FFN Golden Tour: International Stars Out in Force for Third Stage in Marseille

  3 Anne Lepesant | March 05th, 2015 | Europe, International, News, Previews & Recaps

  • Dates: Friday, March 6 – Sunday, March 8, 2015
  • Prelims 9 am GMT+1 (3 am EST/12 am PST)
  • Finals 6 pm (12 pm EST/9 am PST), Sunday 4:30 pm (10:30 am EST/7:30 am PST)
  • Live Results
  • Live streaming
  • Brochure

After a stop in Nice and then Amiens, the Golden Tour is back on the road this weekend in Marseille, France, at the storied Cercle des Nageurs de Marseille, home of Florent Manaudou, Fabien Gilot, Camille Lacourt, Mehdy Metella, Frédéric Bousquet, et alia.

This stop on the four-stage tour should be the most exciting thus far, with a large complement of international stars added to the mix. For the first time in this year’s Golden Tour there will be an American contingent, as Natalie Coughlin, Nathan Adrian and Anthony Ervin join the competition.

The women’s meet will feature European standouts Mireia Belmonte Garcia, Jazmin Carlin, Inge Dekker, Melani Costa Schmidt, Katinka Hosszu, Mie Nielsen, Jeanette Ottesen, Rike Moeller Pedersen, Sharon van Rouwendaal, Elizabeth Simmonds, Sarah Sjostrom, Evelyn Verraszto as well as French stars Charlotte Bonnet, Mélanie Henique, and Anna Santamans.

On the men’s side, Viktor Bromer, Steffen Deibler, Christian Diener, Felipe Franca Silva, Michael Jamieson, Thiago Pereira, Fabio Scozzoli, and David Verraszto will join Yannick Agnel, Bousquet, Gilot, Lacourt, Grégory Mallet, Manoudou, Metella, Giacomo Perez Dortona, and Jérémy Stravius.

Races to Watch

Men’s 50 free – With Adrian, Ervin, and Manaudou competing in the same heat, we are likely to get a new world-leading time. The Marseille team is just coming off a two-weeks training trip to Thailand and will either be very sharp or very jetlagged, but Manaudou will be swimming in his home pool and is eager to take on the Americans.

Men’s 100 back – This is always one of the top events to watch in France, with homegrown backstrokers Stravius, Lacourt, and Benjamin Stasiulis leading the way. Competition will come from Diener, Simon Sjodin, and Eddie Moueddene, who have been strong on the first two stages.

Women’s 200 IM – Featuring Coughlin and Hosszu, Stina Gardell and Belmonte Garcia, the 200 IM should be one of the top events on the women’s side.

Prize Money

The swimmers compete for prize money in 28 individual events over 3 days. The top eight in each event are awarded points (12-9-7-5-4-3-2-1), and at the end of the meet the following prize money will be awarded:

Women Per Meet   Men Mer Meet
High point €4000 High point €4000
#2 €2500 #2 €2500
#3 €2000 #3 €2000
#4 €1200 #4 €1200
#5 €1000 #5 €1000
#6 €700 #6 €700
#7 €600 #7 €600
#8 €500 #8 €500

 

After the Nice and Amiens stages of the Golden Tour, the series leaderboard is:

1 HOSSZU Katinka 144
2 BONNET Charlotte 72
3 VERRASZTO Evelin 59
4 MARTIN Adeline 37
4 WATTEL Marie 37
6 GARDELL Stina 35
7 BALMY Coralie 34
8 HEEMSKERK Femke 33

 

1 VERRASZTO David 97
2 STRAVIUS Jérémy 78
3 METELLA Mehdy 52
4 DIENER Christian 41
5 DESPLANCHES Jeremy 39
5 KOCH Marco 39
7 FELDWEHR Hendrik 38
8 SJODIN Simon 37

 

Women Series Bonus   Men Series Bonus
High point €6500 High point €6500
#2 €4500 #2 €4500
#3 €3000 #3 €3000
#4 €1800 #4 €1800
#5 €1500 #5 €1500
#6 €1000 #6 €1000
#7 €900 #7 €900
#8 €800 #8 €800

 

The four stages of the Golden Tour:

January 30-February 1 Nice
February 13-15 Amiens
March 6-8 Marseille
May 22-24 Nancy

 

In This Story

Leave a Reply

3 Comments on "FFN Golden Tour: International Stars Out in Force for Third Stage in Marseille"

Sort by:   newest | oldest | most voted

Fratus will be on the 50 free too..also Santana will be swimming it (But that is not his prime event for sure)

Coughlin in the 200IM? Wow! There should be a lot of good races with this many stars!

Cayley Guimarães

I do wish Natalie would swim the back, fly and IM’s. BUT, on her site, she listed she is swimming the 50 free and back and the 100 free and back..

wpDiscuz

About Anne Lepesant

Anne Lepesant is the mother of four teenage daughters, all of whom swim. With an undergraduate degree from Princeton (where she was an all-Ivy tennis player) and an MBA from INSEAD she worked for many years in the financial industry, both in France and the U.S. Anne is currently a …

Read More »