Michigan Women & Men Down Michigan State, Men Remain Undefeated

The men and women of the University of Michigan took down Michigan State today, improving the Wolverine men’s all time record against Michigan State to 87-5 and the Wolverine women’s to 39-2.

The women won the meet 180-81, while the men’s victory came 173-93.

The women’s results are here, and the men’s are here.

Women’s Meet

The women of Michigan won the meet in a clean-sweep, taking every single event win.

Pan Am Games medalist Clara Smiddy and freshman stand-out Becca Postoll led the way for the Wolverines, each with double individual wins. Smiddy won the 50 back (25.50) and the 100 IM (56.04), while Postoll took the 100 free (51.22) and the 200 back (2:00.53).

Fellow freshmen Katie Duggan, Siobhan Haughey, and Yirong Bi (a mid-season transfer) took a win apiece; Duggan won the 500 free in 4:57.10 and Bi won the 400 IM in 4:18.01, while Haughey took the gold in the 200 breast with 2:14.24.

Gillian Ryan performed well in an off-event 200 fly with a winning 2:03.07.

Diver Sarah Kamstra, one of seniors honored today, won the one-meter dive with an NCAA Zone Diving cut 298.73 points, and Allie Murphy won the three-meter event with 317.92, a season best score and another zone cut.

The Wolverine women won every relay as well, posting 1:33.99 in the 200 free relay, 3:46.30 in the 400 medley relay, and 7:28.82 in the 800 free relay.

Men’s Meet

The Michigan men used this victory to top off another undefeated regular season.

The team won all three relays. Two of the victories, 400 medley relay and the 200 free relay, came from teams made up entirely of seniors; Peter Brumm, Matt McNamara, Dylan Bosch, and Anders Lie Nielson won the 400 medley relay in 3:14.89, and Kyle Dudzinski, Jeremy Raisky, Aaron Ghiglieri, and Nielson won the 200 free relay in 1:22.58. Their 800 free relay of PJ Ransford, Nick Killeen, Kai Williams, and Mokhtar Al-Yamani won the event with 6:37.94.

Junior Jason Chen doubled up on individual events with wins in the 50 back (22.20) and the 100 IM (49.41).

Big winners for the Michigan men included South Africa native Bosch with an NCAA ‘B’ standard 4:24.09 in the 500 free, Ian Rainey with a 3:53.09 in the 400 IM, Paul Corbae with a 2:06.19 in the 200 breast, and Raisky with a 21.46 in the 50 fly, McNamara with a 25.77 in the 50 breast, Luke Papendick with a 1:47.16 in the 200 back, and Aaron Whitaker with 1:50.54 in the 200 fly.

Michigan State’s Brennan Labar won on the one-meter, scoring 327.97 points, and he came back for another victory on the three-meter with 318.15 points.

In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

About Hannah Hecht

Hannah Hecht

Hannah Hecht grew up in Kansas and spent most of her childhood trying to convince coaches to let her swim backstroke in freestyle sets. She took her passion to Morningside College in Sioux City, Iowa and swam at NAIA Nationals all four years. After graduating in 2015, she moved to …

Read More »