Real-Time Updates of the Early 1650 Heats at the 2016 M. NCAA Champs


The early heats of the timed-finals men’s 1650 freestyle are in the water, and we’ll be tracking the results here in preparation for the fastest heat, which will be swum at the beginning of the 6PM finals’ session. At least 8 swimmers in the early heats of the 1650 will score points.

Among the top 5 teams in the team standings, each has at least one swimmer racing in the early heats of the 1650:

  • Texas (Sam Lewis, heat 3)
  • Cal (Ryan Kao, heat 1; Janardana Burns heat 2; Nick Norman, heat 3)
  • Florida (Blank Manganiello, heat 2; Ben Lawless, heat 2, Arthur Frayler, heat 4)
  • NC State (Austin Snyder, heat 1; Adam Linker, heat 4)
  • Georgia (Kevin Litherland, heat 7)

The headline swimmer in the early heats is Utah’s  Bence Kiraly, who will swim out of heat 4. He placed 4th overall at last year’s NCAA Championships – racing out of the morning heats then as well.

Heat 1:
Cal’s Ryan Kao and UNC’s Henry Campbell were the only two swimmers in heat one.  Kao established an early pace and, although he faded a bit from the 1200-1400 mark, still put together a solid 15:01.54, eleven seconds under his seed time.  Campbell was second in 15:23.41.Heat results:

  1. Ryan Kao, California, 15:01.54
  2. Henry Campbell, UNC, 15:23.41

Heat 2:

Heat two was a tight battle between Ben Lawless of Florida and Pawel Furtek of USC.  The Trojan put up an early lead, before Lawless began to gain ground by 1-2 tenths each 50.  Around the 1300 mark, though, Furtek flipped the script again, holding 26.9-27.1 to gain ground on Lawless, inch by inch.  Ultimately, Lawless had enough to get to the wall first, touching in 14:48.63

Heat results:

  1. Ben Lawless, Florida, 14:48.63
  2. Pawel Furtek, USC, 14:48.90
  3. Janardan Burns, Cal, 14:58.50
  4. Kevin Litherland, Georgia, 15:00.63
  5. Ted Singley, USC, 15:04.13
  6. Alex Peterson, Penn, 15:14.42
  7. Ian Rainey, Michigan, 15:23.13
  8. Blake Manganiello, 15:24.25

Heat 3:

This one was all Chris Wieser of Arizona.  The sophomore went after it early and didn’t let up, flipping at 4:23.2 at the 500 and 8:52.2 at the 1000.  Although his pace slowed over the final 500, Wieser still managed to crush the heat to finish in 14:44.91.  That time would have been good for sixth place a year ago.

The battle for second rotated a bit throughout the race, with Sam Lewis of Texas ultimately emerging as the #2 guy, finishing in 14:54.34.

Heat results:

  1. Chris Wieser, Arizona, 14:44.91
  2. Sam Lewis, Texas, 14:54.34
  3. Brian Hogan, Yale, 14:57.52
  4. Cody Bekemeyer, South Carolina, 14:59.56
  5. Juan Tolosa, Arizona State, 15:03.48
  6. Nick Norman, California, 15:05.44
  7. David Heron, Tennessee, 15:11.27
  8. Dylan Bunch, Denver, 15:17.46

Heat 4:

Mitch D’Arrigo of Florida showed off the easy speed early that makes him such a deadly 200/500 swimmer, but South Carolina sophomore Tom Peribonio accelerated at the half-way mark, settling in with repeat 26.6-26.8’s, and driving his legs over the final 100 to touch in 14:44.57, the top time out of the early heats.  The Gamecocks have quietly developed one of the nation’s best distance groups between Peribonio, Cody Bekemeyer, Akaram Mahmoud.  

Yale’s Kei Hyogo put together a brilliant back-half, including a 24.96 final 50 to jump into second in the heat in 14:48.03.  D’Arrigo was third in 14:49.65.

Heat results:

  1. Tom Peribonio, South Carolina, 14:44.57
  2. Kei Hyogo, Yale, 14:48.03
  3. Mitch D’Arrigo, Florida, 14:49.65
  4. Arthur Frayler, Florida, 14:52.77
  5. Adam Linkler, NC State, 14:52.78
  6. Danny Thomson, Stanford, 14:58.10
  7. Ty Fowler, Arizona, 14:59.29
  8. Bence Kiraly, Utah, 15:01.79

Note: it took a 14:55.15 to place 16th at last year’s NCAA Championships and a 14:47.85 to place 8th.


  1. Tom Peribonio, South Carolina, 14:44.57 (Guaranteed Scorer)
  2. Chris Wieser, Arizona, 14:44.91 (Guaranteed Scorer)
  3. Kei Hyogo, Yale, 14:48.03 (Guaranteed Scorer)
  4. Ben Lawless, Florida, 14:48.63 (Guaranteed Scorer)
  5. Pawel Furtek, USC, 14:48.90 (Guaranteed Scorer)
  6. Mitch D’Arrigo, Florida, 14:49.65 (Guaranteed Scorer)
  7. Arthur Frayler, Florida, 14:52.77 (Guaranteed Scorer)
  8. Adam Linkler, NC State, 14:52.78 (Guaranteed Scorer)
  9. Sam Lewis, Texas, 14:54.34
  10. Brian Hogan, Yale, 14:57.52
  11. Danny Thomson, Stanford, 14:58.10
  12. Janardan Burns, Cal, 14:58.50
  13. Ty Fowler, Arizona, 14:59.29
  14. Cody Bekemeyer, South Carolina, 14:59.56
  15. Kevin Litherland, Georgia, 15:00.63
  16. Ryan Kao, California, 15:01.54
  17. Bence Kiraly, Utah, 15:01.79
  18. Juan Tolosa, Arizona State, 15:03.48
  19. Ted Singley, USC, 15:04.13
  20. Nick Norman, California, 15:05.44
  21. David Heron, Tennessee, 15:11.27
  22. Alex Peterson, Penn, 15:14.42
  23. Dylan Bunch, Denver, 15:17.46
  24. Ian Rainey, Michigan, 15:23.13
  25. Henry Campbell, UNC, 15:23.41
  26. Blake Manganiello, 15:24.25

In This Story

Leave a Reply

4 Comment threads
4 Thread replies
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
8 Comment authors
newest oldest most voted

Is this on the prelims webcast or the ESPN3 one?


^ Just the prelims webcast.


prelims webcast


anyone have a link to that webcast?


I’m going out on a limb here, predictions for final heat results:

1. Ransford
2. Haas
3. Smith
4. Mahmoud
5. Hutchins
6. Egan
7. Swanson
8. Ipsen

Top 2 sub-14:30, idk about the record though. Other time predictions? Thoughts? I know Haas has dominated, but see 2014 Jr Nats results for another time that Haas dominated a meet and then lost to Ransford on the final day in the mile. It’s gonna be an absolute dogfight though, love this field.


I think Smith is going to be an all or nothing type deal. He will either go low 14:20’s or struggle to break 14:50


Go back to the view from the other side of the pool where we could see more than 1 lane. It’s not rocket science.

About Braden Keith

Braden Keith

Braden Keith is the Editor-in-Chief and a co-founder of He first got his feet wet by building The Swimmers' Circle beginning in January 2010, and now comes to SwimSwam to use that experience and help build a new leader in the sport of swimming. Aside from his life on the InterWet, …

Read More »

Want to take your swimfandom to the next level?

Subscribe to SwimSwam Magazine!