2017 Men’s Pac-12 Championships: Day 2 Finals Live Recap


The 2017 Men’s Pac-12 Championships in Federal Way, Washington continue tonight with finals of the 500 free, 200 IM, 50 free, and 200 free relay. Stanford will look to extend their lead in the team battle, but the Cal Bears will be fighting to move up in the ranks and close the gap.

This morning, we saw all 3 individual events topped by a freshman. Stanford’s Grant Shoults took the top seed in the 500 free this morning, and will vie for the title alongside fellow Cardinal freshman True Sweetser in the final. In the 200 IM, Arizona State’s Cameron Craig made a big statement to take the top seed, but he’ll be challenged by Cal’s Ryan Murphy and Andrew Seliskar tonight. Finally, Cal’s Pawel Sendyk will take on a stacked 50 free field that includes defending champ Sam Perry (Stanford), Dylan Carter (USC), Santo Condorelli (USC), Justin Lynch (Cal), and fellow Cal freshman Michael Jensen.


  • NCAA ‘A’ cut: 4:13.22
  • NCAA ‘B’ cut: 4:24.99
  • Conference Record: Jean Basson (2009)- 4:08.92
  • Championship Record: Cristian Quintero (2015)- 4:11.25
  1. Grant Shoults, Stanford, 4:10.67
  2. True Sweetser, Stanford, 4:14.11
  3. Reed Malone, USC, 4:14.52

Stanford freshman Grant Shoults busted out a new Pac-12 Meet Record in the 500 free, dropping a second and a half from his best time to win in 4:10.67. Shoults credited his time spent working on his walls as part of the reason for his success. He also had great closing speed, splitting a 24.32 on the last 50.

True Sweetser secured a 1-2 finish for the Stanford freshman, while defending champ Reed Malone picked up bronze for USC, stopping the Cardinal from sweeping the podium by out-touching Liam Egan (4:14.71).

MEN’S 200 IM

  • NCAA ‘A’ cut: 1:42.15
  • NCAA ‘B’ cut: 1:44.41
  • Conference Record: David Nolan (2015)- 1:39.38
  • Championship Record: David Nolan (2015)- 1:40.07
  1. Andrew Seliskar, Cal, 1:41.24
  2. Ryan Murphy, Cal, 1:42.40
  3. Abrahm DeVine, 1:42.59

Cal’s Andrew Seliskar used his breaststroke speed to break ahead of teammate Ryan Murphy and continued to extend his lead through the freestyle leg, winnign the race by over a second. Stanford’s Abrahm DeVine chased Murphy into the finish, coming up just short as Murphy took the silver and DeVine the bronze.

Arizona State’s Cameron Craig hammered home in a 23.71, but finished just off the podium with another lifetime best 1:42.75. Behind him, Stanford’s Tom Kremer (1:43.21) out-touched Cal’s Michael Thomas (1:43.31) for 5th place.


  • NCAA ‘A’ cut: 19.09
  • NCAA ‘B’ cut: 20.19
  • Conference Record: Vlad Morozov (2013)- 18.63
  • Championship Record: Brad Tandy (2014)- 18.80
  1. Pawel Sendyk, Cal, 19.17
  2. Sam Perry, Stanford, 19.30
  3. (T-3) Michael Jensen, Cal, 19.36
  4. (T-3) Justin Lynch, Cal, 19.36

Cal got 3 men onto the podium, as Pawel Sendyk reached into the wall first and Michael Jensen tied with Justin Lynch for the bronze behind Stanford’s Sam Perry. Just missing the podium by a hundredth was USC’s Santo Condorelli (19.37), followed by teammate Dylan Carter (19.40).


  • NCAA ‘A’ cut: 1:17.77
  • NCAA ‘B’ cut: 1:18.46
  • Conference Record: Cal (2009)- 1:15.13
  • Championship Record: Stanford (2009)- 1:15.54
  1. Cal- 1:16.46
  2. Stanford- 1:17.11
  3. Arizona State- 1:17.24

Cal’s Pawel Sendyk got the Bears the early lead with his 19.29 leadoff, with fellow freshman Michael Jensen taking on the 2nd leg in 18.99. Justin Lynch (19.11) and Ryan Murphy (19.07) closed for the Bears as they won it in 1:16.46. Stanford picked up the silver, highlighted by Andrew Liang‘s 19.07 on the 3rd leg, while Arizona State’s Richard Bohus popped an 18.86 on that leg to help the Sun Devils earn bronze.


  1. Stanford University               387   2. University of Southern Calif      305
  3. Univ of California, Berkeley      292   4. Arizona State University          228
  5. Arizona, University of            126   6. Utah, University of               114

In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of

oldest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
IMs for days
5 years ago

Seliskar actually stayed with Murphy on the back. 25.00 to stau ahead of a 24.92 split from Murphy’s.

bobo gigi
5 years ago

Cameron Craig and Bob Bowman

bobo gigi
5 years ago

Great swim by Shoults. I forgot to mention him several times for the US 4X200 free relay teams in the coming years. He’s for sure in the conversation with Haas, Conger, Rooney, Kibler, Walker, Malone, Craig and a few others.

Another Swim Nerd
Reply to  bobo gigi
5 years ago

Walker is perhaps the least known name on this list. Fully expecting him to shock the world in the next couple years.

5 years ago

Just wow. Shoults-sama is 2 sugoi 4 this world! He finishes a 500 free faster than I can put on my Megumin cosplay! This freshman class is just too kawaii! (^v^)

5 years ago

Shoults literally has a beard. American record watch at the end of march?

Reply to  Bobthebuilder
5 years ago

More a goatee if you watch the end of the Pac-12 video on youtube.

No medal mel
Reply to  iLikePsych
5 years ago

It’s a Van Dyke

5 years ago

Murphy taking that 50 split easy

Sean S
5 years ago

So i guess this means Murphy isn’t doing the 400 free relay. I wonder if they’ll go that route for NCAAs or if they’ll go back to the same lineup as the past few years.

E Gamble
5 years ago

Andrew Seliskar is definitely in the running to win the 200 IM at NCs.

About Lauren Neidigh

Lauren Neidigh

Lauren Neidigh is a former NCAA swimmer at the University of Arizona (2013-2015) and the University of Florida (2011-2013). While her college swimming career left a bit to be desired, her Snapchat chin selfies and hot takes on Twitter do not disappoint. She's also a high school graduate of The …

Read More »