Snodgrass Sweeps Backstrokes in Indiana Victory over Michigan State


  • Results
  • Hosted by Indiana University
  • Saturday, November 5th
  • 25 yards
  • Dual meet format


  • Men: Indiana 169, Michigan State 119
  • Women: Indiana 172, Michigan State 115

Indiana’s Vini Lanza pulled off a successful double for the Hoosier men. His first win came in the 200 free, where he dipped under 1:40 to win the race in 1:39.05 ahead of teammate Jackson Miller (1:39.22). Lanza then closed the meet with a 400 IM victory, touching the wall in 3:57.79 to win by over 7 seconds.

Indiana’s Brooklynn Snodgrass, a former 200 back NCAA champ, swept the backstroke races for the Hoosiers. Snodgrass first won the 100 back with a 55.30 ahead of teammate Rachel Matsumura (56.90). Her next win came in the 200 back, where she won in a time of 1:58.97.

Olympic champ Lilly King was absent from her signature 100 breast today, but she did make an appearance in the 50 free and 100 fly. In the 50 free, King took 2nd behind Michigan State’s Racheal Bukowski, who won the race in 23.42 to King’s 23.85.

In the 100 fly, Indiana’s Christie Jensen led an Indiana 1-2-3 sweep. Jensen won the race in 55.37, followed by Holly Spears (56.50) and King (56.88).


BLOOMINGTON, Ind. – The Indiana University men’s and women’s swimming and diving teams swept the Michigan State Spartans on Saturday afternoon, earning a pair of wins at the Counsilman-Billingsley Aquatic Center in Bloomington, Ind.

“It’s exciting to have our first Big Ten meet of the season,” IU head swimming coach Ray Looze said. “I thought we did a really good job across the board with having to overcome some injury and illness this week. We got to work on some things today that will be critical at the end of the season. We’re appreciative the Spartans came all the way from East Lansing to compete with us and we look forward to our competitions next week against Cincinnati and the USA College Challenge.

With the victory, the No. 1-ranked Indiana men’s team improves to 7-0 on the season, while the No. 12-ranked Hoosier women’s team moved to 5-2 on the season. In total, Indiana won 28 of the 32 events on the day.

“I thought it was a great team performance,” Indiana head diving coach Drew Johansen said following the meet. “Everybody stepped up and had their best performances of the season so far and the results showed it. We handled the day pretty well, but more importantly, we stayed true to the things we’ve been working on the last month and a half.”

Both the Hoosier men and women got the meet off to a great start, as both squads won the 200 medley relay. For the women, the team of Ali Rockett, Lilly King, Gia Dalesandro and Gabriela Rajic won with a time of 1:42.62. For the men, the team of Bob Glover, Levi Brock, Vini Lanza and Ali Khalafalla touched first with a mark of 1:29.31.

Freshman Cassie Jernberg was impressive in the women’s 1000 freestyle, winning by over 11 seconds with her time of 10:13.32. Teammate Delaney Barnard was second with a mark of 10:24.53.

Andrej Ivanovic led a 1-2-3 sweep for the Hoosiers in the men’s 1000 freestyle, touching the wall in a time of 9:28.75. Joey Snodderly was second in 9:28.96, while Trey Hubbuch finished third with a mark of 9:35.95.

Dalesandro led the IU women in the 200 freestyle, winning with a time of of 1:51.69, while Rockett took second in 1:52.96. Stephanie Marchuk was third overall with a mark of 1:53.16.

Lanza was impressive in the men’s 200 freestyle, winning with a time of 1:39.05. Jackson Miller was second with a time of 1:39.22, while Max Irwin touched third with a mark of 1:41.74.

Brooklyn Snodgrass took the victory in the women’s 100 backstroke, winning with a time of 55.30. Rachel Matsumura was second overall with a mark of 56.90. On the men’s side, Khalafalla won for the Hoosiers with a time of 50.69.

In the women’s 200 breaststroke, Christine Jensen placed second with a time of 1:05.39. On the men’s side, Brock took second as well with a time of 56.78.

In the women’s 200 butterfly, Reagan Cook earned the victory for IU, touching first in a time of 2:02.32. On the men’s side, Marwan Elkamash won with a time of 1:51.05.

In the 50 freestyle, Sam Lorentz won for the Hoosiers with a time of 20.59. On the women’s side, King led IU with a second-place finish, touching in 23.85.

IU men dominated the 3-meter dive on Saturday, taking the top-four spots. Michael Hixon won with a great score of 464.03, while James Connor was second with a total of 429.60. Cody Coldren took third with 389.78, while Joshua Arndt as fourth with a score of 369.23. All four divers earned NCAA qualifying marks.

The Hoosier women were just as impressive, taking the top-three places in the 1-meter dive. Jessica Parratto won with a score of 332.25, while Taylor Pamplin was second with a total of 299.25. Michal Bower was third overall with a score of 287.10. All three divers earned NCAA qualifying scores in the event.

In the women’s 100 freestyle, Dalesandro notched her individual win of the day, touching first with a time of 51.53. On the men’s side, Anze Tavcar won with a mark of 44.52.

Snodgrass won the women’s 200 backstroke for the Hoosiers with a NCAA B cut time of 1:58.97. On the men’s side, Wyeth Brock placed third with a time of 1:55.73.

Mackenzie Atencio touched the wall first in the women’s 200 breaststroke with a time of 2:20.86 for IU. For the Hoosier men, Cody Taylor won with a mark of 2:02.56.

In the women’s 500 freestyle, Marchuk took first place with a time of 4:57.73 for the Hoosiers. On the men’s side, Irwin won with a time of 4:31.59.

Jensen notched her first win of the afternoon in the women’s 100 butterfly, touching first with a time of 55.37. For the IU men, Oliver Patrouch earned the victory with his time of 49.75.

In the women’s 3-meter dive, Bower led the Hoosier charge, winning with a score of 323.93. Parratto took second for the Hoosiers with a total of 319.20, while Pamplin placed third with a score of 289.73. All three IU divers earned NCAA qualifying marks with their scores.

Hixon completed the sweep for the Hoosiers in the men’s 1-meter, winning with a score of 401.70, while Connor took second with a total of 395.78. Arndt placed third overall with a mark of 346.13, while Coldren was fourth with a score of 325.28. All four divers again achieved NCAA qualifying marks.

Sam Lisy earned a win for the Hoosiers in the women’s 400 IM, touching the wall first in a time of 4:23.67. On the men’s side, Lanza won his second individual event with a time of 3:57.79 in the 400 IM.

The Hoosiers wrapped up a dominant effort against the Spartans with a pair of wins in the 400 freestyle relays.

For the IU women, the team of Rockett, King, Rajic and Dalesandro won with a time of 3:29.81, while the Hoosier men’s relay of Lorentz, Tavcar, Khalafalla and Elkamash touched first in a time of 3:02.15.

The Indiana University swimming and diving teams will be back in action on Friday, Nov. 11 when the Hoosiers host Cincinnati in a dual meet at the Counsilman-Billingsley Aquatic Center. The meet scheduled to begin at 2:00 p.m. ET.

Also next weekend, a total of 14 Indiana University swimming will participate in the inaugural USA College Challenge – Big Ten vs. USA Swimming on Nov. 12-13 at the Indiana University Natatorium on the campus of IUPUI in downtown Indianapolis.

Be sure to keep up with all the latest news on the Indiana men’s and women’s swimming and diving teams on social media – TwitterFacebook and Instagram.

In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

About Lauren Neidigh

Lauren Neidigh

Lauren Neidigh is a former NCAA swimmer at the University of Arizona (2013-2015) and the University of Florida (2011-2013). While her college swimming career left a bit to be desired, her Snapchat chin selfies and hot takes on Twitter do not disappoint. She's also a high school graduate of The …

Read More »