Rio 2016 Day 1 Scratch Report: Vanderpool-Wallace Drops 100 Butterfly

2016 Rio Olympic Games

We reported a few days ago that Inge Dekker of the Netherlands is dropping the 100 fly for today, and the Bahamas’ Arianna Vanderpool-Wallace is joining her in scratching the event. Vanderpool-Wallace only made a B standard in the event (58.87), and she likely would rather focus on her sprint free events, especially the 50, where she is a finals and medal threat.

Also scratching an event this morning is New Zealand’s FINA A qualifier Matt Stanley, who is now out of the 400 free where he came in with 3:49.01. He still has the 200 free and 100 free on his Olympic schedule.

Slovenia’s  Anja Klinar has dropped the 400 IM, where she came in with a FINA A time of 4:38.39. Klinar still has the 200 fly, 4×200 relay, and 800 free on her plate for the week.

Today’s’s prelims will feature the men’s 400 IM, the women’s 100 fly, the men’s 400 free, the women’s 400 IM, the men’s 100 breast, and the women’s 4×100 free relay. Prelims will start at 1:00 pm Brazil local time, 12:00 pm Eastern, 11:00 am Central.

In This Story

Leave a Reply

1 Comment on "Rio 2016 Day 1 Scratch Report: Vanderpool-Wallace Drops 100 Butterfly"

Sort by:   newest | oldest | most voted
team Rwanda

You mean this afternoon prelims…

About Hannah Hecht

Hannah Hecht

Hannah Hecht grew up in Kansas and spent most of her childhood trying to convince coaches to let her swim backstroke in freestyle sets. She took her passion to Morningside College in Sioux City, Iowa and swam at NAIA Nationals all four years. After graduating in 2015, she moved to …

Read More »