Ohio State DQ’ed From 200 Medley Relay 24 Hours Later at Big Tens

2018 WOMEN’S B1G TEN CHAMPIONSHIPS

There was a bit of controversy at the beginning of the Women’s B1G Championships concerning the Ohio State 200 medley relay. While reaction times showed that both Michigan and Ohio State’s 200 medley relays should have been disqualified, points were awarded to OSU for that relay, while the Michigan relay was still disqualified and awarded no points.

The live results show that the OSU breaststroker Hanna Gresser registered a -.09 exchange, while Michigan anchor Daria Pyshnenko was -.06 on her exchange. Read the NCAA rules on relay disqualification below, from Article 6c (page 41 of the rulebook):

If the electronic relay takeoff equipment detects an exchange differential (takeoff pad time minus finish pad time) of –0.09 through +0.09 second inclusive from the manufacturer’s starting point, the decision(s) of the human judge(s) shall not be considered. The determination of the electronic relay takeoff equipment shall be official, with exchange differential of –0.09 through –0.01 second from the manufacturer’s starting point indicating a rules violation and values of 0.00 through +0.09 second indicating a legitimate relay exchange.

According to this rule, both relays should have been disqualified, without the ability for an official to overrule, unless there was evidence (per a video review) that the touch pads/electronic takeoff equipment were faulty.

There was some confusion and various stories floating around on deck about the DQ against OSU not ending up being counted, which would be a 54 point swing in the Buckeyes’ favor. The Big Ten issued a statement, seen below, stating that while the OSU relay was disqualified Wednesday night, the “disqualification was not administered correctly.” The championship committee then voted to officially enforce the disqualification on Thursday afternoon, meaning that both the Michigan and OSU 200 medley relays from Wednesday night will both be disqualified in accordince with NCAA rules and the relay exchange times noted in the live results.

BIG TEN STATEMENT:

During the 200-medley relay at the Big Ten Women’s Swimming & Diving Championships on Wednesday night, Ohio State’s relay was disqualified by the technology on site but the disqualification was not administered correctly. After a review of NCAA and Big Ten policies, the championship committee voted on Thursday afternoon to enforce the disqualification from the relay. 

The decision is final and team scores have been adjusted accordingly.

This week’s Big Ten Championships are currently being held at the McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion at Ohio State University.

34
Leave a Reply

9 Comment threads
25 Thread replies
0 Followers
 
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
19 Comment authors
newest oldest most voted
Steve Nolan

Ooh, this could inspire some hot taeks.

I’ll hang up and listen.

Hahaha

Hmm. It’s funny to me that the committee decided to go back a full 24 hours later and make this change… human error is part of the game, you can’t go back a full 24 hours later in any sport, if that were the case then what’s the point of having human officials. That’s just not how it works (and the rules say 15 minutes btw). Imagine if we went back days later in the superbowl and decided a TD was incomplete, is it right to take away the win? No of course not, it was human error on the call. In this occasion, the human error worked in favor for OSU. And Michigan got the DQ. This is taking… Read more »

Hahaha – that’s actually not true. In every sport, they can go back and review administrative errors. They cannot go back and review and change human errors. In this case, it’s what is defined in the sports world as an “administrative error.” For example, if a player was removed from an NBA game for 6 fouls, but they had only committed 5, and they protested, the rest of the game would be replayed if correct. This exact thing actually happened in an NBA game in 2008: http://www.espn.com/nba/news/story?id=3192421 There’s not a common equivalent in the NFL, and I’m not an expert on the nuance of NFL rules, but if, for example, an official administered a 10 yard penalty on a false… Read more »

Hahaha

Let’s not forget about the 15 minute overturn rule…

This is true. We don’t know – and nobody is saying – whether the appeal was written within the 15 minute rule.

Hahaha

Regardless of when the appeal was written, there is a distinct rule in the handbook stating that it must be settled by the end of the session of which the race being contested was swum. Meaning that no matter what, it cannot be overturned any later than Wednesday night. (Which it was)

Right Dude Here

Big if true

anon

Do people really want to win because of human error? Should others lose because of human error? At least the NFL has instant replays. Nobody wants to be cheated. So they lost a third place medal they didn’t deserve. I’ll bet the fourth place team is ecstatic.

honestly

Thank god that the article clarified the dq as I had originally thought that they were dq’d for having a steroid user Chinese national on the relay.

SVIRD

What a hateful and prejudiced comment. Go away.

ex quaker

I don’t think it’s fair to call it prejudiced considering Li has actually tested positive before and the Chinese have a strong history of systematic doping policy.

meeeeee

No human is illegal

ex quaker

Sure, but in the world of sports, performance enhancing drugs are.

About Karl Ortegon

Karl Ortegon

Karl Ortegon studied sociology at Wesleyan University in Middletown, CT, graduating in May of 2018. He began swimming on a club team in first grade and swam four years for Wesleyan.

Read More »

Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!