Tim Petri, Kaitlin Wingert Win Elite 90 Awards for Division III

The NCAA handed out its Elite 90 awards at the 2017 Division III Swimming and Diving Championships in Shenandoah, Texas, honoring Worcester Polytechnic Institute senior Tim Petri and Messiah College junior Kaitlin Wingert.

Tim Petri, Worcester Polytechnic Institute

Petri, a native of Eksjö, Sweden, is WPI’s first-ever student-athlete to win the Elite 90 award. A computer science major with a cumulative 4.0 average over his four years, he was invited to the NCAA Championships as part of WPI’s 14th-seeded 400-yard medley relay. He was also eligible to compete individually in the 100 breast and 200 breast. Petri swam in prelims on the relay, helping the Goats reach the B final. In the 100 breast he dropped .25 in prelims and finished 20th, setting a new school record in the process. In the 200, he improved by 2.15 in prelims to qualify 10th for finals, then dropped another .08 in the consolation final, lowering his own school record and earning All-America honors with his 10th-place finish.

Kaitlin Wingert, Messiah College

Wingert, an English major from Lebanon, Pennsylvania, became the first-ever Falcon, male or female, to qualify for NCAAs. She was invited to swim the 100 free and qualified for the 50 free and 100 fly as well. On Day One, Wingert dropped .79 in the 50 free to break the school record and finish 43rd overall. The following day she dropped 3.32 seconds in the fly, turning in the 34th performance  at the meet and tying the school record. On the last day of competition Wingert swam her signature event; though off her best time, she nonetheless placed 32nd overall in the 100 free.

Elite 90

The NCAA established the Elite 90 award to recognize the student-athlete with the highest cumulative GPA participating at the final championship site for each of the NCAA’s 90 championship events. (When it was first created during the 2009-10 academic year, the award was called Elite 88; since then the NCAA has added Division III Men’s Volleyball and National Collegiate Women’s Beach Volleyball, so it is now known as Elite 90.) Only sophomores, juniors, and seniors are eligible for the award.

School Year Men’s S&D Recipient Women’s S&D Recipient
2009-10 Kellen Beckwith, Jr., Olivet College Tessa Dover, Jr., Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
2010-11 Kellen Beckwith, Sr., Olivet College Tessa Dover, Sr., Claremont-Mudd Scripps
2011-12 Joseph Huyett, So., Stevens Institute of Technology Chelsea Wiese, Sr., Hope College
2012-13 Eric Hallman, Jr., University of Chicago Alex Ladd, Jr., Johns Hopkins
2013-14 Jacob Tamposi, So., Williams Haley Townsend, So., Kenyon
2014-15 Brett Stoughton, So., Calvin Margaret Guo, Jr., MIT
2015-16 Brad Brooks, Sr., McDaniel Rachel Treadway, Sr., Wisconsin-Eau Claire
2016-17 Tim Petri, Sr., Worcester Polytechnic Institute Kaitlin Wingert, Jr., Messiah College


Leave a Reply

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

About Anne Lepesant

Anne Lepesant

Anne Lepesant is the mother of four daughters, all of whom swam in college. With an undergraduate degree from Princeton (where she was an all-Ivy tennis player) and an MBA from INSEAD, she worked for many years in the financial industry, both in France and the U.S. Anne is currently …

Read More »