Lilly King Non-Simultaneous Touch DQs Dominant Cali Condors Relay

2021 INTERNATIONAL SWIMMING LEAGUE – SEASON 3, MATCH 18 – LEAGUE FINAL

A huge disqualification rocked the end of day 1 of the 2021 International Swimming League finale.

Cali Condors breaststroker Lilly King was called for a “one-handed turn” at the 75 meter mark of the women’s 400 medley relay final, according to television announces. That’s a race that the Condors won comfortably before the disqualification. What would have been a 38-point result for Cali wound up being just 6 points, and Cali jumped from 20 points to 38. That means a 50 point swing on the disqualification.

King has been disqualified for a one hand touch at a major meet before: at the 2019 World Championships, King was disqualified in prelims of the 200 breast for a “non-simultaneous” touch, which means essentially the same thing. The video showed a close call, but King ultimately agreed that the call was correct.

In breaststroke, swimmers are required to touch the wall with two hands “simultaneously.” The text of the rule:

At each turn and at the finish of the race, the touch shall be made with both hands separated and simultaneously at, above, or below the water level.

The touch is not required to be side-by-side, or at the same level of the wall, but to the judgement of the official, has to be “simultaneous,” which in the most literal interpretation of the word is essentially impossible.

The ISL did implement a video review system this year to overturn disqualifications, but that review system, by rule, can only be used to overturn issues of relay exchanges or false starts. We have, however, seen disqualifications overturned after the session anyway.

ISL has not yet posted a video of the race. After the session, a conversation between the television analysts said they could not see it on camera replays – though as Rowdy Gaines pointed out, the official had good positioning to make the call.

The Cali Condors had massive momentum coming out of that relay that was brought to a screeching halt with the disqualification. What could have been a Cali 29-point lead is instead an Energy Standard 21-point lead.

Standings after Day 1 of the Final:

  1. Energy Standard – 271
  2. Cali Condors – 250
  3. London Roar – 206
  4. LA Current – 171

In This Story

34
Leave a Reply

Subscribe
Notify of
34 Comments
oldest
newest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
DutchDolphin
1 month ago

The results only show a 50m time which indicates a DQ by Beata Nelson and not the breaststroker..

Wow
Reply to  DutchDolphin
1 month ago

The whole situation is suspicious.

Ol' Longhorn
Reply to  Wow
1 month ago

If Cody got DQ’d for a dolphin kick, wouldn’t be called suspicious at all. Like him, she’s just done what she’s already done in a major competition and gotten DQ’d for. She probably does it all the time and just doesn’t get called on it. Tough to touch with both hands when one of them is wagging a finger.

Coach
Reply to  Ol' Longhorn
1 month ago

You seem to have an ax to grind. It’s okay to want to hope that people learn from their mistakes.

Ol’ Longhorn
Reply to  Coach
1 month ago

It’s also ok to think old habits die hard.

Coach
Reply to  Ol’ Longhorn
1 month ago

Very fair comment. I just prefer to root for the best in people.

Steve Nolan
1 month ago

comment image

Fdoc
1 month ago

Was it King or was it Nelson? There’s no time recoded after Beata’s 50m split

Ol' Longhorn
1 month ago

DQs in breast at international meets — now especially in relays spanning both genders — seems to be a Looze specialty. Lily’s always looking for an edge. If she tried at a Worlds (whether intentionally or by poor habits), odds are she’d try it at an ISL meet, especially after she had just gotten smoked in the 50.

Eagleswim
1 month ago

I know rules are rules but if we want this sport to be popular, they need to be a little bit looser with rules like this, especially in the ISL final. It’s just not entertaining and the average viewer will have trouble understanding

Last edited 1 month ago by Eagleswim
Steve Nolan
Reply to  Eagleswim
1 month ago

The NFL really suffers by making receivers catch the ball with two feet in bounds vs college, where it’s just one foot.

Hard disagree! Just touch the wall with two hands!

Ol' Longhorn
Reply to  Eagleswim
1 month ago

Sadly, no “average viewers” are watching. It’s just us.

jamesjabc
Reply to  Eagleswim
1 month ago

Or maybe enforce the rules that actually heavily impact the race, like dolphin kicks, instead of rules that really don’t affect the race at all

Eagleswim
Reply to  jamesjabc
1 month ago

That’s why I said “rules like this”

The unoriginal Tim
1 month ago

They need to provide video evidence. This may decide the whole league. I still think Cali will win even if the DQ stands.

Ol' Longhorn
Reply to  The unoriginal Tim
1 month ago

And Dressel taking time off, not showing up remotely close to peak form, skipping his best event doesn’t decide it at all. Give me a break.

Overhead view
Reply to  The unoriginal Tim
1 month ago

The replay is up, and you can watch the 3rd turn at 1:51.23. Bad call…no other way to say it.

Dan
Reply to  The unoriginal Tim
1 month ago

I only have access to one angle of the videos, but to it does not appears to be any violation on turn 3 of the breaststroke, but from the video I can see I cannot form an opinion regarding turn 1 or 2 (but turn 2 appears to be good). In the video that I am looking at I can only see the 2nd half of Kings 1st turn.
I questioned Le Clos 15m underwater of turn 2 during the 100m Fly more than King’s turn 3.

Swimfan
1 month ago

The ISL boss made sure his team will win by corrupting officials.

Ol’ Longhorn
Reply to  Swimfan
1 month ago

And paying off Dressel.,

JFed
1 month ago

Listening to the broadcast, as soon as it happened, they said it was a Lily King DQ for a long third turn. I think they said the wrong swimmer and it was actually a long turn on the third wall for Beata Nelson. The results only showing Nelson’s first split would support that. I’d love to see some video replay of Nelson’s walls for a confirmation on that.

Barry
Reply to  JFed
1 month ago

I just watched the replay and Nelson’s turn at the 75 looks fine too. I also heard “long turn” and had no idea what that meant.

About Braden Keith

Braden Keith

Braden Keith is the Editor-in-Chief and a co-founder/co-owner of SwimSwam.com. He first got his feet wet by building The Swimmers' Circle beginning in January 2010, and now comes to SwimSwam to use that experience and help build a new leader in the sport of swimming. Aside from his life on the InterWet, …

Read More »