Illinois Tech Men, Coe College Women Capture Liberal Arts Conference Title

by SwimSwam 0

February 16th, 2020 College, NCAA Division III


Courtesy: Illinois Tech Athletics

ELSAH, ILL.—A mountain-top view is sweet, and the Illinois Institute of Technology men’s swimming & diving squad know that feeling as they captured their second Liberal Arts Conference Championship in school history with a four-day total of 757 points at Principia College in Elsah, Illinois. The Scarlet Hawks also won the inaugural Liberal Arts Conference Championship in 2013.

Four first-place times highlighted IIT on day four. The 400 yard freestyle relay squad of Samuel KastanSeth WissenbachTyler Van Wagener and Kanoa Sawai captured a first-place time of 3:08.61. Sawai kept that momentum rolling in the 200 yard butterfly with a 1:51.01, followed by Ryan Escasa‘s second-place time of 1:55.47. Mark Klinchin (16:07.85) and Miles Thompson (16:23.30) occupied the top-two spots on the 1650 yard freestyle podium.

Samuel Kalenowski claimed gold in the 200 yard breaststroke with a 2:07.51.

The 200 yard backstroke saw Matthew Randle take third place with a 1:54.16, while Eric Zhang captured fourth place with a 1:54.95. The third-place trend stayed alive in the 100 yard freestyle when Van Wagener clocked-in a 47.83.

The Scarlet Hawks will now await their fate for the NCAA Division III Swimming & Diving Championship that is set to take place on March 18-21 in Greensboro, North Carolina.

LAC Meet Scarlet Hawks School Records

200 Yard Individual Medley

Kanoa Sawai: 1:51.82

100 Yard Backstroke

Matthew Randle: 51.54

400 Yard Medley Relay

Kastan, Ou, Randle, Sawai: 3:24.53

Leave a Reply

Want to take your swimfandom to the next level?

Subscribe to SwimSwam Magazine!