2019 Big Ten Men’s Championships: Day 4 Prelims Live Recap


IU continues to look strong as they head into the final day of competition. Hoosiers Gabriel FantoniZach AppleIan Finnerty, and Vini Lanza all look to contend for their 2nd wins at this meet.

Minnesota’s Bowen Becker, who won the 50 free on Thursday, also looks to contend for a second win in the 100 free. While IU has Finnerty in the 200 breast, Michigan has 6 Wolverines in the top seeds in the event, led by 400 IM champ Charlie Swanson.

Miles Smachlo, after winning the 100 fly on Friday, is another contender in the 200 fly against B1G record holder Lanza.


1. Indiana               1144   
2. Michigan              1026
3. Ohio State            823   
4. Purdue                501
5. Minnesota             455.5   
6. Penn State            397
7. Wisconsin             393.5   
8. Iowa                  359
9. Northwestern          267  
10. Michigan State       161


  • Meet Record: 1:38.89, Eric Ress- 2014
  • Pool Record: 1:36.77, Ryan Murphy- 2015
  • Estimated NCAA Invite Time: 1:41.01

Top 8 Qualifiers:

  1. Gabriel Fantoni (IU)- 1:40.82
  2. Cameron Tysoe (Wisconsin)- 1:41.48
  3. Kai Williams (Michigan)- 1:41.83
  4. Joseph Young (Purdue)- 1:41.93
  5. Mohamed Samy (IU)- 1:41.95
  6. Jacob Steele (IU)- 1:42.11
  7. Kenneth Mende (Iowa)- 1:42.15
  8. Timothy Barth (Purdue) -1:42.37

Looking strong for a backstroke sweep is Gabriel Fantoni, who was the only swimmer under the 1:41 mark. Joining Fantoni for the Hoosiers is Mohamed Samy and Jacob Steele, who were top 8 finalists in the 100 back on Friday.

Purdue scored 2 A-final points from Joseph Young, 4th in the 100 back, and Timothy Barth. Kai Williams also snuck in for the Wolverines. Along with Williams, Michigan has 1 up, 1 mid, and 2 down swimmers in the 200 back.


  • Meet Record: 41.43, Blake Pieroni- 2018
  • Pool Record: 41.56, Kristian Gkolomeev- 2015
  • Estimated NCAA Invite Time: 42.63

Top 8 Qualifiers

  1. Bowen Becker (Minnesota)- 41.53
  2. Zach Apple (IU)- 41.81
  3. Bruno Blaskovic (IU)- 42.22
  4. Andrew Loy (OSU)- 42.48
  5. Ruslan Gaziev (OSU)- 42.51
  6. Jack Smith (Iowa)- 42.80
  7. Luiz Borges (Michigan)- 42.81
  8. Gabriel Castano (Penn State)- 43.07

Bowen Becker continues his sprint statement with an Iowa pool record and A cut time of 41.53, just chipping the 2015 mark set in 2015 by Kristian Gkolomeev. Zach Apple also swam an A cut of 41.81. Those times are now #2 and #6 respectively in the NCAA. Stay tuned for Becker and Apple as they will face off next to each other tonight for a second victory of the meet.

Also repping the Hoosiers was Bruno Blaskovic, who was a member of the B1G record-setting 200 free relay from Friday. Luiz Borges, runner-up in the 50 free on Thursday, also snuck in for the Wolverines. Ohio State also returned Andrew Loy, 200 IM runner-up, and Ruslan Gaziev for the A-final tonight.


  • Meet Record: 1:50.78, Ian Finnerty– 2018
  • Pool Record: 1:49.48, Will Licon- 2015
  • Estimated NCAA Invite Time: 1:54.28

Top 8 Qualifiers:

  1. Max McHugh (Minnesota)- 1:52.73
  2. Ian Finnerty (IU)- 1:53.28
  3. Paul DeLakis (OSU)- 1:53.88
  4. Charlie Swanson (Michigan)- 1:53.91
  5. Zane Backes (IU)- 1:54.09
  6. Jeremy Babinet (Michigan)- 1:54.26
  7. Jason Mathews (OSU)- 1:54.35
  8. Gary Kostbade (IU)- 1:54.47

After finishing runner-up in the sprint 100 breaststroke, his specialty, Minnesota freshman Max McHugh stole the top spot in prelims in the 200 breast. He was the only swimmer in the session to hit an NCAA A cut. McHugh now ranks #5 in the NCAA.

Defending NCAA Champion and B1G meet record-holder Ian Finnerty cruised to a 1:53.28, which is currently #8 in the NCAA this year. Charlie Swanson returned to the top 8 tonight with a 1:53.91, just tenths slower than his mid-season time.

Paul DeLakis, 200 free runner-up, was joined by Ohio State teammate Jason Mathews in the top final as well.


  • Meet Record: 1:39.95, Vini Lanza– 2018
  • Pool Record: 1:39.62, Joseph Schooling- 2015
  • Estimated NCAA Invite Time: 1:42.37
  1. Vini Lanza (IU)- 1:41.46
  2. Noah Lense (OSU)- 1:42.05
  3. Van Mathias (IU)- 1:42.30
  4. Henrique Painhas (OSU)- 1:42.33
  5. Corey Gambardella (IU)- 1:42.67
  6. Miles Smachlo (Michigan)- 1:42.95
  7. Michael Salazar (OSU)- 1:44.25
  8. Joe Milinovich (Wisconsin)- 1:44.27

Looking for his first fly title of the meet is IU’s Vini Lanza, who is now #8 in the NCAA this year. Finishing behind Lanza is Ohio State’s Noah Lense, who finished third behind Lanza in the 100 fly on Friday. 100 fly champ Miles Smachlo, who went the top time in the NCAA this year with a 44.82, crusied to 6th in prelims. Smachlo was 1:41.84 at mid-season this season, however.

Joining Lanza to represent the Hoosiers is Van Mathias and Corey Gambardella while Ohio State also scored Henrique Painhas and Michael Salazar. 400 IM finalist Joe Milinovich also snuck into the 200 fly A final.

In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of

oldest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
3 years ago

Becker has no measurable chance against the DUDE MR Apple tonight. It would be like Mike Bottom trying to out swim Dean Farris…Dean just tweeted a shout out to IU for the great win at this meet….WOW..he is the real deal.

Swim Addict
3 years ago

Max McHugh was not 4th in the 400 IM

3 years ago


3 years ago

Smachlo will be looking for the 100/200 Fly double today too.

About Nick Pecoraro

Nick Pecoraro

Nick Pecoraro started swimming at age 11, instantly becoming drawn to the sport. He was a breaststroker and IMer when competing. After joining SwimSwam, the site has become an outlet for him to research and learn about competitive swimming and experience the sport through a new lenses. He graduated in …

Read More »