2016 Arena Pro Swim Series – Santa Clara: Day 3 Finals Live Recap



Top 9

  1. Jessica Ashwood, Chandler, 8:18.14
  2. Miranda Heckman, Pleasanton Seahawks, 8:50.14
  3. Katy Campbell, PASA, 8:53.92
  4. Leah Stevens, Unattached, 8:54.05
  5. Daniella Hawkins, Pleasanton Seahawks, 8:59.11
  6. Francesca Bains, Woodmoor Waves, 9:07.96
  7. Cathryn Salladin, FAST, 9:08.24

Jessica Ashwood of Chandler Swim Club picked up another win tonight with a very strong 8:18.14 to easily handle the field. That’s her best time ever, and also a new Australian record.

Pleasanton Seahawks 15-year-old Miranda Heckman pulled out a 8:50.14 to touch 2nd, ahead of Katy Campbell (8:53.92) of PASA and rising Stanford sophomore Leah Stevens (8:54.05). Heckman’s teammate Daniella Hawkins, also 15, touched 5th just under 9 minutes in 8:59.11.


Top 3

  1. Caitlin Leverenz, Cal Aquatics, 2:11.65
  2. Karlee Bispo, Unattached, 2:12.64
  3. Keryn McMaster, Chandler, 2:14.04

Cal Aquatics’ Caitlin Leverenz swam well tonight, posting a 2:11.65 to win the 200 IM. She used a strong breaststroke leg to pull away from the field and then stormed home to the wall to grab the victory.

Karlee Bispo dropped nearly three seconds from prelims to touch second in 2:12.64, a very strong swim for her. Keryn McMaster, the 400 IM winner over Leverenz, swam a 2:14.04 to take third.

Kim Williams touched fourth at 2:16.61.

Despite Georgia Bohl‘s impressive breaststroke leg, Danielle Herrmann took the B final win in 2:21.96.


Top 3

  1. Thiago Pereira, Brazilian Swimming, 1:57.77
  2. Max Williamson, Unattached, 2:02.38
  3. Alex Liang, PASA, 2:04.81

Thiago Pereira did not play around, jumping out to a huge lead right off the bat. He absolutely decimated the field, swimming a very strong 1:57.77 for the win. Pereira dropped almost nine seconds from prelims.

The Brazilian Olympian touched first ahead of Max Williamson, who swam a 2:02.38 for 2nd. Williamson took four seconds off of his prelims time. Third went to PASA’s Alex Liang in 2:04.81, just ahead of Australian Jared Gilliland (2:04.85).

Winning the B final was Pleasanton Seahawks’ Lyon Zhang in 2:06.79.


Top 3

  1. Emily Seebohm, Brisbane Grammar School, 2:08.57
  2. Hillary Caldwell, Island Swimming, 2:09.94
  3. Minna Atherton, Brisbane Grammar School, 2:10.83

Australia’s Emily Seebohm completed her backstroke sweep with a 2:08.57 tonight.

She finished ahead of Canada’s Hillary Caldwell, who just snuck under the 2:10 mark in 2:09.94. The young Minna Atherton, for Brisbane Grammar, touched third in 2:10.83. Amy Bilquist went another best time with a 2:12.56 for fourth.

Janet Hu swam a 1:01.12, going for a 100 time here.

Keryn McMaster, just out of the 200 IM A final where she finished third, touched first in the B final in a 2:14.91, well ahead of the rest of the field.


Top 3

  1. Mitch Larkin, St. Peters, 1:55.38
  2. Ryan Murphy, Cal, 1:56.18
  3. Jacob Pebley, Cal, 1:56.38

Mitch Larkin got the better of the two Americans tonight, posting a 1:55.38 for the win. Ryan Murphy of Cal earned 2nd place with a 1:56.18, just ahead of Jacob Pebley in 1:56.38.

This was a pretty close race, but Larkin pulled ahead for the win. Murphy won the 100 back race last night.

Brazil’s Leonardo de Deus rolled in for fourth with a 2:01.19, ahead of Jared Gilliland in 2:01.58.


Top 3

  1. Emma McKeon, St. Peters, 53.30
  2. Brittany Elmslie, Brisbane Grammar, 53.77
  3. Simone Manuel, Unattached, 54.11

After a quick swim this morning, top seed Simone Manuel was unable to improve and fell back behind 54 seconds. She ended up third in 54.11.

St. Peters’ Emma McKeon charged to the wall in first, swimming a 53.30 for the win. Brittany Elmslie, another Australian, grabbed third in 53.77.

Dana Vollmer dropped a few hundredths from this morning, touching fourth in 54.17, just behind Manuel. Aussie Bronte Barratt grabbed fifth in 54.45, while another Aussie, Madison Wilson, was sixth in 54.78.

Madeline Groves swam a 55.48 for the B final.


Top 3

  1. James Magnussen, Ravenswood, 48.99
  2. Kyle Chalmers, Marion, 49.16
  3. Gabriel Santos, Brazilian Swimming, 49.44

With Nathan Adrian out of the final, along with Anthony Ervin and Conor DwyerJames Magnussen swam a 48.99 for the win. This is a promising sign for Magnussen, who has been hindered by shoulder injury.

Kyle Chalmers, a top Australian youngster, swam a 49.16 for 2nd. Brazilian Gabriel Santos swam a 49.44 for third.

Yuri Kisil swam a 49.69 for 4th– the Canadian touched ahead of William Copeland (49.89) and Australian Andrew Abood (49.92). Zhi Yong Qian of China grabbed 7th, also getting under 50 seconds in 49.95.

Markus Thormeyer swam a 49.95 to win the B final of the 100 free. Thormeyer is an up-and-coming Canadian who made Canada’s Olympic team in April.


Top 3

  1. Ryan Cochrane, Island Swimming, 15:09.97
  2. Jack McLoughlin, Chandler, 15:19.15
  3. Miguel Valente, Brazilian Swimming, 15:24.43

The men’s 1500 final was all non-domestic. Canada’s Ryan Cochrane easily took the win in the men’s 1500. He swam a 15:09.97 for the victory, touching ahead of Australian Jack McLoughlin of the Chandler Swim Club. McLoughlin posted a 15:19.15 to take 2nd.

Finishing up in third was Brazilian Miguel Valente at 15:24.43, just ahead of Kecheng Wang (15:25.26). The Santa Clara Swim Club’s Aidan Burns swam a 15:31.59 to take sixth.

In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of
newest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
bobo gigi
4 years ago

No Adrian and Ervin in the 100 free. Not happy.
Murphy vs Larkin vs Pebley in the men’s 200 back. Great.
Can Simone Manuel play with Emma McKeon?

4 years ago

Hope to see something from Maggy here. No pressure, hope he lets if fly

Reply to  pvdh
4 years ago

I agree, with Maggie in form, Aussies will challenge the French & the Americans in the 4×100, if he does not fly, Aussies will be fighting from Bronze at best.

4 years ago

Dressel 22.09 in tennesse

About Karl Ortegon

Karl Ortegon

Karl Ortegon studied sociology at Wesleyan University in Middletown, CT, graduating in May of 2018. He began swimming on a club team in first grade and swam four years for Wesleyan.

Read More »