MacNeil Earns Another Honor, Wins Big Ten Swimmer of the Meet

by Jack McCormick 0

February 23rd, 2020 Big Ten, College, News


Following a championship draught that dated back to the 1985-86 season, Ohio State emerged victorious at the 2020 Women’s Big Ten Swimming and Diving Championships. They built a commanding meet throughout the meet, eventually winning by nearly 200 points.

After the conclusion of the meet, three awards were handed out. These awards honored the Swimmer of the Meet, Freshman of the Meet, and Diver of the meet.

The swimmer of the meet honor was awarded to Maggie MacNeil. She was dominant in the sprint races, finishing first in the 50 free, 100 free, and 100 fly, as well as leading Michigan to 1st in the 400 free relay and 2nd in the 200 free relay. Along the way she swam to Big Ten Championship records in both the 100 free and fly. Her time in the 100 free was also a conference record in the event. Both of these swims were below the automatic qualifying standard for the NCAA Championships. MacNeil currently ranks first in the nation in the 100 fly this season.

Joining MacNeil as a conference honoree was fellow Michigan swimmer Kaitlynn Sims, winner of the Big Ten Freshman of the Year award. Sims had an excellent showing in the distance events in her first collegiate season. She finished 4th in the 500 free, falling just .3 off the winner and taking almost two seconds off of the time she had swum in prelims. Along with that took 3rd in the 1650 free, shaving 2 seconds off her best time from last fall. She also led off Michigan’s 800 free relay that finished 3rd.

On the diving side, Emily Bretscher, a junior from Purdue, was honored as the Big Ten Diver of the Meet. Bretscher had a strong showing across her three competitions. Her best finish was on the 3-meter, where she finished in 1st after entering finals in 7th place. She finished 3rd on the 1-meter and 6th in platform diving as well.

As well as these honors, the Big Ten also named their All-Big Ten Teams as well as Sportmanship Awards.

First Team All-Big Ten

Cora Dupre, Indiana
Olivia Carter, Michigan
Maggie MacNeil, Michigan
Claire Maiocco, Michigan
Daria Pyshnenko, Michigan
Miranda Tucker, Michigan
Markie Hopkins, Northwestern
Calypso Sheridan, Northwestern
Mackenzie Crawford, Ohio State
Kathrin Delmer, Ohio State
Amy Fulmer, Ohio State
Lucija Jurkovic Perisa, Ohio State
Molly Kowal, Ohio State
Taylor Petrak, Ohio State
Freya Rayner, Ohio State
Emily Bretscher, Purdue
Megan Doty, Wisconsin
Lillie Hosack, Wisconsin
Beata Nelson, Wisconsin
Alana Palmer, Wisconsin

Second Team All-Big Ten

Cassy Jernberg, Indiana
Emily Weiss, Indiana
Vanessa Krause, Michigan
Victoria Kwan, Michigan
Sierra Schmidt, Michigan
Joy Zhu, Minnesota
Emma Lepisova, Northwestern
Hannah Bach, Ohio State
Rebekah Bradley, Ohio State
Katherine Trace, Ohio State
Georgia White, Ohio State
Maycey Vieta, Purdue
Tereza Grusova, Rutgers
Kelsi Artim, Wisconsin

Sportsmanship Awards

Abigail Cabush, Illinois
Josie Grote, Indiana
Kelsey Drake, Iowa
Jacqui Schafer, Michigan
Claire Schenden, Michigan State
Patricia Van Law, Minnesota
Rachel Powers, Nebraska
Malorie Han, Northwestern
Laura Banks, Ohio State
Maddie Hart, Penn State
Emily Bretscher, Purdue
Francesca Bertotto, Rutgers
Kendall Smith, Wisconsin

In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments