2015 Arena Pro Swim Charlotte: Day 4 Prelims Live Recap


The fourth and final day of competition in Charlotte features the 200 IM, 200 backstroke, 50 breaststroke, 100 freestyle, the women’s 800 freestyle and the men’s 1500 freestyle.

Women’s 200 IM – Prelims

Katinka Hosszu will be competing for her fifth individual victory of the weekend during finals tonight. She claimed the top seed in the women’s 200 IM with her time of 2:13.33. Melanie Margalis looked really strong, however, posting the second fastest time of the morning at 2:13.40.

Qualifying third and fourth was Caitlin Leverenz and Kirsty Coventry. Leverenz looked very smooth this morning, finishing with a 2:14.11, and Coventry was right behind her in the same heat. Coventry was just off her seed time this morning with a 2:15.04.

Joining them in finals will most likely be Hali Flickinger, Kathleen Baker, Tanja Kylliainen, and Katie Meili.

Men’s 200 IM – Prelims

The men’s 200 IM was a bit slow until the final heat of the A flight. There was a four man race to win the final heat, but it was Ryan Lochte who got his hand on the wall first to claim the top seed with his time of 2:01.89. The three that finished behind Lochte in the final heat will also be seeded 3-4-5 tonight in the final. Josh Prenot was second with a 2:02.03, Andrew Seliskar was third at 2:02.04, and Conor Dwyer was 2:02.05.

Gunnar Bentz had a fantastic final 50 to win the first seeded heat with a 2:01.99. He will be the second seed in tonight’s final. Thiago Pereira was just behind him (although I don’t have his final time at the moment), which would likely bump Phelps out of the final. Even though Pereira is most likely in, it probably doesn’t mean much because he has scratched finals every day so far this meet. It is unlikely he will swim tonight in finals.

Chase Kalisz and Kyle Whitaker passed Michael Phelps in the breaststroke leg, finishing first and second in the sixth heat. Kalisz is seeded 6th (or 7th) at 2:02.36, Whitaker is 7th (0r 8th) at 2:03.01, and Phelps is 7th (or 9th) at 2:03.06.

Women’s 200 Backstroke – Prelims

With a statement swim, Katinka Hosszu tied the fifth fastest time in the world in the women’s 200 backstroke at 2:08.32 to claim the top seed. That swim is close to a two second drop from her previous season best of 2:10.03.

2014-2015 LCM Women 200 Back

4Daria K
View Top 26»

Dominique Bouchard qualified second with her time of 2:11.90. She was just ahead of Hali Flickinger and Clara Smiddy, who qualified 3rd and 4th with 2:12’s.

Erin Voss posted the fifth fastest time of the morning at 2:13.01, and Allie Szekely was sixth at 2:13.39. Szekely made a name for herself as an um-and-coming breaststroker at the 2012 Olympic Trails. Since then she has shied away from the breaststroke events and has developed as a backstroker.

Hannah Moore and Melanie Margalis will also be joining them in the A final.

Men’s 200 Backstroke – Prelims

Tyler Clary had his best swim of the weekend this morning, earning the top seed of the men’s 200 backstroke with his time of 2:00.14. Jack Conger, Omar Pinzon, and Jonathan Roberts were all just off his time at 2:00’s as well.

Joe Patching finished fifth at 2:01.06, just ahead of Ryan Lochte who finished sixth at 2:01.48.

Arkady Vyatchanin and Tristan Sanders will be the last two A finalists at 2:01.69 and 2:02.69, respectively.

Women’s 50 Breaststroke – Prelims

Alia Atkinson got an early lead in the women’s 50 breaststroke which proved to be too much for Jessica Hardy. Atkinson posted the fastest time of the morning, and the fifth fastest time in the world this year at 30.72. Hardy was running her down towards the end of the race but ran out of room. She was second at 31.04 with the 11th fastest time in the world this year.

2014-2015 LCM Women 50 Breast

View Top 27»

The winner of the women’s 100 breaststroke, Katie Meili, qualified third with her time of 31.08. Her time will stand as the 14th fastest in the world this year.

Breeja Larson and Molly Hannis finished fourth and fifth, just behind Meili. Larson was 31.11 and Hannis was 31.16.

The sixth spot went to Andrea Cottrell at 31.69. She was followed by Lilly King in seventh at 31.90 and Hilda Luthersdottir in eighth at 31.99.

Men’s 50 Breaststroke – Prelims

Richard Funk posted the top time of the morning with a 27.76. He was just ahead of Felipe Lima who qualified second at 27.90. Lima currently has the 7th fastest time in the world from the Maria Lenk Trophy in April at 27.31.

Cody Miller has been swimming well. He qualified third at 27.91, and was the third and final swimmer to break 28 seconds. Brendan McHugh, the 2014 National Champion in this event, tied for fourth with a 28.11. Rostyslav Fedyna was also 28.11.

Zach Hayden and Youssef El Kamash finished sixth and seventh with 28.3’s, hwile Jorge Murillo Valdes picked up eighth at 28.63.

SwimSwam’s senior reporter, Jared Anderson, was .01 outside of 8th place with a 28.64.

Women’s 100 Freestyle – Prelims

Natalie Coughlin was about a half second off of her time from Mesa with a 54.67. She posted the fastest time of the morning and will be the top seed. The only other swimmer in the field to break 55 seconds was Chantal Van Landeghem with her time of 54.99.

Ariana Vanderpool-Wallace is sitting comfortably in third at 55.28, and has a lot of momentum from two event wins last night. Sandrine Mainville and Shannon Vreeland are fourth and fifth at 55.41 and 55.54, respectively.

Amanda Kendall dropped slightly from her seed to qualify sixth at 55.72. She was just ahead of Penny Oleksiak in seventh at 55.81.

Kelsi Worrell posted a best time to earn the last spot in the A final at 55.83. She was entered with a 56.06.

Men’s 100 Freestyle – Prelims

Nathan Adrian posted the fastest time of the morning to earn the top seed in the men’s 100 freestyle. He looked really easy towards the end of his swim and should have much more in the tank for his swim tonight. Marco Orsi was second with a 49.34, followed by Joao De Lucca in third at 49.41.

Luca Dotto and Marcelo Chierighini were fourth and fifth with 49.6’s, while Josh Schneider, the winner of the men’s 50 freestyle, picked up sixth at 49.78.

Cesar Cielo and Geoff Cheah were the final two A final qualifiers. The top 8 swimmers were all under 50 seconds this morning .

In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of
newest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
6 years ago

video working for anyone?

6 years ago

9:02 and no working live feed?

bobo gigi
6 years ago

Last day of the meet.
MP double 200 IM/100 free
Lochte triple 200 IM/200 back/100 free!
Hosszu vs Margalis vs Leverenz vs Baker in the 200 IM
Hosszu vs Smiddy vs Bouchard in the 200 back
Hardy vs Atkinson vs Meili in the 50 breast
AVW vs Coughlin vs Van Landeghem in the 100 free
Orsi vs Adrian vs Cielo in the 100 free

About Tony Carroll

Tony Carroll

The writer formerly known as "Troy Gennaro", better known as Tony Carroll, has been working with SwimSwam since April of 2013. Tony grew up in northern Indiana and started swimming in 2003 when his dad forced him to join the local swim team. Reluctantly, he joined on the condition that …

Read More »