina Openysheva, whose 48.53 100 free defeated Missouri State’s Anna Miller and Northwestern’s Jasmine Nocentini. Openysheva, a graduate student, did not compete last season, but placed sixth in the 100 free at the 2019-20 ACC Championships. This was her fastest time of the season so far.

On the men’s side, Purdue senior Nikola Acin has the top seed going into finals with a 42.57. This is his fastest time this season by almost a second, though his best time is 41.81, a team record. At 2021 NCAAs, he made finals in the 100 free, the first time a Boilermaker had been a finalist in the swimming championship since 2017.

It’ll be a fast finals session — at least the top two seeds in each event swam a B-cut qualifying time in prelims. Here are some other notable performances:

  • Emma Lepisova, from Northwestern, beat her seed time by five seconds to win the 200 back in prelims with a time of 1:55.44 (splits 27.40/29.21/29.48/29.35).
  • Louisville’s Mitchell Whyte heads into finals as the No. 1 200 back swimmer (1:44.49).
  • Mariia Astashkina, a graduate student at Louisville, split her 200 breast 29.76/32.88/33.70/34.07 to win the first spot with a time of 2:10.41.
  • Connor Lamastra took top spot in the 200 butterfly with a time of 1:44.03.

Leave a Reply

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments