Indian River Wins 42nd Men’s, 35th Women’s JuCo Titles in a Row


  • NJCAA National Swimming & Diving Championships
  • Anne Wilder Aquatic Complex, Ft. Pierce, Florida
  • Defending Champions: Indian River State College men (41x), Indian River State College women (34x)
  • Short Course Yards (25y)
  • Psych sheet
  • Live results
  • Live video

The Indian River State College Pioneers finished off the latest chapter in their legendary run of National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) championship runs on Saturday evening in their home pool. The Indian River men won their 42nd-straight title and the Indian River women won their 35th-straight title.

The final day of competition included both three more NJCAA Records from IRSC and the conclusion of top performances from the meet’s best swimmers.

The first record of the day fell in the women’s 50 fly, where Yasmine Ware won in 24.82. That put her just ahead of teammate Osianna McReed (25.02) in a reverse result of the 50 free earlier in the meet where it was McReed who won by a slim .05-second margin.

McReed picked up a sprint free sweep on Saturday by topping the 100 free in

One event later, another NJCAA Record went down in another new event for the league this year: the men’s 50 fly. Nicholas Loomis won the final with a 21.63, but his 21.44 in prelims ends the meet as the official record.

Toward the end of the session, North Carolina commit Craig Emslie finished his romping through the NJCAA record books by clearing the men’s 200 breaststroke mark by more than a second. He swam 1:56.01 to beat, by a full second, the old 1993 record of Seth van Neerdan of Broward College – a program that no longer exists. Van Neerden would go on to represent the United State internationally and win 3 Pan American Games gold medals in 1995, along with a 1993 World Short Course Championships bronze.

Emslie swam only two races individually and he broke records in both the 100 and 200. His contribution was far from limited to the breaststrokes, though. He helped IRSC finish off their event sweep of the entire meet on the men’s side by leading off the team’s winning 2:58.35 in the 400 free relay with a 43.62 – the fastest split of the field.

The Indian River women would’ve competed a similar sweep, were it not for the individual efforts of one athlete: Monroe Community College’s Tamara Miller.

Miller, the only non-Pioneer to win a race, took an individual victory on each day of this four-day meet, finishing that off with a 16:51.33 in the women’s 1650 free. That was 41-seconds clear of her closest competitors.

Indian River’s Tayla Lovemore, however, did finish off a perfect meet by winning her 4th individual event (200 back – 2:02.88) and 4th relay win (400 free relay – 3:25.40) on Saturday.

Other Day 4 event winners:

  • M. 1650 free – Matt Nielsen, Indian River State College, 15:53.53
  • M. 100 free – Gavin Edrmann, IRSC, 45.26
  • M. 200 back – Danny Hartley, IRSC, 1:45.81
  • W. 200 breast – Christina Loh, IRSC, 2:15.41
  • M. 1-meter diving – Robby Costin, IRSC, 526.15

Full meet results available here.

Final Team Standings


  1. Indian River State College – 1302
  2. South Georgia State College – 612
  3. Monroe CC – 435
  4. Iowa Central CC – 433
  5. Southwestern Oregon CC – 350
  6. Lincoln College – 341
  7. Genesee CC – 185
  8. Iowa Lakes CC – 151
  9. (tie) Herkimer County CC – 107
  10. (tie) Fashion Institute of Technology – 107
  11. Jamestown CC – 50


  1. Indian River State College – 1386
  2. South Georgia State College – 635.50
  3. Iowa Central CC – 497
  4. Southwestern Oregon CC – 489.50
  5. Monroe CC – 329
  6. Lincoln College – 209
  7. Genesee CC – 204
  8. Iowa Lakes CC – 159
  9. Herkimer County CC – 126
  10. Jameston CC – 91
  11. Fashion Institute of Technology – 6

Leave a Reply

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

About Braden Keith

Braden Keith

Braden Keith is the Editor-in-Chief and a co-founder/co-owner of He first got his feet wet by building The Swimmers' Circle beginning in January 2010, and now comes to SwimSwam to use that experience and help build a new leader in the sport of swimming. Aside from his life on the InterWet, …

Read More »