2017 Men’s Big Ten Championships: Day 1 Finals Live Recap — Pieroni Leads off with 1:31.8


  • When: Wednesday, February 22th to Saturday, February 25th | Prelims 11am | Finals 6:30pm
  • Where: Ohio State University, Columbus, OH (Eastern Time Zone)
  • Defending Champion: Michigan Wolverines (results)
  • Live Results
  • Streaming (BTN subscription required)
  • Championship Central: here

The 2017 Big Ten Men’s Swimming and Diving Championships are set to kick off tonight in Columbus, Ohio. Swimmers will be competing in the 200 medley relay and 800 free relay. Indiana will be looking to dethrone Michigan, led by returning champions Blake Pieroni and Ian Finnerty. The Wolverines will look to defend their streak with defending champions Paul Powers, Tristan Sanders, and PJ Ransford.


  • NCAA ‘A’ cut: 1:25.05
  • NCAA ‘B’ cut: 1:25.86
  • B1G Meet Record: Michigan, 2013, 1:23.25
  1. Indiana (Bob Glover, Ian Finnerty, Vini Lanza, Ali Khalafalla): 1:23.61
  2. Michigan (Tristan Sanders, Chris Klein, Vini Tafuto, Paul Powers): 1:24.03
  3. Ohio State (Matt McHugh, Jack Barone, Noah Lense, Mossimo Chavez): 1:24.15

The Hoosiers kicked off the meet in resounding fashion, soundly defeating defending champion Michigan and coming within  few tenths of the meet record in the 200 medley relay.  The squad of Bob Glover (21.19), Ian Finnerty (23.62), Vini Lanza (20.37), and Ali Khalafalla (18.43) finished in 1:23.61, a new school record.  The Wolverines finished 2nd, as Tristan Sanders led things off in 21.67, then Chris Klein closed the gap with a 23.23, while Vini Tafuto (20.54) and Paul Powers (18.59) closed things out for an overall time of 1:24.03.  That’s actually 0.09s faster than Michigan’s winning time from last year.  The OSU men almost kept pace with Michigan.  Matt McHugh led things off in 21.20, then Jack Barone (23.40), Noah Lense (20.68), and Mossimo Chavez (18.87) kept things close, finishing 3rd in 1:24.15.



  • NCAA ‘A’ cut: 6:20.67
  • NCAA ‘B’ cut: 6:24.50
  • B1G Meet Record: Michigan, 2014, 6:09.85
  1. Indiana (Blake Pieroni, Marwan El Kamash, Anze Tavcar, Mohamed Samy): 6:11.98
  2. Wisconsin (Cannon Clifton, Ryan Stack, Matthew Hutchins, Brett Pinfold): 6:13.78
  3. Michigan (Mokhtar Al-Yamani, Felix Auboeck, Tristan Sanders, Jack Mangan): 6:14.00

Junior Blake Pieroni scorched a 1:31.83 lead off, the fastest 200 time in the NCAA so far this year, and Indiana never looked back.  Fellow Hoosiers Marwan el Kamash (1:33.41), Anze Tavcar (1:33.54), and Mohamed Samy (1:33.20) followed Pieroni and set another new school record en route to an almost-two second victory.

Wisconsin and Michigan waged a battle for second place.  Wisconsin’s Cannon Clifton opened it up by out splitting Mokhtar Al-Yamani, 1:33.32 to 1:34.78.  The Wolverines battled back with a 1:31.74 split by Felix Auboeck against Ryan Stack’s 1:34.90.  Tristan Sanders held the lead against Matthew Hutchins, 1:34.19 to 1:33.75, and it came down to the final leg.  Wisconsin’s Brett Pinfold rocked yet another 1:31 split, outracing Jack Mangan 1:31.81 to 1:33.29, and giving Wisconsin a 2nd place finish by a 0.22 margin, 6:13.78 to 6:14.00.

In This Story

Leave a Reply

14 Comment threads
24 Thread replies
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
34 Comment authors
newest oldest most voted

live stream???


Licon 51.15 100 breast time trial. real good swim for only being partially tapered.


What does this comment have to do with this article?


Wow, IN looks good so far. Buckle your seat belt for this one. – MI may be going down this yr!! How long has it been since they WEREN’T the winners of the BIG 10????


The last time big tens were at OSU.


2010 When OSU won

Want to take your swimfandom to the next level?

Subscribe to SwimSwam Magazine!