2015 FINA World Championships: Day 8 Finals Live Recap



  • 2013 World Champion: Camille Lacourt, FRA – 24.42
  • World Record: 24.04 – Liam Tancock, GBR – 2009
  • Championship Record: 24.04 – Liam Tancock, GBR – 2009

GOLD: Camille Lacourt, FRA – 24.23
SILVER: Matt Grevers, USA – 24.61
BRONZE: Ben Treffers, AUS – 24.69

Camille Lacourt was able to defend his World Title with an improved time of 24.23, winning for the second consecutive time. Matt Grevers won the Silver medal with his time of 24.61, and Ben Treffers picked up the Bronze for Australia.

Mitchell Larkin was .01 away from joining Laszlo Zseh as a medalist in all three events of the stroke. He finished fourth to his teammate with a time of 24.70.

Vladamir Morozov and Lavrans Solli finished fifth and sixth at 24.73 and 24.84.  Liam Tancock and David Plummer rounded out the final at 24.88 and 24.95.

PDF Results


  • 2013 World Champion: Yuliya Efimova, RUS – 29.52
  • World Record: 29.48 – Ruta Meilutyte, LTU – 2013
  • Championship Record: 29.48 – Ruta Meilutyte, LTU – 2013

GOLD: Jennie Johansson, SWE – 30.05
SILVER: Alia Atkinson, JAM – 30.11
BRONZE: Yuilya Efimova, RUS – 30.13

Sweden’s Jennie Johansson upset the field, winning the World title in the women’s 50 freestyle with her time of 30.05. She touched just ahead of the Silver medalist, Alia Atkinson. Atkinson finished second at 30.11 and Yuliya Efimova won the Bronze with a 30.13.

The World Record holder Ruta Meilutyte just missed the podium by .o1 with her time of 30.14. Jessica Hardy picked up fifth place at 30.20. Suo Ran was the final swimmer to finish under 31 seconds with her time of 30.74.

Hrafnhildur Luthersdottir and Mariia Liver rounded out the final at 31.12 and 31.14.

PDF Results


  • 2013 World Champion: Daiya Seto, JPN – 4:08.69
  • World Record: 4:03.84 – Michael Phelps, USA – 2008
  • Championship Record: 4:06.22 – Michael Phelps, USA – 2007

GOLD: Daiya Seto, JPN – 4:08.50
SILVER: David Verraszto, HUN – 4:09.90
BRONZE: Chase Kalisz, USA – 4:10.05

Daiya Seto of Japan improved his time from two years ago to win gold in the men’s 400 IM with a 4:08.50. David Verraszto picked up the silver medal at 4:09.90 and Chase Kalisz snagged the bronze with a 4:10.05.

Tyler Clary finished his meet without a medal, finishing fourth at 4:11.71. Jacob Heidtmann finished behind him in fifth with a 4:12.08.

Dan Wallace and Roberto Pavoni finished together in sixth and seventh with 4:13’s, and Yang Zhixian topped off the final with a 4:16.74.  

PDF Results


  • 2013 World Champion: Ranomi Kromowidjojo, NED – 24.05
  • World Record: 23.73 – Britta Steffen, GER – 2009
  • Championship Record: 23.73 – Britta Steffen, GER – 2009

GOLD: Bronte Campbell, AUS – 24.12
SILVER: Ranomi Kromowidjojo, NED – 24.22
BRONZE: Sarah Sjostrom, SWE – 24.31

Bronte Campbell completed the sweep of the sprint freestyle races, winning the 100 the other day and now the 40 freestyle. She got her hand on the wall first to win with her time of 24.12, keeping the World Championship Title in the family. Ranomi Kromowidjojo won the silver medal with a 24.22, and Sarah Sjostrom added a Bronze medal with her time of 24.31.

The 2013 World Champion Cate Campbell just missed the podium with a 24.36.

Chantal Van Landeghem broke the Canadian record, finishing in fifth place at 24.39. Ariana Vanderpool-Wallace picked up sixth at 24.44.

The final was rounded out by Fran Halsall and Simone Manuel with 24.5’s.

PDF Results


  • 2013 World Champion: Sun Yang, CHN – 14:41.15
  • World Record: 14:31.02– Sun Yang, CHN – 2012
  • Championship Record: 14:34.14 – Sun Yang, CHN – 2011

GOLD: Gregorio Paltrinieri, ITA – 14:39.67
SILVER: Connor Jaeger, USA – 14:41.20
BRONZE: Ryan Cochrane, CAN – 14:51.08

Gregorio Paltrinieri carned the World Championship title in the men’s 1500 freestyle, breaking the European Record for the Gold medal with his time of 14L39.67. Connor Jaeger broke the American record, earning the silver medal with his time of 14:41.20. The final medal went to Ryan Cochrane of Canada with his time of 14:51.08.

This final was different than most with only seven participants. FINA told the media that the riegning World Champion Sun Yang had to pull out of the final due to a heart problem.

Akram Ahmed just missed the podium with his time of 14:53.66, and Stephen Milne finished fifth at 14:58.62 as the final swimmer under 15 minutes.

Michael McBroom and Mykhailo Romanchuk were the final two swimmers to reach the wall at 15:06 and 15:09.

PDF Results


  • 2013 World Champion: Katinka Hosszu, HUN – 4:30.41
  • World Record: 4:28.43 – Ye Shiwen, CHN – 2012
  • Championship Record: 4:30.31 – Katinka Hosszu, HUN – 2009

GOLD: Katinka Hosszu, HUN – 4:30.39
SILVER: Maya DiRado, USA – 4:31.71
BRONZE: Emily Overholt, CAN – 4:32.52

Katinka Hosszu looked great during the 400 IM and was under world record pace for a majority of the way, but she fell off World record pace slightly during the final 100 meters. She claimed the gold medal with a 4:30.39. Maya DiRado of the United States finished second, earning the silver medal with a 4:31.71, and Emily Overholt won the Bronze with a 4:32.52.

Hannah Miley and Barbora Zavadova finished fourth and fifth at 4:34 and 4:36, while Sakiko Shimizu, Aimee Wllmott, and Lara Grangeon rounded out the final.

PDF Results


  • 2013 World Champion: FRA – 3:31.51
  • World Record: 3:27.28 – USA – 2009
  • Championship Record: 3:27.28 – USA – 2009

GOLD: United States – 3:29.93
SILVER: Australia – 3:30.08
BRONZE: France – 3:30.50

The United States relay of Ryan Murphy, Kevin Cordes, Tom Shields, and Nathan Adrian combined to win Gold in the men’s 4×100 medley relay, holding off Australia and France.


  • Murphy – 53.05
  • Cordes – 58.88
  • Shields – 50.59
  • Adrian – 47.41

There were several big splits from the rest of the field, as well. Adam Peaty had the fastest breaststroke split with a 57.74, while Cameron McEvoy nearly ran down Nathan Adrian with a 46.60 freestyle split.

PDF Results


  • 2013 World Champion: USA – 3:53.23
  • World Record: 3:52.05 – USA – 2012
  • Championship Record: 3:52.19 – CHN – 2009

GOLD: China – 3:54.41
SILVER: Sweden – 3:55.24
BRONZE: Australia – 3:55.56

The Chinese relay team of Fu Yuanhui, Shi Jinglin, Lu Ying, and Shen Duo combined to win the final Gold medal of the 2015 FINA World Championships. They posted a winning time of 3:54.41, holding of Sweden and Australia at 3:55’s.


  • Fu – 59.29
  • Shi – 1:05.56
  • Lu – 56.56
  • Shen – 53.00

Bronte Campbell had a big split on the end of Australia’s relay. She closed the relay in a 51.78.

PDF Results

In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of
newest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
5 years ago

Murphy leading off the medley

Reply to  Zanna
5 years ago

better not hit the lane lines and pop a 52 mid

5 years ago

Murphy, Cordes, Shields and Adrian in relay

Reply to  Zanna
5 years ago

Excellent !!!! Finals start in 8 minutes !

Reply to  Zanna
5 years ago

Should be a formidable squad.

Reply to  mcgillrocks
5 years ago

Usa has not had such a young team in a medley realy for a while ! Perfect

5 years ago

Is there a live stream link??

About Tony Carroll

Tony Carroll

The writer formerly known as "Troy Gennaro", better known as Tony Carroll, has been working with SwimSwam since April of 2013. Tony grew up in northern Indiana and started swimming in 2003 when his dad forced him to join the local swim team. Reluctantly, he joined on the condition that …

Read More »