2017 NCAA Division III Men: Day 1 Finals Live Recap

Division III Men’s Swimming and Diving Championships

Men’s 500-yard Freestyle – Final

  1. Arthur Conover, SR Kenyon 4:18.35
  2. Andrew Greenhalgh, SR Johns Hopkins 4:19.66
  3. Thomas Gordon, SO Emory 4:22.69
  4. Christian Baker, SR Emory 4:24.04
  5. Robert Williams, SO Kenyon 4:28.73
  6. Mitchell Riek, SO Carnegie Mellon 4:28.87
  7. David Perez, JR Kenyon 4:30.41
  8. Henry Copses, JR Emory 4:35.19

That one of the most anticipated races of the meet took place in the first event portends good things for this weekend. Arthur Conover and Andrew Greenhalgh traded strokes for 350 yards, with Conover slightly out front, until Greenhalgh took over the lead heading into the 400 wall. He upped his tempo and tried to get out to clean water, but Conover wouldn’t let him go. Conover took off over the final 50 yards and motored home to a new NCAA Division III national record of 4:18.35. Greenhalgh also came to the wall under his previous mark with 4:19.66. Emory’s Thomas Gordon was third in 4:22.69.

Men’s 200-yard Individual Medley – Final

  1. Andrew Wilson, SR Emory 1:44.18
  2. Evan Holder, SR Johns Hopkins 1:44.90
  3. Jackson Lindell, SR Denison 1:46.28
  4. Trevor Manz, SR Kenyon 1:46.95
  5. Bouke Edskes, FR MIT 1:47.15
  6. Michael Lagieski, SR Wash U. MO 1:48.28
  7. Ian Reardon, SR Kenyon 1:48.83
  8. Kevin Van Cleave, SO Wash U. MO 1:49.02

After Evan Holder of Johns Hopkins broke the meet record in prelims with 1:45.64, and narrowly missed Andrew Wilson’s NCAA record from December, it was clear this would be a fast final. Emory’s Wilson and Holder, both seniors, did not disappoint as they took to the water in finals. Holder held a half body-length lead through the backstroke, but that wasn’t enough to keep breaststroker Wilson at bay; he out-split Holder by nearly 2 seconds over the third 50. Holder came home nearly 8/10 faster than Wilson, but ran out of pool. Both men came to the wall under the previous NCAA and meet records, with Wilson getting his name etched into the record books with his winning 1:44.18.

Jackson Lindell of Denison, who had broken Wilson’s 2015 record when he won this event with 1:46.00 last year, finished third with 1:46.28. Kenyon senior Trevor Manz edged MIT freshman Bouke Edskes for fourth.

Men’s 50-yard Freestyle – Final

  • NCAA DIII Record: 19.38 3/21/2012 Zach Turk, Kenyon
  1. Oliver Smith, JR Emory 19.55
  2. Jesse Novak, SR Rowan 19.85
  3. Ryan Boraski, SR Keene St. 20.01
  4. Ian Gaynor, SR Widener 20.08
  5. Ivan Garin, SR UC Santa Cruz 20.15
  6. Jack Englehardt, JR UW-Stevens Point 20.17
  7. Mathias Kolleck, SO Emory 20.26
  8. Joshua Tomazin, JR MIT 20.60

Defending champion Oliver Smith of Emory won with the exact same time as a year ago, 19.55. Rowan senior Jesse Novak moved up a spot from last year, finishing second behind Smith. Ryan Boraski of Keene State went 20.01 to eaer the bronze medal.

Men’s 200-yard Medley Relay – Final

  • NCAA Record: 1:26.74 2/2/16 Emory (Ono, Wilson, Baker, Smith)
  1. Emory 1:26.14
  2. Denison 1:28.89
  3. Wash U. MO 1:28.99
  4. Williams 1:29.25
  5. Johns Hopkins 1:29.38
  6. WPI 1:29.74
  7. UW-Stevens Point 1:29.96

After a fairly even backstroke leg, with the exception of Williams senior Benjamin Lin (22.01), Andrew Wilson took over from freshman Sage Ono (22.27 back leadoff) and in only a 50, put Emory out front by nearly 2 body lengths. Wilson split 23.16 on his breaststroke, 1.3 seconds faster than the next-best breast leg, and more than 2 seconds faster than the average in the championship final. Cooper Tollen went a 21.72 on the butterfly; with a 1.9-second advantage, Tollen had no trouble keeping Emory out front. Oliver Smith wrapped it up for the Eagles with a blistering 18.99 anchor, and Emory lowered their own NCAA record by .60.

Denison just touched-out Wash U, Williams, and Johns Hopkins in a thrilling finish, featuring a 19.91 anchor from junior Zachary Wagner. Carson Clear (22.52), Tiernan Foster-Smith (24.85), and Kenny Fox (21.61) were on the front end of that relay.

MIT was disqualified in the championship final.

Team Standings – Day One

1. Emory 135
2. Kenyon 103
3. Johns Hopkins 65
4. Denison 63
5. Wash U. MO 59
6. Williams 41
7. Uw-Stevens Point 37
8. Mit 31
9. Wpi 26
10. Rowan 17
10. Albion 17
12. Keene St. 16

In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of

1 Comment
oldest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
6 years ago

How many breaststroke splits have been faster than 23.16 so far this year?

About Anne Lepesant

Anne Lepesant

Anne Lepesant is the mother of four daughters, all of whom swam in college. With an undergraduate degree from Princeton (where she was an all-Ivy tennis player) and an MBA from INSEAD, she worked for many years in the financial industry, both in France and the U.S. Anne is currently …

Read More »