Carr Breaks Murphy’s Pac-12 Meet Record with 1:37 200 Back, #9 All-Time


Cal’s Daniel Carr made history on Saturday night at the men’s 2020 Pac-12 Championships. Carr, a junior, dropped nearly a second to win the 200 back, breaking 1:38 for the first time in 1:37.87. It was his 2nd title of the meet, as he also won the 200 IM in a lifetime best on Thursday. He was the silver medalist in the 100 back.

Carr’s Splits

  • 1st 50- 22.94
  • 2nd 50- 24.74
  • 3rd 50- 24.98
  • 4th 50- 25.21
  • Final Time- 1:37.87

Carr’s time took down the former Pac-12 Record, which stood at a 1:38.07 done by Cal’s Ryan Murphy in 2017. Murphy was a 4-time NCAA Champion in the event. He still owns the NCAA Record and is the reigning Olympic Champion in both backstrokes. Carr is now tied as the 9th fastest performer in history.


Place Swimmer Time
1 Ryan Murphy 1:35.73
2 John Shebat 1:36.42
3 Austin Katz 1:36.45
4 Ryan Lochte 1:36.81
5 Shaine Casas 1:37.20
6 Tyler Clary 1:37.58
7 Coleman Stewart 1:37.71
8 Patrick Mulcare 1:37.80
9 Daniel Carr 1:37.87
9 Arkady Vyatchanin 1:37.87

Carr is now ranked 4th in the NCAA this season. Texas A&M’s Shaine Casas leads the nation with his 1:37.20 from the SEC Championships, where he broke Ryan Lochte’s Meet Record. Austin Katz of Texas, the 2018 NCAA Champion in this event, is 2nd with his season best 1:37.35. NC State’s Coleman Stewart is 3rd in 1:37.71 after setting the ACC Record last week.

In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

About Lauren Neidigh

Lauren Neidigh

Lauren Neidigh is a former NCAA swimmer at the University of Arizona (2013-2015) and the University of Florida (2011-2013). While her college swimming career left a bit to be desired, her Snapchat chin selfies and hot takes on Twitter do not disappoint. She's also a high school graduate of The …

Read More »