Kieran Smith, Erika Brown Named SEC Swimmers Of The Year (Conference Awards)

The Southeastern Conference has announced its annual men’s and women’s swimming & diving awards for the 2019-20 season, with Florida’s Kieran Smith and Tennessee’s Erika Brown headlining with Male and Female Swimmer of the Year honors.

Smith had a standout sophomore year with the Gators, winning SEC titles in the 500 free, 400 IM and 800 free relay, while also setting a new American and NCAA Record in the 500. His lead-off time of 1:30.11 in the 800 free relay made him the fourth-fastest swimmer of all-time in the 200 free.

Brown claims the women’s award for the second straight year as a senior after sharing it with Sydney Pickrem last season. She won six conference titles at SECs, including record-breaking wins in the 50 free, 100 free and 100 fly, proving to be an instrumental part of the Lady Vols’ first-ever team title.

Brown’s 100 fly performance was a new American Record, falling just 0.12 shy of the NCAA Record, and both her 50 free (21.03) and 100 free (45.83) swims made her the #2 performer of all-time.

LSU’s Brooks Curry was named Male Freshman Swimmer of the Year, winning the conference title in the 100 free, and Georgia’s Zoie Hartman swept the women’s breaststroke events en route to being named Female Freshman Swimmer of the Year.

Texas A&M’s Kurtis Mathews claimed Male Diver of the Year after winning both the 1-meter and 3-meter events at SECs, and Auburn’s Alison Maillard won the women’s award after topping the 1-meter field in her senior year.

Conference championship-winning coaches Anthony Nesty (Florida men) and Matt Kredich (Tennessee) earned Swimming Coach of the Year honors. Nesty’s win is his second in a row.


Male Swimmer of the Year: Kieran Smith, Florida
Male Freshmen Swimmers of the Year: Brooks Curry, LSU
Men’s Swimming Coach of the Year: Anthony Nesty, Florida
Male Diver of the Year: Kurtis Mathews, Texas A&M
Co-Male Freshman Divers of the Year: Manny Vazquez Bas, LSU and Victor Povzner, Texas A&M
Co-Men’s Diving Coaches of the Year: Jeff Shaffer, Auburn and Jay Lerew, Texas A&M

Female Swimmers of the Year: Erika Brown, Tennessee
Female Freshman Swimmer of the Year: Zoie Hartman, Georgia
Women’s Swimming Coach of the Year: Matt Kredich, Tennessee
Female Diver of the Year: Alison Maillard, Auburn
Female Freshmen Divers of the Year: Tanesha Lucoe, Alabama
Women’s Diving Coach of the Year: Jeff Shaffer, Auburn

Commissioner’s Trophy

Zane Waddell, Alabama
Shaine Casas, Texas A&M

Erika Brown, Tennessee

All-SEC First Team


  • Liam Bell, Alabama
  • Jonathan Berneburg, Alabama
  • Sam DiSette, Alabama
  • Tyler Sesvold, Alabama
  • Colton Stogner, Alabama
  • Zane Waddell, Alabama
  • Khader Baqlah, Florida
  • Clark Beach, Florida
  • Bobby Finke, Florida
  • Gerry Quinn, Florida
  • Kieran Smith, Florida
  • Camden Murphy, Georgia
  • Mingli Zhang, Kentucky
  • Brooks Curry, LSU
  • Danny Kovac, Missouri
  • Itay Goldfaden, South Carolina
  • Shaine Casas, Texas A&M
  • Kurtis Mathews, Texas A&M
  • Benjamin Walker, Texas A&M


  • Rhyan White, Alabama
  • Tanesha Lucoe, Alabama
  • Kensey McMahon, Alabama
  • Robyn Clevenger, Auburn
  • Claire Fisch, Auburn
  • AJ Kutsch, Auburn
  • Alison Maillard, Auburn
  • Julie Meynen, Auburn
  • Abbey Webb, Auburn
  • Veronica Burchill, Georgia
  • Courtney Harnish, Georgia
  • Zoie Hartman, Georgia
  • Dakota Luther, Georgia
  • Kyndal Knight, Kentucky
  • Erika Brown, Tennessee
  • Tess Cieplucha, Tennessee
  • Stanzi Moseley, Tennessee
  • Tjasa Pintar, Tennessee
  • Nikol Popov, Tennessee
  • Meghan Small, Tennessee
  • Alexis Yager, Tennessee

All-SEC Second Team


  • Santiago Grassi, Auburn
  • Conner Pruitt, Auburn
  • Isaac Davis, Florida
  • Will Davis, Florida
  • Eric Friese, Florida
  • Brennan Gravley, Florida
  • Marco Guarente, Florida
  • Dillon Hillis, Florida
  • Dakota Mahaffey, Florida
  • Grant Sanders, Florida
  • Walker Higgins, Georgia
  • Zach Hils, Georgia
  • Harry Homans, Georgia
  • Grant Norgan, Georgia
  • Greg Reed, Georgia
  • Glen Brown, Kentucky
  • Jason Head, Kentucky
  • Chase Lane, Kentucky
  • John Mitchell, Kentucky
  • Peter Wetzlar, Kentucky
  • Manny Vazquez Bas, LSU
  • Nick Alexander, Missouri
  • Daniel Hein, Missouri
  • Micah Slaton, Missouri
  • Lewis Burras, South Carolina
  • Alec Connolly, Tennessee
  • Matthew Garcia, Tennessee
  • William Hallam, Tennessee
  • Michael Houlie, Tennessee
  • Braga Verhage, Tennessee
  • Matthew Wade, Tennessee
  • Clayton Bobo, Texas A&M
  • Kaloyan Bratanov, Texas A&M
  • Mark Theall, Texas A&M
  • Mike Thibert, Texas A&M
  • Adam Koster, Texas A&M
  • Andres Puente Bustamante, Texas A&M


  • Kalia Antoniou, Alabama
  • Flora Molnar, Alabama
  • Morgan Scott, Alabama
  • Kalia Wong, Alabama
  • Anna Hopkin, Arkansas
  • Gretchen Wensuc, Auburn
  • Emma Ball, Florida
  • Leah Braswell, Florida
  • Sherridon Dressel, Florida
  • Isabella Garofalo, Florida
  • Vanessa Pearl, Florida
  • Elizabeth Perez, Florida
  • Emma Whitner, Florida
  • Danielle DellaTorre, Georgia
  • Gabi Fa’amausili, Georgia
  • Jordan Stout, Georgia
  • Aimee Wilson, LSU
  • Bailey Bonnett, Kentucky
  • Ali Galyer, Kentucky
  • Riley Gaines, Kentucky
  • Izzy Gati, Kentucky
  • Beth McNeese, Kentucky
  • Asia Seidt, Kentucky
  • Amy Feddersen, Missouri
  • Haley Hynes, Missouri
  • Megan Keil, Missouri
  • Sarah Thompson, Missouri
  • Molly Winer, Missouri
  • Grace Cable, Tennessee
  • Bailey Grinter, Tennessee
  • Amanda Nunan, Tennessee
  • Anna Belousova, Texas A&M

All-Freshman Team


  • Liam Bell, Alabama
  • Derek Maas, Alabama
  • Matthew Menke, Alabama
  • Skip Donald, Auburn
  • Eric Friese, Florida
  • Brennan Gravley, Florida
  • Kevin Vargas, Florida
  • Dillon Downing, Georgia
  • Ian Grum, Georgia
  • Harry Homans, Georgia
  • Jakob Clark, Kentucky
  • Brooks Curry, LSU
  • Manny Vazquez Bas, LSU
  • Leonardo Garcia Varela, Missouri
  • Will Goodwin, Missouri
  • Victor Povzner, Texas A&M
  • Andres Puente Bustamante, Texas A&M


  • Tanesha Lucoe, Alabama
  • AJ Kutsch, Auburn
  • Averee Preble, Auburn
  • Abbey Webb, Auburn
  • Gretchen Wensuc, Auburn
  • Kathleen Golding, Florida
  • Allison Piccirillo, Florida
  • Zoie Hartman, Georgia
  • Caitlin Brooks, Kentucky
  • Gillian Davey, Kentucky
  • Beth McNeese, Kentucky
  • Kaitlynn Wheeler, Kentucky
  • Niamh Robinson, LSU
  • Maddie Huitt, Missouri
  • Taylor Steele, South Carolina
  • Alyssa Clairmont, Texas A&M

In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

About James Sutherland

James Sutherland

James swam five years at Laurentian University in Sudbury, Ontario, specializing in the 200 free, back and IM. He finished up his collegiate swimming career in 2018, graduating with a bachelor's degree in economics. In 2019 he completed his graduate degree in sports journalism. Prior to going to Laurentian, James swam …

Read More »